We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home”
Review of Summer Winds B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bigbury-on-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Summer Winds B&B
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“home from home”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Kim and Tony made us feel like old friends instead of paying guests. Nothing was too much trouble,and attention to detail was very evident. To sit in the dining room overlooking Bigbury Bay and Burgh Island whilst eating a delicious full English breakfast was the perfect way to start any day.
We had two rooms, one on the ground floor, which was perfect for two of our party who had walking difficulties. We had the room on the first floor, which was spacious, although we needed to be bit careful of the sloping ceiling. It was lovely and light, bright and clean, tea, coffee and biscuits and iced water in the fridge were a nice touch. The bed, if anything was a little too comfortable, really hard to get up in the morning!!! En suite was large and newly decorated, plenty of hot water. Really can't recommend Summer Winds highly enough.

Room Tip: Ground floor room available for those with mobility problems. First floor room sloping ceiling, need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

After a hot days walking the coastal path, this was a very welcome respite. Tony and Kim were excellent hosts, and welcomed us with chilled water, which was much appreciated. Spacious, clean rooms, and a great view from the breakfast room of the bay and Burgh Island. We ate in the cafe 3 mins along Marina Drive, then collapsed and slept like logs. Wish all B&Bs were like this, best wishes for future business.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisfsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury,UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We did not blow in on Summer winds but very strong, cold and wet ones. We were walking the S.W.C.P. and had walked all day in the rain and had waded the Erme so we were very wet, muddy and bedraggled by the time we arrived. We were so well looked after by Tony at Summer winds that we were soon warm and dry with our gear drying out on the rack and a table booked for supper at the nearby cafe. Spacious, clean modern room and bathroom.Very helpful friendly hosts. After a good breakfast with fresh fruit we were well set up for the next day's walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coupleofwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Newcastle, NSW
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here for a night during our South West Coast Path trek. The hosts were a really lovely & friendly couple and extremely helpful! A lovely home and our room was really terrific - very large, spacious, airy and modern with a very large ensuite with a full bath. The hosts offered to drive us the mile or so to the hotel for dinner, but we declined and chose to walk. Next morning the breakfast was truly delicious. As it was a Sunday, the ferry wasn't working, so our host drove us to the start of that day's walk, which was very much appreciated - very kind people. We had a wonderful day and would definitely recommend this B & B, but when you book the room, you should ask the hosts to reserve you a table at the nearby cafe for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mojito12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

One of the nicest B&Bs I've stayed in while walking the South West Coast Path. I had a spacious en-suite room (though mine was without a view), and excellent breakfast. Right on the sea front. Very friendly and helpful. Have stayed here twice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSG40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Kim & her husband run a beautiful, clean, comfortable B & B right on the sea front at Bigbury with views of Burgh Island (of Agatha Christie/Poirot fame). They were very accomodating, helpful and knowledgable about the area and certainly went the extra mile! The breakfast was plentiful and good, which set us up for the next section off our walk. We were a party of four who arrived weary and late one summer evening and were well looked after, we all thought that it was a special place to stay and would all happily return if we were in the area again. There is car parking space for those not attempting the coastal path, and would be an ideal place to explore the area (which is outstandingly beautiful) by car.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sally-Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bigbury-on-Sea
1.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
549 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
164 reviews
6.6 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
755 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Winds B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Winds B&B

Property: Summer Winds B&B
Address: Summerwinds Marine Drive, Bigbury-on-Sea TQ7 4AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bigbury-on-Sea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bigbury-on-Sea
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Summer Winds B&B Bigbury-On-Sea, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing