We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult”
Review of Bickleigh Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bickleigh Castle
Ranked #3 of 4 Bickleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Difficult”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It's difficult to write a review as it really should be in two sections. Inside and outside!
The outside is faultless in beautiful mid devon with picturesque castle and surrounding bed and breakfast cottages.
Inside is rather a different story, the accommodation is outdated and there is a rather "make do and mend" feel. A professional look at the properties along with an injection of cash to really make a difference.
The young breakfast staff were really friendly and helpful and doing their very best.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    79
    40
    20
    13
See reviews for
55
198
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We travelled from Leeds to Bickleigh Castle to attend the wedding of a very close friend. The journey was worth it!! This is the most perfect wedding venue and even has its own chapel which is believed to be the oldest religious building in England. The accomodation is a series of thatched cottages in the castle grounds and are extremely quaint and quintessentially English. Some of the cottages are undergoiing sympathetic improvements but don't be put off if you are in a cottage which hasn't been updated - this only adds to the quirky enjoyment of the place. Sarah Hay (owner) and her team do a marvellous job and Sarah clearly cares passionately about her guests.
The wedding breakfast was outstanding - how a chef ensures that fillet of beef is cooked perfectly to a large party at the same time is beyond me. The jazz band playing throughout the drinks reception were also excellent and the master of ceremonies made sure that we were all where we should be and kept things running smoothly - there wasn't one hiccup. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would recommend Bickleigh Castle if you want to get a group of friends/family together for a special occasion.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTwoJays2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had 3 nights at Bickleigh Castle recently and had a great time. My husband booked it as a birthday treat for me and we were lucky enough to get the bridal suite. Yes the layout is strange the bathroom is across the hall but as there is no one else staying in that part of the castle its no problem. There wasn't a tv in the bedroom but it was the bridal suite after all and there was one in the lounge are. The castle is beautiful and the tour was really interesting. There is plenty to see and do nearby and plenty of good places to stay so it was a great base for sightseeing. All the staff we spoke to were helpful and polite. it was exceptional value for money. We did pay extra for breakfast but to be honest the continental breakfast would have done us.

Room Tip: See in you can have the bridal suite it has the biggest bed I've ever been in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My partner and I have just been to the best wedding ever at bickleigh castle. What a stunning venue. We stayed in one of the cottages surrounding the courtyard which are ideal for the wedding guests.
The cottages are quaint, and perfectly fitting for a castle of that age. The courtyard setting,the Great Hall and the Chapel couldn't have been more romantic if it tried. The staff were polite, professional and friendly. The jazz band were fantastic, I especially enjoyed the canapés on the lawn after the service. The wedding dinner was absolutely gorgeous, hats off to the chef who managed to cook the beef fillet to perfection.
The magnificent firework display rounded off the perfect day. This was all thanks to Sarah, the owner, and her team, for all the effort they put in to ensure that this was the perfect wedding day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moggymooncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Fantastic location, with two pubs both serving food just a 10 minute walk across the fields and a mill and visitor centre.,next to a river, stunning
Beautiful surrondings and fantastic history.
The staff were all very friendly and our room was a generous size,with plenty of tea ,coffee and biscuits.
The castle tour was brilliant and we loved having breakfast on the large round tables with other guests.
If you want a stay with loads of history ,this is it.
Yes our room could have done with a refurbish, a bit tired, but the sheets and towels were clean and we slept well and it wouldnt put us off from booking again.

We loved it, and will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubymaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed at Bickleigh Castle with my partner for a disappointing couple of nights on a Wowcher deal. Let's get the positives first: it looks gorgeous on the outside, and the tour of the castle is very good. That's it.

Now for the long list of negatives (see photos).

One of the pillow-cases had a tear. There were stains on the sheets and on the duvet. When I complained about it and asked for them to be changed, the lady I spoke to apologised by telling me that she couldn't find someone to do the job properly (or something similar). I'm sorry, but when is it EVER ok for a hotel to use stained sheets??? She said it was just rust, but I know rust stains, and the ones on the duvet were NOT rust. In fact they looked suspiciously like blood - disgusting. The carpet in our room had stains. There was a coffee stain on the table. The floor had not been hoovered properly. The windows were covered with cobwebs on the outside. The dusting obviously hadn't been done for a while. The tables by the bed were chipboard covered with an oversized cloth. The carpet in the bathroom had gone black by the bath-tub. The cheap plastic shower curtain was stained orange at the bottom (obviously had been there for far too long). The mats in the bathroom had seriously frayed edges. The shower was old-fashioned and incredibly noisy. The walls were so thin that we could hear what the people below us were watching on TV. No wi-fi in the cottages, you have to stay in the common room, and it wasn't working brilliantly there either. The full English breakfast (which costs an extra £5) was low quality, especially the sausage.

Considering that the original price for a double room is £110 per night, I can assure you that the condition our room was in was absolutely unacceptable. Even paying half-price as we were, we thought that was still too much. I don't usually complain, and I don't mind putting up with a couple of things going wrong. But the accumulation was ludicrous. Obviously someone thinks that it's ok not to tidy the room properly. Someone thinks it's ok to use stained bedding. Someone thinks that it's ok to ask £110 for a room that has stains on the carpet. There are absolutely no excuses for this.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank jule955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bickleigh C, Guest Relations Manager at Bickleigh Castle, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We were very concerned that this customer had a less than satisfactory experience of the Castle and the comments have been discussed in detail in order to avoid further issues.

We have a policy of continuous improvement and upgrading and problems as highlighted are rare, and we do take note, hence, for instance, the issue of sheets and the shower curtain were dealt with.

Re Wi-fi. This is a country area surrounded by hills, and we are at the mercy of the best BT can provide, which is not brilliant and is variable. Sorry to say, nothing more can be done until BT upgrades its system.

Likewise, these are 17th & 18th Century cottages, which are indeed part of the charm of Bickleigh Castle, and it is sometimes difficult to avoid sound travelling between floors, though again, it rarely happens and indeed has never previously been commented upon concerning the room these guests were using. In consequence of the comment, though, we will try putting in a form of extra insulation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our stay here could not have been better. The location is superb and the staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast topped off by a tour of the wonderful castle. Thank you to all the staff and the owners who made us feel so welcome. The gardens are amazing and we must praise the gardener for his fantastic work and great service in the bar. We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 58charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickleigh
4.1 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tiverton
365 reviews
18.8 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Fisherman's Cot
The Fisherman's Cot
#1 of 4 in Bickleigh
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Trout Inn
The Trout Inn
#2 of 4 in Bickleigh
143 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#1 of 2 in Sampford Peverell
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bickleigh Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bickleigh Castle

Property: Bickleigh Castle
Address: Bickleigh, Bickleigh EX16 8RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bickleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bickleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bickleigh Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bickleigh Castle Romance and History in Union.Situated on the Devon and Somerset border, in rolling countryside within its 30 acre Estate, it’s hard to believe it is just minutes away from Junction 27 and Tiverton Parkway train station.Bickleigh Castle is not only a gorgeous Devon wedding venue, it also caters for conferences and seminars and offers Bed and Breakfast accommodation throughout the year in its romantic buildings and traditional, thatched cottages.This fabulous wedding Castle also offers exclusive use for a get together with friends and family, birthday parties, private dining, anniversaries, retirement parties or reunions. Bickleigh Castle offers you the unique and magical experience of living with your guests in a 11th Century castle.Enter through the 17th Century, Italian wrought Iron Gates to discover the romantic and fascinating history that abounds in this magnificent 11th Century Castle and it's Estate, through which the River Exe also winds its way.Within the moated grounds, Bickleighs’ 6th Century Chapel stands today as it did all those years ago, probably the oldest building in the County and where, our married couples receive their blessing.This listed Grade One Castle exudes a rich and intimate atmosphere with its history echoed in its wonderful romantic heritage, regal Great Hall and elegant Tudor Bridal Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bickleigh Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bickleigh Castle Hotel Bickleigh
Bickleigh Castle Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing