We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slept like royalty”
Review of Bickleigh Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bickleigh Castle
Ranked #2 of 4 Bickleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Slept like royalty”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Bickleigh Castle for 2 nights - 3 to 5 August 2014.

We had a warm welcome on arrival from Robert, present custodian of this beautiful hamlet.

Our room was in the thatched clock house which dates back centuries. We had original wooden beams above our comfy double bed. The room was airy and comfortable and furnished accordingly. The en-suite shower room was very modern and the shower was the best I have had. Our room overlooked the courtyard and moat with its white ducks and bull rushes.

There are several cottages in the courtyards and I'm sure all would be just as lovely.

Breakfast was served in the lovely wooden conservatory which is surrounded by the gardens and tennis courts.
Continental breakfast was ample but we could upgrade to something hot if we wished.

Free wifi is available in the lounge which also has a larger screen TV and sofas.

We weren't able to stay for the castle tour but the wedding picture in the brochure and features look lovely.

We had a walk across the field to Bickleigh Mill With its lovely but expensive gift shop. Next door to the mill is the Devon Miniature Railways Centre which does seem more for children but admittedly we didn't go in.

We also paid a visit or two to the Trout Inn and the Fisherman's Cot which are on the River Exe and in walking distance of Bickleigh Castle.

Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you have difficulty with stairs as they are steep and uneven since they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    81
    41
    20
    13
See reviews for
60
199
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

A fantastic place to stay , quite and peaceful throughout beautifully located .a tour round the castle with the hosts .lovely cooked breakfast .will be going back next year.only problem is they do not do evening meals but two local pubs are 10 minutes walk away .rooms are basic which are situated around the courtyard entrance is thought the port cull-is

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank poppet2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in the bridal suite back in May and had a fantastic stay - the nearest thing to your own castle as you have your own wing!
My husband loves castles so he was in his element lol
You have a couple of pubs/restaurants within strolling distance

We will be returning

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytripper105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Room was dated and not particularly clean. The shower was slow draining. There was a bulb out in the bathroom and the extractor fan didn't work. The setting is nice and with more attention to detail it could be a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bickleigh C, Guest Relations Manager at Bickleigh Castle, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We are sorry about the extractor fan and the bulb. These matters are checked regularly but bulbs can, as we all know, go at any time and I will take this opportunity to mention again that if guests find there is a defect of this kind, they should mention it asap and it will be dealt with immediately.

Bickleigh is not an average venue and I therefore suggest review readers compare this comment with the previous one, which is a well-balance review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Such a treat to be able to get away for 4 days into the country and stay in a beautiful part of Devon and to stay in a thatched cottage within the Bickleigh estate.
We booked through Amazon with the understanding of extra £40 for the Saturday night which considering the value of the deal we were only too pleased to pay. Where can you get such a treat to be able to stay within an estate for £25 a night pp with continental breakfast included. A cooked breakfast was extra which offered guests a good start to the day before exploring Devon. We personally didn't mind joining other guests at the breakfast table and enjoyed conversations with them, we found out about places to go and shared experiences.
The cottage as you would expect was very old but beautifully decorated which for town folk like us was a wonderful experience. There was tea/coffee making facility in the room as well as a TV.
Whilst we were there there was a wedding taking place in the castle with guests staying in the cottages. Thankfully the proprietor didn't cancel the Amazon bookings and put themselves under extra pressure to ensure all guests were looked after. Thank you so much!
The tour of the castle and chapel was very informative and would love to do it again as there was so much to take in and remember. Guests do need to be informed however about the tour as we were fortunate to find out by sheer luck.
The Castle is beautifully located, a short drive from Tiverton. The M5 gives easy route to South Devon and North Devon is easily reached from Tiverton, approx 45 mins to an hour which suited us as we visited family and friends during our stay.
There are 3 restaurants nearby which provide food up to 9pm, can work out £50 for a decent meal for 2 for two courses and a drink.
Would like to say was a wonderful 4 day experience which under normal circumstances we probably would not been able to afford. It is a beautiful estate for an important occasion and would enhance any wedding for which Bickleigh Castle is acclaimed for.
Would recommend more marketing coverage on the internet as I'm sure more people would use Bickleigh Castle, our friends have all commented on our photos, and would like more info.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bickleigh C, Guest Relations Manager at Bickleigh Castle, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for an excellent and well-balanced review.

As regards information regarding the Castle Tour, we can tell all readers that we usually conduct a historic guided tour of the Castle at 10:00 at least every other day, and we normally put up a sign in the dining room to say if it is on. The tour takes about an hour and covers the history of the Castle from Norman times to today. There are many artefacts to see and many anecdotes about interesting historic characters connected with the Castle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We took advantage of an Amazon deal giving us a two night stay for £99. I'd say it was value for money for a basic bed and breakfast although talking to the proprietor I got the impression they though they had under sold it. The deal appears to have very popular, so much so that I was hard pressed to find a suitable date to redeem the offer. One unsatisfactory issue I would raise is that there was a £40 extra charge for staying at the weekend. I don't see how it costs 40% extra to sleep in a bed on a Saturday? Especially since we could get availability on a weekend. With the actual final cost being £149 I would say it was as much as I would like to pay.

The location is very good, putting you approx 30 miles from both the north and south coastlines and the Dartmoor and Exmoor national parks. Tiverton is the closest town for supplies and within easy reach of the M5. There are also 3 or 4 restaurants within waking distance. Remember a torch (use your phone) if waking over the field after dusk.

There was a wedding when we stayed so the staff were rather busy with that. They forgot to tell us where to go for breakfast and apparently there is a castle tour too? Not a huge issue of course. Incidentally, if you are imaging staying within the castle itself, I don't believe that is possible. The rooms are within a handful of small cottages broken down into individual rooms. The castle itself is quite modest.

The room we had was a little crowded with furniture given it was only a little over 2 and a half meters square. It probably didn't need two chairs really as the standard double bed occupied most of the space. Anyway, it was pleasantly decorated, to which our host draw particular attention, and the ensuite was good. The place is spring water fed as it's in a rural location so don't expect a powerful shower as in a city hotel.

Breakfast is basic and supplied at extra cost. As pointed out in other comments because they use the same tables as the wedding breakfasts you do need to share a table. Personally I prefer a private table; it's rather unusual to eat communally in most other situations (restaurants, most other hotels and so forth). If you are unluckily enough to be draw into uncomfortable conversations by other guests it does put a strain on proceedings...

In summary, an adequate room with few frills.

Room Tip: When weddings are on it can be noisy. Ideally B&B guests would be furthest away from the party a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckiecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bickleigh C, Guest Relations Manager at Bickleigh Castle, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your helpful and balanced review.

A few matters to mention. It was one of the very very rare occasions when we had a non-exclusive Wedding and hence a mixture of B&B guests staying and Wedding guests. From our point of view as well as the reviewer's, this was not entirely satisfactory and we will try to avoid the situation arising again.

The Castle is indeed quite modest in size, but makes up for this by having a long and very interesting history; it was a great deal larger before the Castle was attacked and partly destroyed by the New Model Army under Sir Thomas Fairfax during the Civil War, but that alone is a most interesting aspect of the Castle's history. I don't think one should disparage a building that has been the victim of warfare.

I have mentioned on several occasions about the debate over the breakfast dining facilities. We may add in some 'tables for two' in view of our own customer survey which found 60% in favour of the round communal tables and 40% in favour of 'tables for two'.

I will again robustly defend the weekend supplement for Saturdays; very few weekends are available to B&B guests, as they are mostly retained (and booked long in advance) for Weddings and major events. In view of the very modest and competitive price of the Voucher deals that have been running, we feel that we are entirely justified in charging a small premium for peak demand.

Saying breakfast is 'basic' seems a relative term and you the reader can judge. We provide for the (inclusive) Continental option cereals, toast, hot croissants, teas, coffee, fresh fruit and yoghurts, For a small additional charge (£2.50 - £5) we provide 'full English' to 'scrambled egg on toast'. We could (and may) provide a more 'de luxe' breakfast BUT this would incur a greater charge as it barely breaks even as it is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Had two nights at this accomodation which was wonderful. The room was quaint, clean and a good size with onsuite. Lovely just to walk around the grounds and the free tour of the castle was a bonus. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fine, too. Would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room six which was good but you need to go up stairs to get to it. Lovely view in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickleigh
4.1 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tiverton
375 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,293 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherman's Cot
The Fisherman's Cot
#1 of 4 in Bickleigh
404 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#1 of 4 in Witheridge
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bickleigh Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bickleigh Castle

Property: Bickleigh Castle
Address: Bickleigh, Bickleigh EX16 8RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bickleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bickleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bickleigh Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bickleigh Castle Romance and History in Union.Situated on the Devon and Somerset border, in rolling countryside within its 30 acre Estate, it’s hard to believe it is just minutes away from Junction 27 and Tiverton Parkway train station.Bickleigh Castle is not only a gorgeous Devon wedding venue, it also caters for conferences and seminars and offers Bed and Breakfast accommodation throughout the year in its romantic buildings and traditional, thatched cottages.This fabulous wedding Castle also offers exclusive use for a get together with friends and family, birthday parties, private dining, anniversaries, retirement parties or reunions. Bickleigh Castle offers you the unique and magical experience of living with your guests in a 11th Century castle.Enter through the 17th Century, Italian wrought Iron Gates to discover the romantic and fascinating history that abounds in this magnificent 11th Century Castle and it's Estate, through which the River Exe also winds its way.Within the moated grounds, Bickleighs’ 6th Century Chapel stands today as it did all those years ago, probably the oldest building in the County and where, our married couples receive their blessing.This listed Grade One Castle exudes a rich and intimate atmosphere with its history echoed in its wonderful romantic heritage, regal Great Hall and elegant Tudor Bridal Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bickleigh Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bickleigh Castle Hotel Bickleigh
Bickleigh Castle Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing