We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bickleigh Castle, Tiverton”
Review of Bickleigh Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bickleigh Castle
Ranked #3 of 4 Bickleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bickleigh Castle, Tiverton”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Fantastic place to stay. Stunning location. Rooms very spacious. Made very welcome by all. Would recommend to anyone. Child and Pet friendly. Invited in to join the family owners, yet also given lots of privacy. Would be able to have a cottage to oneself, if staying with several family members. Despite it's age, facilities were very clean. Would go back again and would feel no hesitation in taking the children.

Room Tip: Ask about steps, as our suite of rooms were up some steep stone steps, but other ground floor facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaplinhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    79
    40
    20
    13
See reviews for
55
198
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My wife son and I stayed at Bickleigh Castle for 10 Days in early January 2012. The accommodation was a beautifully renovated 18th century cottage. The owners went to great trouble to make our stay absolutely perfect including a detailed tour of the castle and 6th century chapel. On one evening there was a very heavy storm and the road was quite tretcherous. Robbie, the owner drove to where we were having an evening meal and then drove us back via a back entrance to the cottage!
The entire experience was a joy and we will be returning. Perfect ambience, perfect hosts. We are recommending this Hotel to all of our friends in Australia.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Beautiful location and lovely castle / grounds / cottages. This is not a hotel in the regular B&B sense (primarily a wedding venue with some B&B action on the side). It's more like staying with an eccentric aunt & uncle and their housekeeper.

You get a hearty breakfast, some great banter and useful tips for sightseeing and activities. The owners are very knowledgeable about the history of the castle and area - this makes ones stay all the more interesting.

There's a good balance in the interaction between owners and guests - enough to make you feel welcome and also to have the space one needs on a break to relax and enjoy the surroundings.

Definitely recommended - use this place as a base from which to explore the area. It's also beautiful enough to spend some time and a tennis court on hand for some exercise or family fun.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAH_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

After five and half years of tremendous stress, we were looking for the "perfect" romantic break - as romance and our personal happiness has had to take a back seat whilst family pressures took precedent. The night had to fulfil "grander"and more exagerated expectations than you would normally require from a one night stay away, and had to have the "wow" factor - nothing less would do as it was a very special present for someone who has given everything to support his family through this difficult time, and we were under severe time-pressure.
What can I say, this venue not only met that brief, but exceeded it. We were welcomed, cared for and thoroughly spoilt at a level which you do not receive as standard in this day and age. Nothing was too much trouble, and the surroundings in which we spent the evening and morning had a fairytale quality surrounding them. This is a treat that we will remember for a lifetime, for all the right reasons.. and can't thank everyone enough for the trouble and detail they went to. I would recommend this beautiful building, setting and service to anybody looking for something magical and timeless in which to indulge.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DyeVerse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I wanted a suitable venue to run my "Depression Busting Retreats" and have found utopia!
The Castle not only offers peace and tranquility with a fascinating history , the location is idyllic and the facilities ideal. One client said "it's like paradise". The hospitality shown by the Owners was beyond generous and unparalleled to anything we could have anticipated. We could not have felt more welcome or embraced. The food was superb and plentiful, and accommodating special dietary needs was no problem. The service was excellent, and the price for all of this was perhaps the most delightful thing of all!
I can't wait for the next Course in June and look forward to returning on a regular basis.
I can't run these at weekends due to Weddings - how lucky are those brides and grooms to have discovered this hidden jewel for their special day!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonRetreats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2011

I arrived at the Bickleigh Castle about ten minutes after calling from the road to see if they had a room. The hosts were very accommodating especially as I had my dog with me too. On arrival I was shown to my room in the Clockhouse overlooking a courtyard and beyond that a rushing river. The room was just lovely, very Laura Ashley but NOT fussy. The bed was comfortable and although the bathroom was not en suite I was the only one staying there, so had sole use. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The lady of the house/castle, was extremely kind and helpful and I enjoyed tea and pastries in her kitchen one afternoon and a good chat about the history. The breakfast was superb and set me up for the day to explore the beautiful surroundings. The Castle itself is an Eleventh century structure and what it lacked in size it more than made up for in charm. I Imagine this would be a magical venue for a wedding or special anniversary. I would highly recommend Bickleigh Castle; if not for the magnificent buildings and location, then definitely for the wonderful staff and generous hosts. The double room was extremely reasonable at £60 per night. My dog and I stayed and extra night and were sorry to have to leave at all! Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griffey96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Three friends and I just returned from a weekend staying at Bickleigh Castle and we had such a wonderful time. I think this B&B is mainly used for weddings but we were lucky enough to be there on a weekend where there were no other guests around.

The staff were very friendly and relaxed. Our breakfast was good home cooked food.

We stayed in the Moat Cottage and it was really quaint and beautiful. The rooms had lots of space and the beds were really comfortable. There was plenty of hot water in the modern bathroom and the castle itself, though a little smaller than I was expecting when I heard the word 'castle', was beautiful and steeped in history.

A fabulous weekend all round.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraAussieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickleigh
4.1 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
365 reviews
18.8 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Fisherman's Cot
The Fisherman's Cot
#1 of 4 in Bickleigh
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Trout Inn
The Trout Inn
#2 of 4 in Bickleigh
143 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#1 of 2 in Sampford Peverell
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bickleigh Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bickleigh Castle

Property: Bickleigh Castle
Address: Bickleigh, Bickleigh EX16 8RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bickleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bickleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bickleigh Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bickleigh Castle Romance and History in Union.Situated on the Devon and Somerset border, in rolling countryside within its 30 acre Estate, it’s hard to believe it is just minutes away from Junction 27 and Tiverton Parkway train station.Bickleigh Castle is not only a gorgeous Devon wedding venue, it also caters for conferences and seminars and offers Bed and Breakfast accommodation throughout the year in its romantic buildings and traditional, thatched cottages.This fabulous wedding Castle also offers exclusive use for a get together with friends and family, birthday parties, private dining, anniversaries, retirement parties or reunions. Bickleigh Castle offers you the unique and magical experience of living with your guests in a 11th Century castle.Enter through the 17th Century, Italian wrought Iron Gates to discover the romantic and fascinating history that abounds in this magnificent 11th Century Castle and it's Estate, through which the River Exe also winds its way.Within the moated grounds, Bickleighs’ 6th Century Chapel stands today as it did all those years ago, probably the oldest building in the County and where, our married couples receive their blessing.This listed Grade One Castle exudes a rich and intimate atmosphere with its history echoed in its wonderful romantic heritage, regal Great Hall and elegant Tudor Bridal Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bickleigh Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bickleigh Castle Hotel Bickleigh
Bickleigh Castle Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing