We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very classy place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brookfield

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braunton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Brookfield
Ranked #3 of 43 Braunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very classy place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here when walking the South West Coast Path. It was very convenient for that and has a quiet location. I had never heard of Braunton before but it turned out to be a lovely place with lots of good places to eat and some handy shops. This house is a fairly grand one beautifully restored with some beautiful old and new features. Excellent bathroom and great quality breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
98
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We had a recommendation for this B&B from Julie's dad in our local pub! So we thought we'd give it a try when we were visiting north Devon. So glad we did! Took a bit to find it as satnav kept trying to send us via dead ends or one way streets the wrong way! Fantastic place. Parking off road in front of house. Beautiful room. Comfortable bed. Very nice en suite with toiletries provided. Breakfast wonderful - fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals, fruit juices, nicely cooked hot breakfast, toast etc. You can have the use of the conservatory and peaceful garden. Short walk to local pubs and some very nice restaurants. Free WiFi. Would most definitely stay here again. Excellent value for money and very welcoming hosts!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
436 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed here for one night while walking the South West Coast Path. Walked from Minehead to Bude in 10 days and stayed at 11 B& B,'s & hotels, The Brookfield one of the best. Comfortable room, excellent breakfast with good service. House tastefully decorated. Good recommendation from owner for evening meal at Squires Fish Restaurant nearby. Would recommend to anyone doing the South West Coast Path and more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Arrived for 3 night stay with 2 friends to play some golf in the area and received a very friendly welcome. The Brookfield is in an ideal location for all that Braunton offers. There is car parking just outside the front door. Our room was very quiet - comfortable and the shower excellent. The star of the show is the breakfast, perfect sustenance for the days golf we had to learn to leave room for it the night before. Our hosts ensured that at all times we were all well looked after. Their recommendations of where to eat and drink were spot on. Our one regret is that we were unable to take any advantage of their tips on how to play Saunton Sands East & West course which proved to be a true test of our game. It has been a long time since I visited Devon but I have found some good reasons to return soon.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor with 3 single beds, an ideal way to control the costs of your visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We booked The Brrokfield as a last minute getaway on the strength of its tripadvisor reviews and were certainly not disappointed. We booked a standard twin room which was quite large and obviously fairly recently decorated. The beds were quite new and fairly firm with good linen. Tea/coffee making facilities are provided as are biscuits. The shower room was compact but well fitted out. We had a few problems with the tv but that was due to the hot weather.

The breakfasts are wonderful with local produce used wherever possible. My partner loved the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and I thought my full english was excellent. I had to cut down after a couple of days though, as there was just too much food! We had a take away one evening and sat in the conservatory to eat it which was very pleasant.

Julie and Chris are a great team and really go out of their way to make everyone feel special. They deserve to make a success of The Brrokfield and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere a bit special to stay in North Devon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikebrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

From the moment you step through the door the service was excellent. We had a super kingsize bed and the room was huge. The ensuite bathroom was also very big with a bath and a separate shower. The actual shower was so powerful it was lovely after a hot day down the beach. The Brookfield is just far enough away from the main streets to ensure a good nights sleep. The breakfast each morning was amazing with everything and everyone catered for. My better half can't eat dairy or wheat and they bought in especially soya milk for her to use. I also liked the fact the free wifi was very very fast which ensured I was happy.
I will be returning again next year as we have family down here and the Brookfield was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

After receiving a 2night stay as a gift, we very much looked forward to our stay at The Brookfield.

The welcome, was very friendly and genuine. Nothing was too much trouble for either, Chris nor Julie.

The room was luxurious, spacious and beautifully presented. The bed was extremely comfortable.

We could use the conservatory as and when, as well as relax in the beautiful garden. And we particularly liked the idea of a fridge in the conservatory for communal use. Or being able to take back a take away etc..

The breakfast was FANTASTIC! Good, proper food, and all locally sourced, and plenty of it! Set you up for the day.

The location of The Brookfield was perfect, a gentle stroll to the shops, restaurants or pubs. And basically right on the Tarka Trail.

The only down side, was coming home! If you are looking for a North Devon break, look no further... This really is a slice of heaven.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Volksy0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
2.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
4.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George inn
The George inn
#11 of 43 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.5 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brookfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brookfield

Property: The Brookfield
Address: South Street, Braunton EX33 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Braunton
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside our beautiful Georgian property (built in 1798), and you move straight into the 21st century. Our boutique inspired bed and breakfast is furnished in contemporary style from top to bottom, whilst retaining many of the original Georgian features. All guest rooms are ensuite, standard rooms have hi-power showers only, deluxe rooms have baths as well as hi-power showers. Deluxe double rooms have SuperKingsize beds. The conservatory is available for guests to use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Brookfield Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing