We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SHAME ABOUT THE OWNER”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Chene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Chene Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Hartland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SHAME ABOUT THE OWNER”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

We spent many happy years holidaying at Le Chene.
Unfortunately though, the owner is turning into
Basil Fawlty, but not so funny. We had to change
rooms because of Mother's disabilities and great
offence seemed to be taken and the keys were
practically thrown at my partner. A great shame
as we would have continued to take our breaks
there. The Chef is second to none and always
obliged me with fantastic Vegetarian food, with
no trouble at all.

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
Thank KimmyLedZep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechene, Manager at Le Chene Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2010
Dear Madam,
We are sorry to hear about the fact that you have not enjoyed your break
at le Chene Hotel. We aim to deal with all
requests on a professional and friendly basis and apologise if this was
not experienced this way. Due to the nature of the building which dates from
1842 there will always be steps to overcome though. (a minimum of 16)
Kind regards,
Niek van Zutphen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    56
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
26
73
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed at Le Chene for two nights whilst marooned on Guernsey by the UK flight ban as a result of the volcanic ash cloud from Iceland. This was the third hotel we had stayed in as we had to move out of our original hotel on the Thursday of the ban and stayed overnight in a different hotel. We saw a sign outside this hotel stating they had rooms available whilst we were on the bus to the airport on the Friday to try and rearrange our return flight. We called in after being placed on a Sunday flight and found the owners to be very helpful. We were shown an available room and advised that we could have it for as long as we required until we managed to get back to the UK. This was very welcome and took a lot of the stress away. The owners seemed very concerned for our welfare and asked us how we were getting on with the problem of getting off the island. The breakfasts were very nice with hot meals cooked to order. The hotel is located in a good position for coastal walks and, on our last day, we walked from the hotel to the nearby reservoir which is a nature reserve. The hotel has bicycles for hire but, unfortunately, we were not able to avail ourselves through spending Saturday queuing up at the Condor ferry office for foot passenger tickets as an alternative to flying home. It is at times of crisis that you find out a lot about the ethos of hotels. The Le Chene was the best hotel we stayed at in Guernsey for empathising with its guest's' plight (there was another marooned traveller staying there) and adapting to unusual circumstances.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eusabienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

We stayed in the self catering accommodation, however, there is the opportunity to have the excellent evening meals in the restaurant.

The bedroom with the ensuite bathroom and sitting room/kitchen were nicely decorated and well equipt. An added touch was the tea and coffee making items ready for our arrival.

The balcony leads out from the bed room to the swimming pool, we had our own chairs and table outside the apartment; it meant that we could change and go straight out for a swim.

The staff were all efficient and polite and service in the dining room was good; the food in the hotel was excellent and all served piping hot.

It is on the main road but little noise from traffic, as it is close to the airport there are flights during the day but they cease around 8pm so cause no problem at night.

Well worth another visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raypcs109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

First impressions from the outside - lovely, traditional Guernsey house. First impressions from the inside - dated and in desperate need of updating. The welcome was uber efficient, but a tad frosty ( a smile would have gone a long way).... The room again was in need of updating, but the 'style' may well appeal more to the continental guest. Unfortunately our room had a damp problem, but the room was very clean, with good furniture and a comfortable, huge bed. The ensuite was a good size, but again in need of redecoration. The best part of our stay was indeed the food! At least the restaurant had been updated and the staff were very attentive, efficient and pleasant. The menu was varied and beautifully cooked - top marks to the chef!! Overall the atmosphere was good and despite the negatives, we had an enjoyable stay on the island.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexWillowisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

My wife and I returned to Le Chene after two previous visits in 1959 and 1984 to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary. The accomodation was most comfortable and the staff were most helpful and courteous. The food was of the highest standard. The Chef is to be commended.
I was a little concerned that, contrary to the hotel information supplied, our "Superior" room (No 19) did not contain a shaver socket.
We are hoping to visit again in the not too distant future.
John Sinclair

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellarosaepsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oosterhout
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

we enjoyed the atmosphere, all things are organized well, good food and variety in menu in the restaurant, all staff is very friendly and helpfull in case that you have questions.
it s not a five star hotel, but five star on value for money

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grotesmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

This was the second time I went to Le Chene. First time with spouse about 6 months ago. We had a good time. Located near beach side, nice for a stroll, and other walking areas closeby. Good atmosphere and friendly service. Kitchen is good both in the morning and for diner.
In May I returned with friends to play golf and relax. Guersney has a couple of very nice golf clubs. Also interesting is that the owner was able to set up a trip to Alderney (a smaller Island to the North East) to play golf there. All in a very good place to stay for a good price.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChickenLittle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torteval
3.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#5 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chene Hotel

Property: Le Chene Hotel
Address: Forest Road, Torteval GY8 0AH
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Torteval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chene Guernsey
Le Chene Hotel Guernsey/Torteval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing