We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bickleigh Castle
Nearby Hotels
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moorland Garden Hotel(Yelverton)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Plymouth Derriford Hotel(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$58
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Plymouth(Plymouth)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
214
83
43
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
214
83
43
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuebridal suitecastle tourthe cottagescontinental breakfastother guestscomplimentary toursteeped in historymoat cottagebeautiful castlefull englishcharacter and charmamazing weekendbreakfast tabletudor roomfour poster bedtwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Wonderful location, picturesque and peaceful. Were delighted to be given the bridal suite with huge four-poster bed and enormous bathroom in the castle itself. Views over castle gardens and away to the hills. Made very welcome by the owners. Thoroughly enjoyed the private tour. A truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just returned from a great weekend at bickleigh castle so pretty and quiet our room (17) was large and very comfortable with beautiful views of the countryside and the castle.
We were given a great tour of the castle it was so interesting and well presented.
Breakfast was simple but good ( you can pay extra if you want a cooked breakfast ) we didn't feel the need.
Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from a two day break at this beautiful castle in the stunning Devon countryside.
Quite a drive from London but well worth it.
We were warmly welcomed and had a fabulous room- the dressing room for brides who use the castle for their weddings.
The tour of the castle the following morning was extremely interesting. Our guide was so well informed and he brought the history to life through his tales. Far more interesting than my history teacher ever was! The castle is very well looked after- gardens were lovely and little touches like magazines in rooms, a large communal lounge etc were much appreciated.
We will definitely be returning. Alison and Art Raine

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alisonhen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Bickleigh castle was ok but the room was quite dated and worn. It needed some TLC and a good dusting. The views were lovely and to walk around the castle was quite special. The breakfast was ok but they charged you extra for a cooked breakfast and you did not have your own table so you were forced to make conversation with other guests early in the morning whilst you are on holiday. The hosts were nice but on check out there wasn't anyone available and we had to check out with a man in his dressing gown. Whilst the castle looked lovely the room was disappointing for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bickleigh C, Guest Relations Manager at Bickleigh Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Just to pick up on a few points. 1. We are in the process of some refurbishing and indeed are about to open yet another en suite facility, for our rather nice oak-panelled room 18. We are conscious that several rooms are needing refurbishment but are tackling the issue; I should point out that we are very very busy this summer and it is not always easy to block out a room. We take the point about dusting and it has been discussed. 2. Breakfast: with voucher deals of c £25 per person per night, at this size of venue we literally cannot provide a cooked breakfast without a surcharge.

I note the remark about communal tables. We have round tables for 8 to 10 people, currently. We've been doing a customer survey on these and so far 60% are in favour and 40% against. So we probably will provide a few 'tables for two'. We found originally that having separate tables created a very 'dead' atmosphere and most people did not like it. It proves that one cannot please all the people all the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Me and my partner stayed in a room in the cottage for 2 nights. The castle is stunning and views make you proud to be English. Our hosts John and Sarah were welcoming and friendly. John conducts a tour of the castle free of charge, which is interesting, a must for a history enthusiast. The gardens are picturesque. One slight downside we experienced, the maid didn't clean our bathroom ? But after a polite word with John, the problem was resolved quickly and without fuss. I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NevilleEssexuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews