We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Chene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Chene Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Canterbury
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

We returned in September for our 14th visit to the hotel, we had, as we have in the past four years, the self catering apartment. As usual it was absolutely ready for us and looking as smart as ever. This year the bathroom had been upgraded which was much appreciated. We had friends join us for a mid-week break, in the hotel, so we went into the dining room on occasions with them for an evening meal. My wife is vegetarian and the option is always excellent and for me the fish choices are too. We are just looking at our diaries to see when we will return in 2011.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raypcs109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    56
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
26
72
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

We had 3 nights in Le Chene in October 2010. On arrival, we were given an immediate upgrade to the family room opposite reception in the main hotel. The room had been recently refurbished, and was excellent. We were lucky to arrive during the Tennerfest, when many hotels and restaurants (including Le Chene) provide 2 or 3 course meals for £10, so we were able to eat cheaply and well. Food at Le Chene was very good indeed. Location might be a drawback for some people, but we took the car, though buses to and from St Peter Port and elsewhere stop almost outside the hotel. The nearness of the airport was not really a noise problem. We would very happily stay at Le Chene again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

This hotel was great value for money. We had free use of the Hotel Smart Car included. I guess it would be good if you're out and about all day and not in the room. The following will explain why it's not great if you longer periods in the hotel. It is dated and in parts in need of minor maintenance (note that there are no pictures of the rooms on the website). However it was properly clean. Also the majority of rooms are not in the quaint building on the website but in an annex to one side and I agree with one previous reviewer that the walls are too thin; we could hear next door snoring. The staff were very friendly but the service only scored three because a lot of the staff didn't understand some basic requests in English. The 'double' bed was two singles joined together (I hate that) and the pillows were hard pancakes. The shower was not thermostatically controlled and therefore could go from hot to uncomfortably hot randomly. Location scored one because it is in the flight path for Guernsey airport and it is right on one of the busiest roads and busiest junctions. Also the look and ambience of the place would probably only suit those over sixty.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stag_Lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

My wife & i have stayed at Le Chene 2 years on the trot our last visit was at the biginning of august 2010 we like it so much that we are going back for our silver wedding anniversary at the beginning of oct 2010. The hotel is nice and quiet and clean .the staff are happy and friendly and always make guests very welcome ..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feboarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuid-Holland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

This hotel is located very close to the airport, but the airportsounds won't really bother you. Do, however, take into account that this is an old building, and that the walls are thin. I can now tell you that my neighbours for a week have a good sex life, lots to talk about around 01.00 am and that the man snores...
Also, the rooms are rather humid, it's hard to properly ventilate.

Big pluses in this hotel are the dinners (just excellent, for a very fair price), and the facts that guest staying longer than 3 nights can use good bikes for free.

The hotel is visited by Dutch people a lot, which I did not find a plus personally (being Dutch myself), but the good news was that, even though Guernsey is a small island, I barely ran into them outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phaidra_op_reis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

we stayed fourteen days and nights. a great time. (electric) bikes included, cliffpaths included but most of all friendly and helpfulll service and a very fine kitchen.
we surely come back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meerkoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

It was the right choice to stay at the Le Chene Hotel in Guernsey. The host and hostess were very willing to provide all the necessary and detailed information if needed. The staff is friendly. The location of the hotel is good & convenient; directly from the hotel there are possibilities to go hiking / walking. Another big advantage is the bus connection infront of the hotel to St. P. Port. The kitchen is great, especially the variety in their breakfast. The only point of improvement is that the rooms are very different in their level of comfort. I stayed a couple of nights in the one-person bedroom, which has a low comfort level , I also stayed two nights in the superior rooms which was much better and cosy. If I return to Guernsey, I will definately stay at Le Chene again. See you then!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKooijman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torteval
3.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#5 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chene Hotel

Property: Le Chene Hotel
Address: Forest Road, Torteval GY8 0AH
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Torteval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chene Guernsey
Le Chene Hotel Guernsey/Torteval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing