We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, relaxing stay”
Review of Henley Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bigbury-on-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Henley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bigbury-on-Sea
London
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely, relaxing stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Henley for two nights, Friday and Saturday, but wished we had stayed longer.
We arrived quite late and were met with a very warm welcome and shown to our room. Petra could tell we were pretty tired, so quickly explained what was what and left us in peace. The views from our room 6 were amazing and we very quickly relaxed and had a great night's sleep in the very comfortable bed.
Everything in the room was really good quality, lovely bath towels, robes and bath products and great quality bedding, which always makes my weekend! So clean too, which also very important to us.
Breakfast on both mornings was lovely. A good amount of choice, huge full English, fresh juices and great toast. Really good quality ingredients.
We walked along the cliff path to Ringmore, which is a lovely little village. The scenery is breathtaking.
We had a reservation at the Oyster Shack, which was really, really good. I have reviewed it separately. When we return to the Henley, which we most definitely will, we will have dinner at the hotel, as I'm sure that would be pretty amazing.
To sum up, we had a fantastic weekend at The Henley, a very we'll run relaxing and family orientated hotel, and will be recommending it to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Room 6 was very comfortable with fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HawaiivisitorLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We've just returned from spending three nights at the Henley Hotel. The hotel is exactly as described by other reviewers: peaceful, relaxing and comfortable with excellent hosts and a very friendly dog called Caspar.

The breakfast was probably the best breakfast we've had in this country - couldn't fault it. Unfortunately we didn't get to sample the evening meals as we hadn't booked far enough in advance. We had two meals at the Bay View Café down by the sea which were really good; the café looks out towards Burgh Island so great views. It does get busy in the evenings so best to book a table in advance if you can. We also went to Fryer Tucks at Challaborough (the next bay along - a short walk away) where Brummie Steve did us proud!

One tip worth mentioning is: Be wary of using your sat nav in that part of the country! We went via Dartmoor and relied on the sat nav to direct us to Bigbury-on-Sea - big mistake! We were taken down some extremely narrow lanes, some with grass in the middle, and the car's sensors were going nuts as the hedgerows were so close in places! I was very relieved to arrive at the hotel without mishap!

We were allocated Room 6 which had three windows; two looking towards Burgh Island and one towards the estuary. Binoculars are provided in bedrooms and lounges which are great for watching the boats going past and the stand-up paddlers. Leaflets and maps of the area are also available.

There is a steep path down to the beach through the garden - you need to be fairly fit to tackle it ... and a head for heights helps!! We only did it once but I'm sure it seems less challenging the more often you do it!

All in all, the Henley is an excellent hotel and I'm so glad I found it - thanks to Google! If you like home comforts along with peace, quiet and exceptional service, book the Henley - you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Room 6 had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaldivianAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

On arrival, we were greeted by our host Petra and her friendly black Labrador Caspar. We were immediately made to feel at home and treated to tea and cake in the hotel garden at a cliff-side table with magnificent views of the bay and coastline. Our room was spacious and well presented, with a large comfortable double bed and had fantastic views. We also had a large bathroom which had a combined bath/shower, plenty of hot water and fluffy towels and bathrobes. Pre-dinner drinks were taken in the lounge where Petra, who was really good company, recited the daily changing menu. The lounge had various nooks and crannies, most with great views of the sea. In the lounge there is a large selection of books and magazines and a nice wood-burning fire to keep you warm. Dinner was taken in the comfortable, airy conservatory, with all tables having magnificent views. Petra’s service was friendly and excellent at all times; we were made to feel at home. Martyn, Petra’s husband is the chef; evening meals were imaginative, tasty, perfectly cooked and seasoned and portion sizes were good; wine was reasonably priced. Examples of the choices included wild mushroom soup, fishcakes or crab tian to start, followed by pan-fried John Dory with prawns and asparagus, monkfish with prawns or fillet steak with peppercorn sauce. Breakfast was very good – all you would expect from a good hotel and more, such as porridge with malt whiskey, muscovado sugar and cream. We would certainly recommend this great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent service and delicious food, together with the stunning views, make this a very special place to stay. Petra, Martyn and Casper the Labrador made us very welcome. The surrounding area is perfect for walking and the comfy lounge with the wood burning stove was a great place to relax at the end of the day and take in the views.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HampshireLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillhead
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Have just celebrated my 50th birthday at the Henley and it certainly ticked all the boxes. Petra and Martyn are fabulous hosts who can't do enough for their guests. The food is fresh, locally sourced and absolutely delicious! The photos on the website of the rooms don't do them justice and would have put me off had I not read all the reviews but our room was totally delightful - lovely bedding, bathrobes, products and a view to die for!!!!
From the moment you walk into the Henley you feel relaxed and at home -there's no pretence or stuffiness, it's just a pure delight!
Thank-you so much for everything,
Fi and Russ

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MizzyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salernes
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Henley Hotel is beautifully located with a stunning view of the bay. The owners are a lovely couple, very warm and welcoming. The food was superb, freshly cooked. The menu offers the choice of two starters and two main courses. The crab tart was one of our choice and it was utterly glorious. Our room was very cosy and comfy, overlooking both the bay and Burgh island. Both ours dogs were made veey welcome too. We will definitely go there again as it has been a magical three days.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strato83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have just spent 3 days at this lovely little hotel. Despite being the very end of their season, Martin & Petra were delightful hosts, the food was delicious, our bedroom was really comfy and spacious with really nice bathroom. The views are amazing and the walking fantastic, if a bit steep over the cliffs! Our large, bouncy Labrador was made particularly welcome! A real find and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We had the end room (I think no.6) with fantastic views on 2 sides - over to Burgh Island and over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bigbury-on-Sea
6.2 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
594 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
774 reviews
6.1 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
854 reviews
5.4 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henley Hotel

Property: Henley Hotel
Address: Folly Hill, Bigbury-on-Sea TQ7 4AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bigbury-on-Sea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bigbury-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Henley Hotel Bigbury-On-Sea, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing