We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect wedding venue.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pickwell Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braunton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pickwell Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect wedding venue.”
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Intelligent, friendly staff in a beautiful, impressive building make this a perfect place to have your wedding. No commercial rip-offs, just great scenery & flexible catering / entertainment arrangements in a welcoming venue. The bride & groom truly personalised their wedding.
The accommodation was basic but clean, comfortable and perfectly acceptable. The communal areas were tastefully decorated and were ideal for partying into the small hours of the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HildaWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, England
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We had a really excellent week's stay - we were two large families gathering for a wedding at the end of the week. The rooms are wonderfully spacious, the views stunning and the facilities excellent. We also appreciated the relaxed attitude of the owners who made us feel really welcome and were always helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We have just returned tonight from Pickwell Manor and were VERY SAD to leave. Our appartment was superbly appointed, with not only lovely home furnishings, but an abundance of kitchen equipment, in house board games, lovely tele, tennis court, games room and spectacular views.I also viewed all of the other appartments which were of an equally high standard. The current owners were SO helpful with ANY queries. We will be back next year!!!!
THANKYOU PICKWELL TEAM

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryfdir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Stunning property, recently refurbished and tastefully furnished and decorated; a short distance from Putsborough Beach which is one of the most beautiful beaches in the world with fantastic surf on the incoming tide. Much more peaceful than being in nearby Croyde or Woolacombe and with gorgeous views. Yes please

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We stayed at Pickwell Manor over the Easter holidays, and have to say it's one of the most gorgeous places to stay. A beautiful 20 minute walk to the beach, but that's why we chose this (fairly remote) idyllic setting. If you want Blackpool entertainment then don't go to Pickwell - if you want peace, tranquillity and beauty, then this place is a must!

The house itself has a great feel to it. From what we saw all the apartments were clean and very well equipped, certainly within keeping of the beautiful period house. The grounds were exceptional, and the views are unbelievable.

All in all a perfect holiday to relax and enjoy - Definitely recommended, and definitely will go back again!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revd_Derek_Spencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2009

My partner and I held our wedding at Pickwell Manor recently for the entire weekend. We chose Pickwell because we were blown away by the stunning location as soon as we saw it. It is a rural location looking out to the sea, situated only 5 minutes drive from Croyde, but far enough to feel like you are miles from anyone.

From our initial visit the owners made us feel incredibly welcome. Their relaxed attitude and friendly nature made organising the wedding easy. They provided lots of information and kept us up to date with any changes and ideas that they had. They have a wedding licence for a stunning, hand crafted pagoda in the gardens, making it the most idyllic location to get married in as we did. It beat any registry office or hotel suite I have ever seen.

The interior of the house has been modernised since our initial visit in early 2008. The decor is very tasteful and in keeping with the age and beauty of the house. The wooden panelled ballroom is so typically English and an ideal room for dining in or getting married in. We stayed in the 2 person apartment and it was huge and so lovely having your own private balcony for breakfast. Most of the rooms in all the apartments were massive and suited all our guests perfectly.

The ages of the friends and family that stayed at Pickwell ranged from 3 weeks to 71yrs of age. The Manor was big enough to ensure that there were enough apartments and space to provide more lively areas for the younger members of the group and peace and quiet for the older family members.

On the morning of the wedding we all walked to the beach from Pickwell to play cricket. Its a picturesque walk down a steep hill that takes you to a gorgeous beach. You can drive down but the walk is too nice to miss. There is also a lovely pub in Georgeham that does superb food, you can drive there but its such a nice walk that took 25 minutes and they have a great range of ales and beers.
All of our friends and family that came to the wedding were blown away by the Manor. It is such a lovely place that we would happily go and stay at again.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
0.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,708 reviews
3.4 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
768 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
2.0 mi away
The Gallery Lodges
The Gallery Lodges
#10 of 17 in Braunton
8 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holmsleigh Bed & Breakfast
Holmsleigh Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 43 in Braunton
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickwell Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickwell Manor

Property: Pickwell Manor
Address: Georgeham, Braunton EX33 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Braunton
Hotel Class:4 star — Pickwell Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Pickwell Manor Hotel Braunton
Pickwell Manor Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing