We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning beach house in fantastic location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bigbury-on-Sea, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Diane L
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning beach house in fantastic location!”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

From the moment we arrived at this wonderful beach house, we were so impressed. The layout and decor took our breath away. We normally stay in the apartments that overlook Bigbury beach and Burgh Island and I was slightly apprehensive as I knew this beach house did not have a direct view of the beach, however, we found the sheer size of the house and the beautiful, modern layout of the house by far outshone any of the small apartments we have stayed in on Bigbury beach. We will be back.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and for being such lovely guests - I'm so pleased you had a great stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann K
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend family break”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a great weekend break , the family together , lots of family fun and plenty of sunshine . The house is beautiful , well equipped and comfortable . Beautiful decoration. The only downside was there had been a power cut before our arrival , no hot water and unable to get hold of the owner . A neighbour kindly helped , owner had gone on holiday and no contact numbers available .

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anna g
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful beach house”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Located in Challaborough, this beautiful beach house offered warmth in the winter month of February and had everything we needed. Superbly furnished, it was a short distance from the beach where we dipped our toes (with our wellies) into the sea. A 15-20 minute walk over the headland took us to the beautiful beach at Bigbury and Burgh Island. Great for surfing, body boarding and paddle boarding- we watched! Great base to visit other neighbouring towns to: Salcombe, Kingsbridge etc. We'll visit again! Thank you Sandra.

Date of stay: February 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
Thank you for such lovely feedback Anna! So pleased you had a great weekend - you're certainly welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iwantmysa...
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good property- shame about the view”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is a modern property with good facilities and accommodation. It is "upside down" in layout with the large kitchen/dining/sitting room on the top floor to make use of the view. Had been looking forward to sea views with the advertised location so close to the beach. It is a short walk to the beach, but the view is of ....... a caravan park. There is a hill opposite with some sheep visible and the coastal path is nearby for walks, but the full height picture windows give a good view of the caravan park so would suit those who wish to observe other people at play or leisure, but not the most restful of prospects as the evening entertainment in the caravan park finishes around 10:30pm and people will migrate back to their caravans after that.
Advertised as dog friendly, but there is no division between the steep green patch at the back and another family objected to our dog straying onto "their" patch of this green. Good walks for the dog, but not allowed on the local Challaborogh beach from 1st May to 30th September inclusive so had to go over the hill to neighbouring Bigbury -on Sea which has an area where dogs are allowed. On the plus side there are lifeguards at the beaches in season at both Challaborough and Bigbury and the surf is better at Challaborough.
The biggest drawback to this property is that it is on a building site currently and access is limited as a consequence. More of the same type of houses are being built and although there is a driveway that can accommodate more than one car we were told that any more than one had to be parked at the caravan park site (at extra expense). It was a pain when going out in separate parties as to who would have the keys with access to the building site gate. This problem will not exist when the other houses are finished and the road made up and surfaced.
If the weather is kind, there are places to enjoy it at the property with an outside terrace off the kitchen and flat roof has artificial turf and would be suitable for sunbathing (although no suitable furniture there when we visited). This is the only part of the property where a glimpse of the sea can be had when standing in the corner.
Not suitable for anyone with joint problems or poor mobility as stairs (quite steep) only access from bedrooms to living area and external metal stairs to the roof.
We did try and watch a DVD on the player, but it did not have any instructions and upon contacting the owner we were still unable to fast forward, pause or rewind even after replacing the batteries in remote control.

Date of stay: September 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2017
Thank you for the 4 star review. I trust that giving such a high rating, your issues didn't spoil your enjoyment of the weekend, however, I think the issues need to be resolved.
I will address each in turn.
These are new houses on a very new site and the landscaping will take many years to mature at which point the trees will obsure the caravan site view. We have had to be careful with what we have planted to ensure it fits well into the environment. We do have full length blinds on all the main windows with the caravan view .
We have advertised as dog friendly as we are allowing pet lovers to visit but few beaches in the uk accept dogs in peak season and we need to respect our neighbours' space too. Yes dogs can be brought to the house it's not unreasonable to have the dog on the lead. I have updated my house rules to specify this so that guests know more what to expect.
Actually house rules are for 2 cars on site. Fee for another car is £10 for a weekend, £20 for a week. This is a reasonable charge and stated clearly.
Our roof terrace has now been decked. As I specify, the roof deck is not developed. Access is possible but we will take our time over the design of the furniture etc.
The DVD player will be removed the next time I am at the house. I don't believe it's mentioned as a facility. I will update accordingly if it is.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole ambience of the property
Liked least: there was nothing i disliked
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maisymay1
1 review
“Highly recommended to relax in beauty home & location.”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Thanks to Sandra & family for a perfect place to explore a beautiful coastline. The property is spacious, well equipped & gorgeous interior. Hope to visit again as could not fault to property, service & location.

Date of stay: September 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmal0uis...
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal location - beautiful holiday home”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

6x adults 2x children and our four legged friend had a wonderful stay here. The house, facilities and location were absolutely perfect and as a lovely sign inside says memories really are made at the beach. Highly recommended and would definitely come back.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.