We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect house in perfect setting!”
other travellers have booked this property
Challaborough Beach safe and sandy for surfers, swimmers, boogie boarders
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Challaborough Beach safe and sandy for surfers, swimmers, boogie boarders
dining room with lounge in background view of kitchen from lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Challaborough Beach safe and sandy for surfers, swimmers, boogie boarders
dining room with lounge in background
view of kitchen from lounge
large fully equipped kitchen
gorgeous master bedroom
twin room A
twin room B
lounge
lounge looking in the other direction
ensuite. Family bathroom is exactly the same style but has a bath with a shower inside it
double bedroom. Room also has a large wardrobe
patio dining
sea tractor to the Pilchard Inn on Burgh island (5-10min walk)
Burgh Island with tide out
afternoon tea in the lounge
cgi of exterior
Christmas dinner!
New island in the kitchen
master bedroom
master bedroom with ensuite
double bedroom. Bed can also be day-bed as shown
family bathroom. bath and shower combined
twin room a
view from
sunset on coastal path - 5 mins walk from house
view of house from front - road has been finished since photo taken
hallway
lounge
dining room and kitchen
dining room and kitchen
bookcases at top of stairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bigbury-on-Sea, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paulina83...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect house in perfect setting!”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The house is simply beautiful and located within a very short walk to the beach. Good food in a nearby pub/bar with a very friendly staff. There is a small local shop close by with everything you need. Gorgeous views around and plenty of walks to explore. We have visited Challaborough with a group of five adults, one child and two dogs - our short stay was fantastic! We definitely want to come back and try surfing :)
The house is amazing, with a big terrace where you can enjoy peaceful evenings listening to the sounds of the sea. Overall, we've had a wonderful time and regret it was only for two nights. Hopefully next time will be longer :)

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thank you Paulina - I'm so pleased you had such a wonderful stay. Thank you for taking such good care of our home, you are welcome back any time to try the surfing!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Beach Break”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful house. The photos don't quite capture how lovely this house is. It is airy, light and delightfully decorated.
You can smell the sea from the patio and have less than a minutes walk to a wonderful beach that we rented body-boards at and tucked into fish and chips.
Just a 10 minute walk around the headland to bigbury.
There is everything you could possibly want to have a truly relaxing and luxurious break.
Only downside if not being able to park outside the house. But you can park for a whole weekend for 10 pound so not too much of a problem.
Definitely a winner!
Thank you.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thank you Daniela. It was a pleasure to host such appreciative guests! Hopefully parking problem will be sorted soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiyne88
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dream beach house”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic property! Very clean and tidy. Equipped with everything you need and it's just a short distance away from the local beach, pub and chip shop. Everyone we encountered were so friendly. In a short distance you can walk over to the next beach and catch some amazing scenery. Food from the chippy and pub were good but would advise if you are there over the weekend and want to try the carvery at the pub to book in advance.

Sandra has been so helpful and friendly. Couldn't have asked for anything more.

My family and I really enjoyed our stay and may even venture back there again some day soon. I have been spreading the word to all of my friends!

Thank you for having us stay in you beautiful home!
Boyle's & Brennan's

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Taiyne and her group will be welcome any time. They have been great guests. Friendly and communicative and the property was left in great condition. I'm so pleased you had a fabulous time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinters
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful home in excellent location.”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The property is in an enviable position in close proximity to the beach.
The house itself is well equipped, practical and is a beautiful home, which I believe the photos do not do justice on the site. It feels well loved and is a lovely place to visit.
We had several friends a couple of young children in our party, the house was safe and child friendly.
Excellent home and would recommend to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the property itself.
Liked least: Difficulty loading and unloading, but I believe access will be better in the future.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Thanks so much. I've since updated the photos to try and show the house off a bit more! You guys were such lovely, appreciative guests. You know you'll be welcome back any time to explore the area further.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing