We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!”
Review of Bickleigh Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bickleigh Castle
Ranked #2 of 4 Bickleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2008

I booked the accomodation because it was recommended in Alistair Sawday. The room was not in the Castle, the room 'shared' a bathroom, not en suite as indicated in the guide. Not only was the room cold but did not reflect anything like a castle. The room was not clean and clearly needed some attention. Compared with the shared bathroom it was fantastic. The whole accomodation was very very poor. The breakfast was good, but why do we need to eat in a room with the wine delivery?

Finally, to add insult to injury the price charged was not only wrong but the hostess tried to insist on the higher price.

I complained, in writing, but the owners are too arrogant to reply.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NevilleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2008

I booked Bickleigh Castle for my wedding in June 2007.

I have to say, not only is the site idyllic, the staff and owner went way above and beyond, to ensure that we had the most fantastic wedding weekend. The attention to detail was fantastic and they seemed to really care that every guest was enjoying themselves and had everything they needed. I would not hesitate to recommend Bickleigh Castle highly enough.

The food was fabulous, the accommodation was very clean and the owner was extremely attentive and worked incredibly hard. If you are looking for alittle slice of old england in a truly fabulous setting, then Bickleigh Castle is for you.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank bellaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2007

I recently stayed at the beautiful Bickleigh Castle Estate for my son Jamies's wedding. I could not have imagined in my wildest dreams a more beautiful charming and idylic setting.
The accomodation was beautifully set out in the most charming thatched cottages. The rooms were large, pretty, very well equiped and the most comfortable we have stayed in for a very long time.
The staff were most attentive, courteous and oblidging. They really made our 2 day stay a unique and wonderful experience.
The food was beautifully prepared and presented.
The gardens were outstanding, and there was no restrictions on where we could go or photograph, unlike other establishments we have stayed at.
The owner, Sarah, is the most passionate and attentive lady we have encounted in a long time. She is very proffessional, and businesslike in the day to day running of this beautiful estate.
When ever my son or his guests required anything or needed to know anything she was always available and willing to help in anyway she could, at all times.
If you are looking for that fairytale idylic setting for your wedding then in my humble opinion you have only ONE choice BICKLEIGH CASTLE.
Thank you so very much Sarah and all your Staff.
Anita & John Lavery County Kerry Ireland

Stayed: August 2007
Thank nuttyanitanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

The setting makes this place. It is truly wonderful. A genuine castle (with a moat), tower and suits of armour. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend as a wedding venue, but there were several very annoying little things with the rooms that wouldn't have taken much common sense to put right.

We stayed as wedding guests in Moat Cottage. The exterior of this cottage is chocolate box pretty, and located very close to the castle and courtyard. However, all that was inside was four bedrooms, one downstairs loo and one upstairs bathroom. We had one of the downstairs bedrooms (no ensuite to any of the rooms) The other downstairs bedroom was used by staff. After we went to bed on Saturday night, they came in and out of the cottage banging doors and smoking cigarettes on the doorstep for seemingly hours on end. The upstairs bathroom was shared between 6 people and was inadequate and very dated. A plug in the sink would have been nice! The downstairs loo had a washhand basin which did not even have a shelf for toiletries or shaving gear. Very annoying. The bedroom was huge but had no dressing table and one inadequate mirror located nowhere near any power points. When you are getting dressed up to go to a wedding, a full length mirror would have been nice and a power point so that you can see to dry your hair.
There was only one bedside lamp which was very bright and made it difficult to sleep when one of us wanted to read. The radiator had somthing split all over it and hadn't been cleaned. Our room wasn't serviced. We had to wash our own cups up and make our own beds. A bit much when you are paying over £100 per room per night!

The previous reviewer was a bit harsh on the owner, yes she is very jolly hockey sticks but boy did she work hard that weekend. Her husband gave us a talk on the history of the castle which was quite good. All in all, the wedding must have cost a fortune and the string quartet, the food, wine, master of ceremonies and the fireworks at the end were excellent. With a little more attention to the rooms, this could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Katewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2006

Ok...Bickleigh Castle is undeniably gorgeous! A romantic civil-war era stately home in a beautiful setting along a river. The owner (more on her later) has transformed the property into a business for weddings trading off of its unique architecture and natural beauty. It is really a for-hire wedding venue with a few B&B cottage rooms (one in the castle, the others in an outbuilding). The special touches are few and services non-existent (no tv, phone, alarm clocks, etc) and the rooms are comfortable although spare. There is a tv 'room' and what looks like was once a cafe...oh, and Breakfast is not in the castle but what seems to be the owners' dining room and is a one-off affair (all guests at the same time at the same table...) No 'tours' were offered of the property and a walk-around is not encouraged on your own, even if you are staying...and dont ever say the word 'hotel' or B&B in front of the owner. You will know who she is when you get the once over at check-in or breakfast. All Jolly hockey-sticks and Eager to sell a wedding, if you fit the socio-demo-economic profile you may get a brochure...if not, pay and be on your way, thank you very much.

The hot breakfast was delicious served by what seemed to be the cook, chamber maid, and general handy-lady of the property; and a waiter who was fitting in breakfast service while setting up for the next wedding. All served under the eagle and demanding eye of the owner... Bickleigh Castle is a quiet and adequate stop-over B&B...but, not a destination in itself or proper lodging for tourists. It is for guests at a wedding who want to stay on-site. Saying that, it is an IDEAL location for a wedding (20K minimum spend, 'you know!?') and therefore perfect for that...however, if you want friendly, welcoming and comfortable accomodation as a local area tourist you best stay somewhere else. The castle is worth a stop to see the building and setting...but, don't expect a warm welcome unless you say you are considering it as a potential wedding venue...and even then, be prepared for a tour-sales chat.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer nach vorn nehmen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kristinaG4464AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YellowIdF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickleigh
4.1 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Fisherman's Cot
The Fisherman's Cot
#1 of 4 in Bickleigh
431 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#1 of 2 in Sampford Peverell
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Trout Inn
The Trout Inn
#3 of 4 in Bickleigh
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Copenhagen Farm
Copenhagen Farm
#1 of 1 in Bickleigh
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bickleigh Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bickleigh Castle

Address: Bickleigh, Bickleigh EX16 8RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bickleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bickleigh
Price Range: £89 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bickleigh Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bickleigh Castle Romance and History in Union.Situated on the Devon and Somerset border, in rolling countryside within its 30 acre Estate, it’s hard to believe it is just minutes away from Junction 27 and Tiverton Parkway train station.Bickleigh Castle is not only a gorgeous Devon wedding venue, it also caters for conferences and seminars and offers Bed and Breakfast accommodation throughout the year in its romantic buildings and traditional, thatched cottages.This fabulous wedding Castle also offers exclusive use for a get together with friends and family, birthday parties, private dining, anniversaries, retirement parties or reunions. Bickleigh Castle offers you the unique and magical experience of living with your guests in a 11th Century castle.Enter through the 17th Century, Italian wrought Iron Gates to discover the romantic and fascinating history that abounds in this magnificent 11th Century Castle and it's Estate, through which the River Exe also winds its way.Within the moated grounds, Bickleighs’ 6th Century Chapel stands today as it did all those years ago, probably the oldest building in the County and where, our married couples receive their blessing.This listed Grade One Castle exudes a rich and intimate atmosphere with its history echoed in its wonderful romantic heritage, regal Great Hall and elegant Tudor Bridal Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bickleigh Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bickleigh Castle Hotel Bickleigh
Bickleigh Castle Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing