We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Devon's Secret Bay...Keep this to yourself but there's a speaceful holiday park, in a quiet corner of Devon, set right on the edge of a glorious, sheltered beach. It's a perfect coastal retreat with blue seas to paddle in, rugged paths to explore, tiny villages to discover and wonderful views across to historic Burgh Island. Even the name's a delight... Challaborogh Bay.* A quiet, friendly park by a secluded beach * Golden sands and a great surf school * Rugged walks along the South West Coastal Path * An Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty * Perfect base for exploring the heritage coastline
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Have just returned from a week stay at this Parkdean resort... We stayed in a 8 berth caravan Coromont, which was very clean, comfortable beds and clean linen, which we paid extra for and also had a washing machine, iron and board and outside small decking area. The site itself is small and friendly, with very close excess to a small beach which looks across to Burgh Island. The costal walk is slightly hilly, but well worth the walk around to Bigbury on Sea and when the tide is out you can walk across to Burgh Island for a drink in the 1336 built pub called the Pilchard Inn. The site has no wifi, if O2 you can walk to the shop onsite and you are able to get, reception on the mobile, which I did find not having the phone was a godsend. The onsite faciities were good, with very clean and not very busy pool, small, but very well equipt food, wine and gifts. The takeaway shop, served fish and chips, pizza and pies, and the enterntainment was just ok, although only used twice.
The drive in and out of the park was thru single lanes, but did have a few passing place to nip in and out off for oncomming traffic which can takes about 15 minutes to get onto the main road.. |All in all I was very pleased with our stay and give it a Excellect review, helped by the gorgeous weather we had.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JudeP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    114
    49
    20
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday park”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here recently on a Sun promotion holiday and was pleasantly surprised. The site itself is in a great location, right on the beach and only a short walk over the cliff to Bigbury on Sea where there is an even nicer beach. Dartmouth, Salcombe and Plymouth are all within easy drivable distance from the park and are great locations for days out. Kingsbridge is also very nearby and has a tesco and morrisons. There is also a small convenience shop on the holiday park which has everything you may need and fairly reasonable prices (what you would expect from a corner type shop).
The park has a lovely swimming pool which was very clean and was never very busy. Also on site is a pub which has great sea views and reasonably priced tasty food. The only negative about this park was the evening entertainment, which left a lot to be desired.
The caravan itself was fabulous. It was a Tern 3 bed, in an excellent location very close to the front of the park. It was very clean and had everything you might need. Overall we had a wonderful holiday and I would recommend this holiday park to anyone looking for a relaxed holiday in Devon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyGirl235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Superb location”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a very enjoyable 5 day break at this site, admitted helped by some very good weather. It is quite remote, so a car is essential, although once there it has a good beach and there is some excellent walking on the SW coastal path, so you don't need to drive somewhere every day. It's 1/2 hour or less to most of the larger towns in the South Hams, such as Totnes, Dartmouth, Salcombe and Kingsbridge and about 40 minutes to Plymouth. Our caravan was very well appointed and the site in general was very clean and tidy. Not long after arriving, someone came to our caravan to make sure everything was ok - a nice touch. We used the restaurant a couple of times and found the food adequate, although some of the young staff seemed quite inexperienced. There is also a decent size swimming pool with spa and sauna and a fairly well appointed gym.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 446MikeE446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location but site needs a bit of TLC”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have just returned from a Sun holiday at Challaborough. We initially decided against an upgrade as it was expensive, but a last minute special offer from Parkdean resulted in us being allocated a brand new caravan, which was absolutely fabulous!

I'd read previous reviews so knew about the narrow lanes to the site. However, as someone who hates country lanes, I actually didn't find the lanes that bad! I followed the directions on their website rather than following the sat nav so I think that helped. I was also aware of the lack of mobile signal in advance, but was happy just using the free wifi in the entertainment area. However, if you are surgically attached to your phone, then this probably isn't the site for you!

The beach is lovely and easily accessible. It is also literally yards from the restaurant/bar so easy access to toilets and refreshments. The food in the Waterfront restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. However, when ordering pizzas from the takeaway it was rather reminiscent of the "Two Soups" sketch with Julie Walters! The lady serving was lovely, but wasn't very fast and was a bit unsteady in transferring the pizza from the oven to the box!

The only down side in my opinion is that the site is rather "tired" in appearance, which is why I have marked it down slightly. With a bit of investment and effort to upgrade the facilities, this really would be a fabulous site, but even as it is I would be happy to return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A secret gem”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed here with my family at Easter this year and we all had a wonderful time! We chose this caravan park because my husband had to work in plymouth and he could then commute from here every day and i am so glad we did. We have stayed in all the Parkdean sites in Cornwall but i was surprised at just how much we enjoyed this one. On arrival our beds were made (which is a real treat when there's 6 of you), and we were able to get in our caravan early, we were a minutes walk from the beach and you could see and hear the sea from our caravan! Luckily the weather was stunning and we were able to take long coastal walks every morning, sit on the beach all afternoon and then swim in pool before tea. The caravan was immaculatley clean and everyone was very friendly and welcoming. The whole area is a like a secret gem! This part of south devon seemed quite forgotten, none of the crowds that you get in north cornwall. The two nearest villages, Ringmore and Kingston are beautiful and they both have lovely pubs, serving great food. Our week here was a real tonic and we'll definitely be back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank river-gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park also viewed

 
Bigbury-on-Sea, Devon
Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing