We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Henley Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bigbury-on-Sea
See available hotels
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Burgh Island Hotel(Burgh Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Thurlestone Hotel(Thurlestone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lantern Lodge(Hope Cove)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cottage Hotel(Hope Cove)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hazelwood House(Loddiswell)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soar Mill Cove Hotel(Malborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
85
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelburgh islandblack labradorhome from homehotel enjoysbay viewother guestsa wonderful place to stayfamily run hotelcooked to perfectionsitting roomensuite bathroomthree nightsfull englishsea tractorpilchard innpetra
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We just had a long weekend here and the rooms were very comfortable, food was really really excellent and the hotel is in a fantastic coastal location with stunning views.

The hosts, Pietra and Martin looked after us extremly well and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Do yourself a favour and stop here and eat here when in Devon

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobB7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We returned to stay in this delightful hotel after several years and couldn't think why we had waited so long. The ambience, service, food and comfort offered at the Henley is first class. If you are looking for a peaceful break in beautiful surroundings then this is the place to stay. The food is perfectly prepared and clearly of the highest quality. We definitely will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room number 2 is worth the extra cost, it's double aspect including a sea view, and very spacious.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Have been to The Henley Hotel at Bigbury-on-Sea many times and each time it gets better. Martyn is a fantastic chef and his lovely wife, Petra works hard at making guests enjoy their stay. The bedrooms are beautiful and clean and all have fantastic views over the sea and River Avon. Couldn't ask for a better place to relax (once you have walked down the steps to the private beach you need to relax!) Can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

After a very hectic and stressful summer, it was wonderful to return to the Henley Hotel and be enveloped in the warm, friendly atmosphere. Everything was as wonderful as ever. The rooms are comfortable and always spotelessly clean. The food was excellent - breakfast, sat watching the kite surfers in the estuary below is a real treat. Despite this being the end of October, we were lucky with some fine weather and walking on Bigbury beach blew the cobwebs away and ensured that we will be back again and again to this special place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very good.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This was our first return for over 15 years to Bigbury on sea having stayed at Burgh Island previously & we could not understand why we had left it so long. The Henley is a real gem of a place.
Beautiful interior, superb views, great walking from the front door & super food! What more can we say...the bedrooms were great with everything you want & some lovely touches.
Martyn is a very good chef, his food was excellent & full of flavour & Petra is very welcoming, both making you feel at home.
They run a very good hotel and it's not to be missed if you want a relaxing and enjoyable break in a beautiful part of the country. Thank you both!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews