We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”
Review of Le Chene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Chene Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 19 September 2010

My wife & i have stayed at Le Chene 2 years on the trot our last visit was at the biginning of august 2010 we like it so much that we are going back for our silver wedding anniversary at the beginning of oct 2010. The hotel is nice and quiet and clean .the staff are happy and friendly and always make guests very welcome ..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feboarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    57
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
75
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zuid-Holland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

This hotel is located very close to the airport, but the airportsounds won't really bother you. Do, however, take into account that this is an old building, and that the walls are thin. I can now tell you that my neighbours for a week have a good sex life, lots to talk about around 01.00 am and that the man snores...
Also, the rooms are rather humid, it's hard to properly ventilate.

Big pluses in this hotel are the dinners (just excellent, for a very fair price), and the facts that guest staying longer than 3 nights can use good bikes for free.

The hotel is visited by Dutch people a lot, which I did not find a plus personally (being Dutch myself), but the good news was that, even though Guernsey is a small island, I barely ran into them outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phaidra_op_reis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2010

we stayed fourteen days and nights. a great time. (electric) bikes included, cliffpaths included but most of all friendly and helpfulll service and a very fine kitchen.
we surely come back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meerkoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2010

It was the right choice to stay at the Le Chene Hotel in Guernsey. The host and hostess were very willing to provide all the necessary and detailed information if needed. The staff is friendly. The location of the hotel is good & convenient; directly from the hotel there are possibilities to go hiking / walking. Another big advantage is the bus connection infront of the hotel to St. P. Port. The kitchen is great, especially the variety in their breakfast. The only point of improvement is that the rooms are very different in their level of comfort. I stayed a couple of nights in the one-person bedroom, which has a low comfort level , I also stayed two nights in the superior rooms which was much better and cosy. If I return to Guernsey, I will definately stay at Le Chene again. See you then!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKooijman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We spent many happy years holidaying at Le Chene.
Unfortunately though, the owner is turning into
Basil Fawlty, but not so funny. We had to change
rooms because of Mother's disabilities and great
offence seemed to be taken and the keys were
practically thrown at my partner. A great shame
as we would have continued to take our breaks
there. The Chef is second to none and always
obliged me with fantastic Vegetarian food, with
no trouble at all.

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
Thank KimmyLedZep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechene, Manager at Le Chene Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2010
Dear Madam,
We are sorry to hear about the fact that you have not enjoyed your break
at le Chene Hotel. We aim to deal with all
requests on a professional and friendly basis and apologise if this was
not experienced this way. Due to the nature of the building which dates from
1842 there will always be steps to overcome though. (a minimum of 16)
Kind regards,
Niek van Zutphen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed at Le Chene for two nights whilst marooned on Guernsey by the UK flight ban as a result of the volcanic ash cloud from Iceland. This was the third hotel we had stayed in as we had to move out of our original hotel on the Thursday of the ban and stayed overnight in a different hotel. We saw a sign outside this hotel stating they had rooms available whilst we were on the bus to the airport on the Friday to try and rearrange our return flight. We called in after being placed on a Sunday flight and found the owners to be very helpful. We were shown an available room and advised that we could have it for as long as we required until we managed to get back to the UK. This was very welcome and took a lot of the stress away. The owners seemed very concerned for our welfare and asked us how we were getting on with the problem of getting off the island. The breakfasts were very nice with hot meals cooked to order. The hotel is located in a good position for coastal walks and, on our last day, we walked from the hotel to the nearby reservoir which is a nature reserve. The hotel has bicycles for hire but, unfortunately, we were not able to avail ourselves through spending Saturday queuing up at the Condor ferry office for foot passenger tickets as an alternative to flying home. It is at times of crisis that you find out a lot about the ethos of hotels. The Le Chene was the best hotel we stayed at in Guernsey for empathising with its guest's' plight (there was another marooned traveller staying there) and adapting to unusual circumstances.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eusabienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We stayed in the self catering accommodation, however, there is the opportunity to have the excellent evening meals in the restaurant.

The bedroom with the ensuite bathroom and sitting room/kitchen were nicely decorated and well equipt. An added touch was the tea and coffee making items ready for our arrival.

The balcony leads out from the bed room to the swimming pool, we had our own chairs and table outside the apartment; it meant that we could change and go straight out for a swim.

The staff were all efficient and polite and service in the dining room was good; the food in the hotel was excellent and all served piping hot.

It is on the main road but little noise from traffic, as it is close to the airport there are flights during the day but they cease around 8pm so cause no problem at night.

Well worth another visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raypcs109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torteval
1.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
586 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
854 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
792 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hougue du Pommier
0.5 mi away
La Trelade Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chene Hotel

Property: Le Chene Hotel
Address: Forest Road, Torteval GY8 0AH
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Torteval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chene Guernsey
Le Chene Hotel Guernsey/Torteval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing