We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bickleigh Castle
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moorland Garden Hotel(Yelverton)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Plymouth Derriford Hotel(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$90
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Future Inn Plymouth(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$141
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Plymouth(Plymouth)
US$88
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
212
83
43
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
212
83
43
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuebridal suitecastle tourthe cottagescontinental breakfastother guestscomplimentary toursteeped in historymoat cottagebeautiful castlefull englishcharacter and charmamazing weekendbreakfast tabletudor roomfour poster bedtwo night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Fantastic location, with two pubs both serving food just a 10 minute walk across the fields and a mill and visitor centre.,next to a river, stunning
Beautiful surrondings and fantastic history.
The staff were all very friendly and our room was a generous size,with plenty of tea ,coffee and biscuits.
The castle tour was brilliant and we loved having breakfast on the large round tables with other guests.
If you want a stay with loads of history ,this is it.
Yes our room could have done with a refurbish, a bit tired, but the sheets and towels were clean and we slept well and it wouldnt put us off from booking again.

We loved it, and will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubymaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed at Bickleigh Castle with my partner for a disappointing couple of nights on a Wowcher deal. Let's get the positives first: it looks gorgeous on the outside, and the tour of the castle is very good. That's it.

Now for the long list of negatives (see photos).

One of the pillow-cases had a tear. There were stains on the sheets and on the duvet. When I complained about it and asked for them to be changed, the lady I spoke to apologised by telling me that she couldn't find someone to do the job properly (or something similar). I'm sorry, but when is it EVER ok for a hotel to use stained sheets??? She said it was just rust, but I know rust stains, and the ones on the duvet were NOT rust. In fact they looked suspiciously like blood - disgusting. The carpet in our room had stains. There was a coffee stain on the table. The floor had not been hoovered properly. The windows were covered with cobwebs on the outside. The dusting obviously hadn't been done for a while. The tables by the bed were chipboard covered with an oversized cloth. The carpet in the bathroom had gone black by the bath-tub. The cheap plastic shower curtain was stained orange at the bottom (obviously had been there for far too long). The mats in the bathroom had seriously frayed edges. The shower was old-fashioned and incredibly noisy. The walls were so thin that we could hear what the people below us were watching on TV. No wi-fi in the cottages, you have to stay in the common room, and it wasn't working brilliantly there either. The full English breakfast (which costs an extra £5) was low quality, especially the sausage.

Considering that the original price for a double room is £110 per night, I can assure you that the condition our room was in was absolutely unacceptable. Even paying half-price as we were, we thought that was still too much. I don't usually complain, and I don't mind putting up with a couple of things going wrong. But the accumulation was ludicrous. Obviously someone thinks that it's ok not to tidy the room properly. Someone thinks it's ok to use stained bedding. Someone thinks that it's ok to ask £110 for a room that has stains on the carpet. There are absolutely no excuses for this.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank jule955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bickleigh C, Guest Relations Manager at Bickleigh Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We were very concerned that this customer had a less than satisfactory experience of the Castle and the comments have been discussed in detail in order to avoid further issues.

We have a policy of continuous improvement and upgrading and problems as highlighted are rare, and we do take note, hence, for instance, the issue of sheets and the shower curtain were dealt with.

Re Wi-fi. This is a country area surrounded by hills, and we are at the mercy of the best BT can provide, which is not brilliant and is variable. Sorry to say, nothing more can be done until BT upgrades its system.

Likewise, these are 17th & 18th Century cottages, which are indeed part of the charm of Bickleigh Castle, and it is sometimes difficult to avoid sound travelling between floors, though again, it rarely happens and indeed has never previously been commented upon concerning the room these guests were using. In consequence of the comment, though, we will try putting in a form of extra insulation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our stay here could not have been better. The location is superb and the staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast topped off by a tour of the wonderful castle. Thank you to all the staff and the owners who made us feel so welcome. The gardens are amazing and we must praise the gardener for his fantastic work and great service in the bar. We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 58charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My mum and I just returned from the most blissful weekend at Bickleigh Castle. The staff were extremely friendly and clearly wanted guests to have an excellent experience. The breakfast was fabulous, the environment second to none and the bedrooms really comfortable and blissfully quiet. This is a very beautiful part of the world. May in Devon is blooming with wild flowers. We walked from the castle across a bridge and field and followed a river path for about four miles. It was a lovely walk (We got the bus back from Tiverton). Thank you very much to everyone at Bickleigh - we thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary tour of the castle and beautiful peaceful chapel. We would love to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirehorserider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a special offer deal which turned out the be really good value. We stayed in a room in a cottage which was pretty and quaint. The room itself was quite grubby and the teacup was cracked. The decorations in the room was tired but apart from that nice enough. The included continental breakfast was disappointed. The fresh fruit consisted of grapes and an orange and the bread for toast was cheap. The conservatory area was breakfast is lovely but we didn't like the communal round tables as personally I don't like to be forced to eat with people I don't know. Everyone was trying to sit as far away from others as possible.
The place appears to be family run and certainly holds that charm, the buildings and grounds are beautiful and worth visiting for that alone. We'd definitely go back, and would recommend to others

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank noodle1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews