We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May weekend”
Review of The Trout Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Trout Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Bickleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“May weekend”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed at Bickleigh castle and visited here, lovely food.
Had the dressed crab and duck for main.
Pool table and darts too
wide variety of drinks including cocktails.
short walk from Bickleigh castle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    40
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
66
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Whilst on holiday in Bickleigh we went to the Trout for an early evening meal - big mistake! The place was almost deserted but we decided to order anyway. One meal was average and the other, breast of duck with puy lentils, arrived overdone and lukewarm. After we both tried it we decided it was not edible so we sent it back (something I am very nervous about doing and have done very rarely). It arrived back at the table quite quickly very hot and even more overdone - ghastly and inedible. After my husband complained, they only charged for one meal but of course the evening was ruined. My advice would be 'Don't go there!'.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccaSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We visited on a very busy Sunday with 2 young children. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The service and food was excellent. The play area within the restaurant is well organised.. We really enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We popped into the Trout on the off-chance they might have a table and how lucky we were! The staff were charming and the food was delicious. We tucked into the pork belly and steak pie. The wine choices were superb and all came in at a good price. What a gem.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazeejax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Lovely people and wonderful idyllic setting of thatched pub by river. Recently renovated rooms (only two available) are very tastefully decorated very comfortable. the breakfasts are enormous you name it it was there set you up for long days ahead exploring. Good position for Tiverton where our family live and on main road to Exeter. Does very good evening meal menu but also within range of two other restaurants. Would highly recommend the whole experience and have already booked for another break

Room Tip: Only two rooms a Family room or double room only to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Travelling back from our caravan in Braunton we were looking for a dog friendly place to stop for lunch. We accidentally zoomed past the Stag Inn which it had researched so came off at Tiverton & left it to the fate of google... BRAVO GOOGLE

The perfect little gem. The owners were exceptionally welcoming & even bought our puppy a bowl of water. The food was wonderful and as I watched people come & go they gave such warmth & welcome to everyone that I wasn't surprised it seemed favoured by lots of locals

For a thatched building, inside was open plan which we found refreshing & they had made great use of the space. With it just being 3miles off the a361 it's a definite 3miles detour we will take again. Thank you The Trout for a perfect end to our break

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kizzyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My partner and i travelled up from Newton Abbot on the 13/4/14 to meet a couple of our friends who live in Tiverton.They booked a table for Sunday lunch.This was our first time here,but our friends had been here before.We were shown to our table,Given the menus which had a very good choice.I chose the Torbay plaice which was delicious,My partner had Roast beef,And our friends had the roast pork,Plenty of vegetables,Cooked perfectly and was delicious.We all had desserts which were lovely.Will certainly be returning hopefully very soon.I spoke to a"smiley" young man behind the bar and said that i would be putting a review on here to which he was quite chuffed! The inn is in a glorious location,ideal for that perfect trip out.
Keep up the good work, And thankyou,See you soon

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickleigh
4.4 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
5.1 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fisherman's Cot
The Fisherman's Cot
#1 of 4 in Bickleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bickleigh Castle
Bickleigh Castle
#3 of 4 in Bickleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#1 of 2 in Sampford Peverell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Inn

Property: The Trout Inn
Address: Exeter Road, Bickleigh EX16 8RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bickleigh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bickleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Trout Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trout Inn Bickleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing