We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Changed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fisherman's Cot
Ranked #1 of 4 Bickleigh B&B and Inns
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Changed”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Since we last visited here, they have made changes for the better, it is now lighter inside as they have fitted large windows in place of the french windows, after having a lovely carvery inside we decided to go and sit in the garden to have our deserts, a worthwhile decision as my husband decided to take advantage of the wedding package they have there and have our vows renewed in the garden there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluffsmum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    123
    60
    34
    20
See reviews for
77
167
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I met a friend here today and it was a lovely sunny day, and the pub was busy, lots of parking and ample tables for seating outside and indoors, a good carvery and menu selection. I am going to return even though its a 40 miles aways from me!
it also has a 5 star food hygiene rating which is very important to me

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Good food, good prices, idyllic setting - we didn't stay here, but we did stay around 20 minutes away and still travelled to this lovely place just to sit by the river and eat and enjoy time with our family. They could do with offering a few more different desserts as that menu was very limited. The Cot Gourmet burger was enjoyed by members of our family and their steaks were also very good. I loved their Steak and Ale pie.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debmnnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Reputed to be the inspiration for Simon and Garfunkel's Bridge over troubled Waters, this is a delightful setting for a real English pub serving real ale, good food and a fine wine cellar. We stayed in the Lodge section, adjacent to the main building, and it was roomy with an ensuite, and a private patio. The settee was a little "distressed", as were some other hotel furnishings, but in the main was clean and comfortable. The patio could have been given more attention by the cleaner, with cigarette ends from the previous occupants, in evidence on the floor. At £142 for two nights, with a full English breakfast thrown in, you got exactly what you paid for - rustic charm,spectacular outside views, and no frills. But can't wait to return - so convenient for Exeter, Exmoor and the South Deveon coast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MervFrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayalonga, Andalucia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked for 2 nights: were given room 1, next to reception & potentially noisy, but turned out not to be so. Free parking in large car-park left our car a mere 10 yards from the room. The hotel's setting, on the bank of the Exe, with a tumbling water-race in front & a 16th C. arched bridge as backdrop was exceptional & fascinating. Overnight rain during our first night increased the flow of water & the ducks had difficulties! A couple of ducks & drakes wandered up each evening onto the lawn which runs between the outdoor eating terrace & the river, & solicited scraps from diners who fed them. Rural & idyllic.
The nearby road junction is a slow one leading to the bridge, so we heard no road noise.
Our room was large & comfortable,well decorated & furnished & with a good, large bed. We had a power shower in the well equipped modern bathroom & a good quiet night's sleep as the place closes down before 23.00. Generous quantities of tea, coffee & biscuits were in the room. The quality towels were changed daily & the house-keeping was generally A1.
It is probably essential to book a dinner table: the large, well-spaced dining room was very busy on both the nights we stayed, both for breakfast & Dinner. There are some 20 tables, each seating 4, on the riverside terrace but a breeze brought cooling spray from the water-fall, so we opted for indoors. The dinner menu is shortish, but doesn't lack choices & we ate very well on both nights; there is a good, short wine list. Table service is largely by students (6th form & University) who were all attentive, active, efficient , decorative (!) & charming. They served at speed without hurrying - they found time for a brief chat here & there. They are well-trained, polite & professional &, given their backgrounds, very intelligent.
Delightfully, children are excluded from the bar & dining areas. Hoorah!
We had a long discussion with the fairly recent but well experienced Manager, handling a variable headcount, mostly students, from 30 to 70, at high season times.
Starters of goat's cheese tart & smoked trout were followed by sirloin steak & sausages & mash, & all were excellent. The mornings saw table service of a cooked-to-order full breakfast, which was first class.
Nothing to fault with the "Fisherman's Cot" I just wish we lived nearer!

Room Tip: You might want to avoid rooms overlooking the carpark on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh Wickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

we went to the fisherman's cot on way back from cornwall, I booked a double room for one night,
looked lovely when we pull up in the car, went into the reception got booked in, we then had to go back outside and around the back to get to our room, it all looked a bit run down and need a face lift, the front was kept up together, went in door to our room, it was really warm in there the heating was on full it was june the 5th, so we turned it down, open the patio door and the lock was hanging off, it was really damp out on the patio as it was over hung by trees and ivy, the carpet wasn't that clean lots of marks on it, but one good thing the bed was clean and comfortable the bathroom was clean too and the towels were nice and big. yeal lock on door to room was also loose. for the money we paid I thought it was not good enough, they need to refurbish the rooms and the outside at the back of the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springgreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I went here the other day with my family for my brothers 21st birthday celebrations, and it was superb. We were seated with a lovely view across the river, with the table all set out for us as we reserved a table. The meal was lovely and the desserts were yummy!The service was great and the place is stunning, would happily go here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahPaigexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickleigh
4.5 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Cross
Waterloo Cross
#1 of 1 in Uffculme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Barton Cross Hotel
The Barton Cross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stoke Canon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Trout Inn
The Trout Inn
#2 of 4 in Bickleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherman's Cot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherman's Cot

Property: The Fisherman's Cot
Address: Bickleigh EX16 8RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bickleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bickleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Fisherman's Cot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherman`s Cot Hotel Bickleigh
The Fisherman's Cot Bickleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing