We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bickleigh Castle”
Review of Bickleigh Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bickleigh Castle
Ranked #2 of 4 Bickleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We enjoyed a memorable four night stay at the charming Bickleigh Castle. We were made to feel most welcome by the owners and staff. We stayed in the Barn Cottage in a double bedroom and this was comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities available and the option of daily maid service included. Food was excellent throughout our stay and staff were polite and enthusiastic. We went on an historical tour of the castle, chapel and grounds and learned much about the castle and surrounding area. There is so much to explore at Bickleigh Castle and it is and ideal base for exploring Devon with its stunning scenery and countryside. Thankyou for a wonderful stay we will definitely be returning soon! Mr and Mrs Belton, West Sussex

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahBSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is the 5th time I have used Bickleigh Castle for my "Spiritual Retreats" We stayed the week and have had the most wonderful time, Sarah, Robbie and John with all there staff work very hard to make you all so welcome and cannot do enough for you.
Johns tours are brilliant and very knowledgeable. Sarah's enthusiasm for us being there is second to none, we were full board and the chef Scott catered for our every need and the food was very good. We opted not to have our rooms serviced but if we needed anything we onl had to ask. always fresh tea and coffee, fruit teas etc again you only have to ask and it is done. thank you also to Richard and the young staff with there cheery smiles and helpfulness.
We are back again end of October and will look forward to it immensely. A Big THANK YOU. Anne Wright

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Lovely castle in a beautiful setting. Quaint little town with some lovely food places.
We got upgraded to the castle suite with the 4 poster bed, which just made our day.
Definitely recommend the Trout Inn and Bickleigh Mill for food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Bickleigh castle is full of old fashioned charm. Yes it's a little rough around the edges but the beautiful setting more than made up for it. Our bedroom was charming. Very comfortable beds with a very nice bathroom. We did have to go and find replenishments for our tea and coffee tray and our room was not made up when we went out for the day so things are slightly haphazard.
However we just loved everything else so we could overlook these minor details.
We had the continental breakfast each morning of our stay and it was more than adequate, lovely fresh fruit and yoghurt followed bt croissant. The young men serving us were friendly and helpful.

We would love to return as this place is so unique and in a lovely part of Devon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16, two lovely double beds and an en suite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakelandladyMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic! I booked the bridal suite for 1 night as a surprise birthday present for my wife & paid full price for it. What a bargain! There is only 1 room available in the castle which made it feel like the whole castle was ours for the night. The whole place seems to be a labour of love for the owners as it is set in some of the most magnificent surroundings and the history of it all has been researched by them & they are more than happy to show you around and even do a little tour for all guests for free.
As for the fact they don't have a bar/restaurant, if they did, we might of missed the beautiful scenery as we took our 10 min riverside stroll to the local restaurants.
Regarding previous bad comments, I can't comment on what their rooms were like but I believe the 'deal' they bought was 2 nights for £99! I've paid more than that to stay in a premier inn with views of a car park & no bar or restaurant & it is listed as a b&b, not a hotel.
As an 'experience', I couldn't rate it highly enough.
Rob Whitehouse, Manchester

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent two nights at Bickleigh Castle in April. It is certainly a very beautiful and peaceful location, however the standard of accommodation and breakfast was below what I had expected from the reviews I read prior to our stay.

The room was a good size, however the cream carpets were very grubby, the mugs on the tea tray were dirty (and one was cracked) and parts of the room were very dusty. Added to this, the hot water ran out in the middle of a shower on the first evening. It was reported to management, who were not able to fix the problem. Apparently Bickleigh Castle is not on the main water supply therefore 'it sometimes happens' that the hot water runs out. I feel that it should be made clear to clients staying on these premises that the water does not come from the mains supply so that clients can decide for themselves whether or not they want to drink it.

The tour of the castle was fantastic. The gentleman delivering the tour was clearly very enthusiastic and knowledgeable on the subject and it was very interesting to attend the tour (although I felt that it could have done without the wedding sales pitch).

The breakfast was disappointing - no fresh pot of tea/coffee when you arrive (the tea and coffee are pre-made and left to stew on the buffet table) and the pastries were a bit burnt. There was a selection of cereals, fruit juices etc. There is the option to pay extra for a cooked breakfast, however we stuck with the continental breakfast included in the price.

Overall, Bickleigh Castle is in a wonderful location and is very picturesque and tranquil. However I feel that the accommodation was a bit of a let-down. Luckily we booked the rooms using a voucher (which gave around 50% off) so for the price we paid, it was ok. However I would not pay full price to stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petite_alouette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
164
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a night staying at this wonderful place. My husband booked the suite in the castle usually used for weddings. The history and settings of this place is amazing the surroundings, facilities and staff were all top class. Please don't believe the bad reviews posted on here The owners work hard to make every guest feel welcome and I would recommend a visit to anyone.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickleigh
4.1 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Fisherman's Cot
The Fisherman's Cot
#1 of 4 in Bickleigh
435 reviews
0 mi away
Copenhagen Farm
Copenhagen Farm
#1 of 1 in Bickleigh
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Trout Inn
The Trout Inn
#3 of 4 in Bickleigh
147 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bickleigh Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bickleigh Castle

Address: Barn Cottage, Bickleigh EX16 8RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bickleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bickleigh
Price Range: £87 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bickleigh Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bickleigh Castle Romance and History in Union.Situated on the Devon and Somerset border, in rolling countryside within its 30 acre Estate, it’s hard to believe it is just minutes away from Junction 27 and Tiverton Parkway train station.Bickleigh Castle is not only a gorgeous Devon wedding venue, it also caters for conferences and seminars and offers Bed and Breakfast accommodation throughout the year in its romantic buildings and traditional, thatched cottages.This fabulous wedding Castle also offers exclusive use for a get together with friends and family, birthday parties, private dining, anniversaries, retirement parties or reunions. Bickleigh Castle offers you the unique and magical experience of living with your guests in a 11th Century castle.Enter through the 17th Century, Italian wrought Iron Gates to discover the romantic and fascinating history that abounds in this magnificent 11th Century Castle and it's Estate, through which the River Exe also winds its way.Within the moated grounds, Bickleighs’ 6th Century Chapel stands today as it did all those years ago, probably the oldest building in the County and where, our married couples receive their blessing.This listed Grade One Castle exudes a rich and intimate atmosphere with its history echoed in its wonderful romantic heritage, regal Great Hall and elegant Tudor Bridal Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bickleigh Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bickleigh Castle Hotel Bickleigh
Bickleigh Castle Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing