We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Chapel , Pickwell Manor.”
Review of Pickwell Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braunton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pickwell Manor
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Looking for a romantic getaway i stumbled across The Chapel, Pickwell Manor, snug two room down, one room up converted chapel, very functional ,tastefully decorated hideaway. kitchen fully equiped to meet all our needs , shower room big enough to share, up the ladder stairs to a cosy bedroom .Richard and Tracey were both very helpfull from booking through to being greeted with a bottle of bubbley to help celebrate our aniversary in style. Pickwell Manor and it's surrounding area are stunning and with lots of information provided by everyone at the Manor we were able to make the best of our time at the Chapel. will return without a doubt in the near future!!!

Room Tip: The Chapel is only big enough for two as it states , no sofa area to snuggle up on but the bed is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

Gorgeous building, gorgeous apartment, gorgeous views.......Such a well thought out and beautifully finished place! Richard, Tracey and their kids were so lovely and welcoming. We really did have a fab week. Playroom, tennis, croquet, treasure hunts, campfire, cream tea, and a stunning walk to the beach, and plenty more delights to discover. Just perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didgepugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Loved it, loved it, loved it! Everything about Pickwell is fantastic. We stayed in Constance, it was immaculate and very well designed with everything you can think of for a "home away from home". The house and grounds are beautiful. Richard was very helpful when enquiring and booking and Tracey was lovely, very accommodating and gave us a call when the apartment was ready on the day. What a lovely surprise to get some homemade fairy cakes and a bottle of wine on arrival :) We will definitely be back. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmineint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Just returned from our second holiday at Pickwell and hope to go back next year. Apartments are spotless, well appointed, bottle of wine and fairy cakes on arrival. Richard & Tracey helpful and friendly.

Playroom for the kids and cream teas for everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

It felt like we were entering a castle as we walked through the old wooden double doors for the first time. Inside there was a wide staircase with one of those large circular iron lights that looked like they used to have candles and people used to swing from with swords in films!
We were staying in "Affinity", one of the apartments. We could hardly believe the size of our bedroom, it had a bath on a plinth in the room and the windows were stone framed, further convincing us that we were staying in a castle. Pickwell Manor is owned by two families who really went out of their way to welcome us, there was a bottle of wine and some little homemade cakes waiting for us. It felt like they were welcoming friends rather than running a business. The grounds are extensive and they have a treasure hunt set up for the kids. There is map with numbered points that you have to find. It's a good way of discoverng all that there is to see.
There is a well equipped games room, a laundry room, a tennis court, a pirate island and much more. Some friends in Ilfracombe said to us "well I hope the weather gets a bit better for you this week" I thought to myself, "you haven't seen where we're staying, who needs weather?"

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We are friends of the owners of Pickwell and were delighted to have our wedding weekend at the manor on the 7th July. We had a pre wedding party on the Friday night and a wonderful wedding day on the Saturday. Steve and Susie were wonderful and the whole experience was fantastic. The guests were blown away at the setting and I decorated the ballromm with the help of my best friends. Nothing was too much trouble and we had a truly memorable stay. I would do it all again in a heart beat. If you are looking for a romantic, stunningly beautiful setting, then this is the place for a wedding or a dream holiday. xxxx

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My husband and I had our wedding at Pickwell Manor in May and words cannot describe how amazing the whole weekend was.

We fell in love with Pickwell as soon as we saw it and having been to see several other venues in Devon and beyond, nothing else compares. The Manor house is a fabulous building set amongst gorgeous grounds with stunning countryside and sea views. The owners have done a fabulous job renovating the whole place and the quality is second to none. The ballroom is a great room for the wedding meal and evening reception. It is full of character and charm and has a beautiful oak panelled floor – no ghastly coloured carpets or wall hangings that you find in some other venues! All the bedrooms are clean and comfy and decorated to a very high standard. Our favourites were Affinity and Bliss (the two larger apartments) which were very impressive. The new games room is also great and kept the kids entertained for hours!

Throughout the weekend, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful without ever being intrusive. Holly, our wedding co-ordinator was amazing. If we had any queries or concerns she was there to help and nothing was too much to ask. We were so busy on the morning of the wedding, she helped decorate the tables and even went around putting a flower in each of the 70 napkins! They really made it feel like a home from home – we didn’t want to leave!

The wedding itself was better than we could have ever hoped for. We were lucky enough to have the ceremony outside under the rose arbour. The birds were singing and the sun shining, it felt very peaceful and relaxed. Unlike many other wedding venues, Pickwell allows you to customise your day as much or little as you like – offering total flexibility and a completely personal feel.

We noticed that a previous review mentioned how wonderful the caterers (Lee and Kristina) were – we can’t agree more with what was said, they were absolutely fantastic. We had so many positive comments from our guests about the food and the fact they produced such an amazing wedding meal from their mobile marquee kitchen! It was perfectly presented and more importantly, absolutely delicious.

We would definitely recommend Pickwell Manor if you are looking for an unforgettable and unique wedding experience or for just a fabulous stay by the coast!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24Newlywed2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Braunton hotels
2.1 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,879 reviews
1.8 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
2.8 mi away
The Gallery Lodges
The Gallery Lodges
#10 of 18 in Braunton
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Combas Farm
Combas Farm
#1 of 21 in Croyde
154 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holmsleigh Bed & Breakfast Braunton
0.6 mi away
Incledon Farm
Incledon Farm
#12 of 18 in Braunton
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickwell Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickwell Manor

Address: Georgeham, Braunton EX33 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Braunton
Hotel Class:4 star — Pickwell Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Pickwell Manor Hotel Braunton
Pickwell Manor Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing