We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good holiday for our large family & friends”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wurzelsmo...
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good holiday for our large family & friends”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed a Poyers Farmhouse at the end of August 2014.
On the whole our holiday was fantastic with a few minor let downs,
The farmhouse is situated in a quiet residential area, is in walking distance of a good pub & approximate 10 min walk from a supermarket. It well located to visit beaches, walks & there is a lot to do in the area if you wish.
The farmhouse is huge, all of the rooms with the exception of the living room are very large,we ended up spending a lot of our time socialising in the dining room as there was not enough room in the living room for everyone, this wasn't a problem as the dining room was well furnished & also had a TV should anyone wish to use it.
All of the bedrooms are of a very good size the photographs on the web site do not do them justice all of the rooms are larger than they look on the photos & are all furnished to a high standard..
The hot tub was great & everyone enjoyed using it.

The only downside we had was on arrival the very large dustbin at the front of the property was overflowing with grass cuttings at this time we did not realise that was the bin for this property, the next morning 4 black bags had appeared, I phone the number given to us by the letting agent they told us to put our bags out & they would arrange for a collection to be made.
The lady then visited & spoke to a family member, she said the bins would be emptied the next day, then she asked had we got any other problems we told her the internet was not working she said it need resetting the box is in the roof & she would have to come back to do it, sadly this did not get done so we had ended up paying extra for internet use & was unable to use it.
The other small gripe is the gates to the Garden as we had young children in the party it was a safety concern. There are 3 entrances to the garden 1 off the road, 1 off the driveway & 1 off the car parking area. The gate off the road is on a blind bend so we did not use it but the rought iron gate latch is broken therefore the gate was closed using a piece if string, the gate onto the drive again rought iron gate again the latch is broken & again was closed using string. The next entrance had no gate at all so was not very child friendly.
Although we had these minor glitches/ concerns it did not stop the family from having a good get together & a great holiday, would I go again yes most defiantly would I recommend it to other with out a doubt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the property & the hot tub
Liked least: Paid extra to use the internet but was unable to use it, made the housekeeper aware but nothing was done about it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice G
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage retreat”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just home from our stay at Poyers Farmhouse, and feel very relaxed and refreshed.
The area is really pleasant, and the holiday rental is easily accessed and easy to find.

We were a group of 9 plus a dog and found the farmhouse to be very comfortable. We all felt that if we were staying to full capacity at the house, we would have been cramped in the lounge and the bathrooms.

Having said that, it is a very well designed layout and is decorated to a high standard. You can see that care has been taken and it is a loved property by the owners, not just a money making scheme.

Personal touches were seen throughout and it was a warm, safe, and comfortable place to stay.

I would definitely recommend this farmhouse to other medium sized groups on a medium budget. It suited our needs perfectly and we were all very impressed and pleased with our choice.

Our feedback to the owners would be:
A gate at the rear of the property would make it more secure for children and dogs
The internet does not work
A few more mirrors in the bathrooms would be great
An option to add logs to the booking for the wood burners

Thank you for a lovely weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub!
Liked least: number of bathrooms/toilets
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanny_jam
sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another fantastic stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Another fanatic stay at Poyers Farmhouse with the whole family together.

The house is really lovely and the garden looks better now the plants are maturing.

Since staying previously the owners has added the garden furniture which I commented on in my last review.

Although not for me, the hot tube was loved by everybody else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owner has responded to previous comments and added garden furniture.
Liked least: 10 am departure time was difficult with such a large group.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous house for three big families, close to great beaches and cycle trail”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We loved it at Braunton Poyers Farmhouse. Stacks of space for three families with three kids per family, brilliant garden and play frame and bonus to have a hot tub.
We took bikes which was ideal since the Tarka Cycle Trail is just 100m from the house. Easy drives to surrounding beaches. Croyde was our favourite.
The one criticism of the house was that there aren't enough bathrooms for that many people!
Would definitely return though....and out of the many we have visited, this is the first holiday cottage I can say that about!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, space and price
Liked least: Lack of bathrooms, pretty poor mattresses
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElizaB B
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Period Property Perfect for a Large Group”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Really enjoyed the stay in this farmhouse. Open fires, lots of rooms and hot tub. All at an affordable price. Highly recommend.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2014
Choice Cottages and the owners and managers of BRAUNTON POYERS FARMHOUSE wish to thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback. We appreciate this and value your custom. We hope to see you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali B
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful property for large groups in a great location - and a hot tub!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed in this property for a long weekend with 2 other families with young children.
The rooms are spacious, clean and well thought out and the living space is just what you need with a large group. The highlight was the well equipped kitchen next door to the dinning room with it's huge table comfortably seating 16. The wood burning stoves provide the cosiness we needed this weekend with the fantastic British weather!! and there are plenty of games, both old fashioned and electronic to keep both the adults and children amused.
The location is brilliant as it's just a short drive to our favourite beach at Croyde Bay, and there are other beaches even closer. We could walk into the village of Braunton and there's a pub serving food less than 2 minutes away. The children can play in the extensive outdoor climbing frame/swing set or walk down to the pond to feed the ducks and we all really enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub.
I will definitely be back for another visit.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy S
Uckfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fabulously cosy yet spacious stay at a lovely devonshire house.”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My family and three other familiies stayed at this property over the easter holiday period and was impressed with how it comfortably fit all 14 of us. We could all have our dinner together around the lovely big table. The two wood burners kept the downstair lovely and cosy on cold days.The location is perfect and in easy reach of such beautiful beaches. The children had a lovely big garden to play their football in and there were swings and slides for the little ones. We will be returning hopefully in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size of the house and location.
Liked least: perhaps it needs another toilet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing