We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant again”
Review of Saunton Sands Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braunton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saunton Sands Farm
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just returned from our third holiday and once again had a brilliant experience. We stayed in Heron cottage and made use of the hot tub in addition to the communal swimming pool,games room and picturesque fishing lake.

Fishing was excellent with a number of double figure fish taken up to just under 16lb any my daughter catching her best ever Carp at 9lb 4oz.

The weather was superb but the beauty of Willowfield is that even when it is not you will still have plenty to do and enjoy.

Stephen and Ella once again were brilliant hosts with nothing too much trouble, they really make you feel welcome.

We are booked in for visits 4 and 5 in October half term and August next year and don't expect them to be our last as we don't think you can find better.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just returned from another fantastic holiday at 'The Mallard' cottage at Willowfield. Every year seems to just get better and better. Both Ella and Stephen are lovely hosts and nothing is to much trouble for them to make your holiday so special. The cottages are exceptionally clean and of a very high standard. The fishing lakes are beautiful and such a stunning place to spend the days fishing. Along with the lovely swimming pool, games room and children's play areas you really cannot find a better place for a calm and relaxing holiday. Already booked again for next year!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Clare304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed a week during the Easter Holidays and we had one of the most relaxing weeks away that we can remember. The location is unique - just moments from Braunton Burrows and onwards to Saunton Sands - a walk through the dunes to the beach is a must!

The facilities on site are excellent, especially geared towards families. The pool is lovely and warm with inflatables for the children, and we had the pool to ourselves most of the time. One of the lighlights for us was the animal feeding each morning. Stephen was very informative and friendly on these little walks around the site and our children loved seeing if the hens had laid any eggs that day!

The accommodation was spot on for an easy-going, low key holiday. The cottage was well equipped and everything was clean and working. I would recommend this to anybody wanting to get away from it for a while and have a relaxing week away!

Room Tip: Some of the cottages have a private hot tub and dedicated wifi. Wifi in all the cottages would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveHolidays226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just returned from our 3rd visit, with our 2nd year in Moorhen. As our kids get older (now 9 and 6) this place gets better as they explore and play with their friends as well as enjoying the nearby beaches and cycle paths. As adults, we also enjoyed a lovely evening in Braunton, and the wifi is vastly improved this year... a mixed blessing!! A fabulous holiday...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EmmaB294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just spent a week in Robin cottage and had a wonderful time. The cottage was beautifully finished and immaculate on our arrival. Plus fresh scones laid out for us after a long journey - amazing. Kitchen was stocked full of equipment which was great for anyone wanting to cook on holiday.

The facilities were brilliant for our 20 month old. Outdoor equipment, swimming pool and play room packed with lovely, clean toys. Feeding the animals in the morning was a hit also.

Close to Saunton sands and Croyde beach its excellently located. A trip to Watermouth Castle recommended by Ella was great.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Willowfield lake cottages to anyone. Thank you very much for a lovely family holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have just come home from a fantastic week here. This time we stayed in kingfisher cottage which was clean, beautifully furnished and very comfortable. We were greeted warmly by Ella and Stephen and enjoyed our Cream tea when we arrived!

Our children, aged 7 and 3, loved the swimming pool, the games room and the outdoor play equipment. Our 3 yr old in particular loved feeding the animals each morning, and was so excited when it was her turn to get one of the freshly laid eggs! Our kids made friends with other children and enjoyed having the freedom to play safely outdoors. We had mainly good weather which was great, but the site is good regardless of the weather.

Croyde beach is nearby and we loved days out there. We had a great day out at Woolacombe as well and also at the Big Sheep (look out for a voucher as it is quite pricey but a brilliant day out for the kids). We enjoyed meals out in Barnstaple, and also at the Williams Arms and the a Manor in Croyde.

We can't find any fault at all with this place - we felt totally relaxed within minutes of arriving, and really did not want to leave. I would personally recommend Mallard Cottage, it has a private patio and hot tub (some of others have hot tubs too!) and we plan to book it next time, but all the cottages are lovely!

Thanks again Stephen and Ella - we will see you again soon hopefully!

Room Tip: Try and get a cottage with a private hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We've been to the Croyde/Woolacombe area on many occasions over the years, but discovered Willowfield Lake on this site a few months ago. We saw the reviews and thought it would be a good place for my wife and I and our two kids (4 and 2) to stay in the first two weeks of June. It's safe to say we were not disappointed, we had a great two weeks with some really good weather. I have to say though our holliday was made better by Stephen and Ellla made us very welcome on our arrival and were great throughout our stay, they even put us in touch with a great babysitter so we could have a night out. The kids really enjoyed feeding the animals throughout our time there and gathered quite a supply of eggs! The facilities for the kids are really excellent, the play room was a real benefit as was the play area and pool. We made numerous trips to local beaches and other places, but actually spent three days 'on site' as the kids were just happy to play and run around in a really safe environment. We stayed in Magpie cottage, but the kids 'invaded' others as they made a number of friends during our stay; the cottages are compact (as most are) but are really clean, very well presented and the dishwasher was particularly useful. It's an ideal place for couples and families with young kids and I'd recommend it to anyone. We came across a number of people who were making return visits and we'll certainly be back as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Braunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
0.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,879 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Gallery Lodges
The Gallery Lodges
#10 of 18 in Braunton
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Combas Farm
Combas Farm
#1 of 21 in Croyde
154 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holmsleigh Bed & Breakfast Braunton
1.7 mi away
Incledon Farm
Incledon Farm
#11 of 18 in Braunton
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Farm

Address: Sandy Lane | Braunton Burrows, Braunton EX33 2NX, England (Formerly Willowfield Lake Cottages)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Braunton
Price Range: £240 - £980 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 cottages with warm indoor pool and large hot tub set in the beautiful naturally tranquil surrounds of Braunton Burrows Nature Reserve, with miles of stunning golden sands and surf close by at Saunton and Croyde. A wonderful place to enjoy the glorious countryside on bike along the famous Tarka Trail or in endless walks across the unspoilt burrows and dunes that lead down to the sea at Saunton Sands. Some cottages have hot tubs or whirlpool baths to help you relax and unwind after a long day on the beach. Open all year long for long or short breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Farm Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing