We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FANTASTIC STAY AT BARNES COTTAGE IN BEAUTIFUL...”

Review of Barns Cottage

Enjoy lunch 'al fresco'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy lunch 'al fresco'
Relax outdoors Enjoy the mod cons in the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Enjoy lunch 'al fresco'
Relax outdoors
Enjoy the mod cons in the kitchen
Welcome to Barns Cottage
Master bedroom with Castello natural stone bath
Sink into the sumptuous sofa
Chill out in the hot tub
Luxurious four poster bed
Clever triple bunks
Wetroom
Vaulted ceilings on top floor
Suspended Ergofocus fire with slate hearth
Surf art
View from the garden
Stone wendy house
Local wildlife on a walk nearby
The beach awaits you
Surfs up at Saunton
Local sea air rescue helicopter
Welcome!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
parsonsfa...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“FANTASTIC STAY AT BARNES COTTAGE IN BEAUTIFUL DEVON”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

What a fantastic holiday!
We have visited North Devon many times as we love the local beaches. However this is without doubt the most amazing place that we have stayed.
We travelled as a family of 6. Elder daughters 18 & 16 with younger children, a son 10 and daughter 8.
We had seen the pictures on Tripadvisor and read the reviews and were really looking forward to possibly our last family holiday together before our eldest daughter left for Uni and then holidays with friends.
The day of our long awaited holiday was upon us. We received final details from Barbara, put the postcode in the sat nav and were on our way!
We arrived at our destination after navigating a narrow street fearing we were lost following the sat nav, however no, we were here.
We were notified that parking may be a problem for our larger people carrier and that there was a shared drive with adjacent property and to be mindful of this.
We collected the keys as detailed by Barbara ushered the children inside and unloaded our bags, left the youngest children under the watch of our eldest and parked the car in a nearby residential close where there was plenty of parking.
We returned to find all the children excitedly saying how wonderful the place was and that it was like something out of cribs.
The youngest children enthused about their bunk bed room, whilst our eldest girls loved the double room on the ground floor. We were then up the stairs to the living area and wow, yes the place was amazing. However the best was yet to come.
We then went outside to the garden. What a fantastically thought out space. Totally secluded almost hidden thanks to the careful planning of the planting, with it's pathways leading to a wonderful little play house for the smaller children. Then there was the hot tub! Wow! whatever the weather always 37C, we loved it ! Either in the rain or under a beautiful star light evening, it was one of the highlights of our holiday.
There was a lovely welcome pack with local produce and fruit pastels on the kids beds which was a nice touch!
It was also lovely to see Barbara's families art and pictures around the cottage. It felt to us that we were invited guests within the family home, so personal.
Everything that you could ever need was there and the attention to detail made Barns Cottage such a fantastic place to stay. After a wonderful summer in 2013 , we had some typical Devon weather, not extensively wet but not wall to wall sunshine. But when you are staying in such a beautiful part of the country with the changeable weather and such amazing beaches nearby you can almost see out the initial rain, have a relaxing time in the hot tub, watch the skies clear then head for the local beaches at Saunton Sands and Croyde where we all had so much fun either body boarding in the surf or exploring the rock pools.
We thought the neighbors may have been a bit frosty at first especially with young children, but they were very friendly and even invited us around to look at the slow worms in their garden and gave us a DVD to watch that he had made of wildlife in his garden. It was a good watch!
As soon as we came home we reflected on one of our favorite holidays and decided that we will return for 2014. Thank-you Barbara & Perry!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling that we were invited guests within such a beautiful home
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Many thanks for the lovely review of your stay at Barns Cottage, it is truly appreciated. It sounds like your whole family found something special to enjoy at the house; I'm glad the more grown up girls found it equally as exciting as the younger kids. And it's great to hear that you made good use of the hot tub and the outdoor area when the weather permitted. We are thrilled that you're coming to stay again in August 2014 and hopefully this time the sun will shine even more!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
“We felt completely at home !”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Dear Barbara,
We would like to thank you for the most wonderful family holiday we enjoyed in August staying at barns cottage. The children were in the hot tub within five minutes of arriving and they absolutely loved the bunk beds! Everything was so well thought out for a family stay from the range of toys and games to the open plan layout upstairs which suited us perfectly. We had great fun teaching the girls table tennis and finding lots of secret places in the garden. We discovered a beach called Barracane beach which served Thai food in the evenings during the summer. It's just at the end of Woolacoombe esplanade. We went twice! If the tide is out you can walk all the way round the cove to another beach below Watersmeet hotel which was wonderful for rock pooling and crabbing. You could wade through the rock pools as they just nestled in between the rock formations. All in all, we had a fantastic family holiday and can't wait to go again next year. Thank you so very much Barbara x
Claire

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments about Barns Cottage and we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Very happy to hear that the girls loved the bunk room and spent so much time in the hot tub! It is really rewarding to hear that our guests appreciate our house as much as we do. It's also fantastic to be given recommendations of new places to visit; we can't wait to check out Barricane Beach and its cafe next time we are in Woolacombe. Looking forward to welcoming you all again next summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorthingL...
worthing
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“barns cottage, brilliant !!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

my husband and myself left the world behind and spent a fab anniversary weekend here.
the house is lovely and fully equipped with everything you need for a great holiday in a very pleasant area.
the highlight of my weekend was sitting in the hot tub late at night with a glass of fizz watching the outdoor open fire crackle and smelling the woodsmoke..perfect Autumn evening.
thanks again to Barbara for making everything so easy and enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: leaving (and the bed was too firm for me but thats just personal preference)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm delighted that Barns Cottage provided the perfect setting to enjoy a relaxing wedding anniversary weekend. Hopefully we can welcome you again one day in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APike36
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“More than we could ever have expected! Absolutely gorgeous”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have just returned from a weeks break at Barns Cottage. We went with our one and half year old boy and some friends who have two girls; one who is three and one who is the same age as our son.

The property has great reviews on here so there was a lot to live up to, however, it excelled all our expectations.

Firstly, the booking was very straight forward and the owner, Barbara, is very friendly and prompt in responding to all queries. Equally, all the information we needed was provided.

The property is located in Braunton, which is a 10 minute drive away from Barnstaple. Braunton and the next village, Croyde, have all the amenitites you need (tourist info, 2/3 beaches, bakery, post office, Tesco superstore etc etc.). However, Barnstaple is only down the road if needed.

The cottage doesn't give much up about how amazing it is from the outside as you can only see the front door from the street. However, once you open the door you realise just how great this place is. The property is very modern and is finished to a very high standard. On the ground floor there is a double bedroom (inc. four poster bed) and bathroom/wetroom and a kid's bedroom with three bunkbeds. On the first floor there is the master bedroom (another four poster bed) with an ensuite and the open plan living room and kitchen/diner.

The layout of the cottage worked really well for us and our friends and there two children just had the full ground floor and we used the master bedroom as our one year old was sleeping in a cot in our room.

Although there is only one main living space in the cottage it feels very spacious and the name Barn's Cottage is very apt as it does feel quite cosy like a cottage but with the high pitched ceilings on the first floor it also gives that airy barn conversion feel.

For us, what was also great about the open plan living space was the fact that you could keep an eye on the children at all times. The owners also provided a travel cot and stair gate which came in extremely useful. As the owner knew we were bringing children they also asked the housekeeper to set up some toys which kept the kids happy all week during time we spent in the house

The garden, for us, was the biggest surprise. Besides the hot tob which was great there is also a table tennis table, gas BBQ and open fire. The back of the garden is steeped and has little paths which the children loved to explore and ultimately leads to a cute stone built wendy house. Although the property is surrounded on all sides by other properties the garden is extremly private as it is at a higher level than most of the other houses.

There is a single garage at the property, however, if you have two cars the one can be parked on the road which is around a 1-2 minute walk away. This did not cause us a problem at all and there was always somewhere to park. When we unloaded/loaded the car upon arriving/leaving we just parked the car outside the front door as it is quite a narrow lane with a dead-end so hardly any other cars used the lane.

Finally, when we arrived there was a personal note from the owner with a small hamper with local produce which was a lovely touch.

I really struggle to say anything bad about this property. The whole experience from start to finsh was great. Would very much recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living space is amazing and the garden is great for the children to explore
Liked least: Noise does carry quite easy in the property. Not a problem for most I'm sure but it was a minor nuisance for us when our child wakes up at 5am screaming and our friends are still sleeping downstairs :)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic comments about your stay at Barns Cottage. We are always thrilled when other families appreciate the high quality home we have created and the extra special features such as the four poster beds, the hot tub, the outdoor fireplace and the secret paths to the stone wendy house in the garden. It was a pleasure to have your family stay and we would be delighted to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chixorfis...
Burton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This house has everything including the WOW factor!!!!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and my two younger children booked Barns Cottage for our holiday in June. From the outset, Barbara the owner could not do enough for us, even measuring the garage to see if our car would fit!
The cottage on arrival did not disappoint. Spacious, beautifully finished accommodation with a definite WOW factor.
The travel cot had been thoughtfully installed in the guest bedroom and the stair gate put up for our arrival. My eldest daughter of four, loved the bunk room with its 3 bunks and spent quite some time deciding which one to sleep in. We had forgotten to take toys, but we shouldn't of worried. Masses for the children to play with (and they did), and books galore.
The real clincher to this cottage is the beautifully landscaped outdoor area. A huge outdoor fire, for chillier nights, beautiful rattan furniture where we ate breakfast most mornings, the hot tub with its gorgeous views and the children's cottage, hidden away at the top of the garden, where we lost daughter no1 for many an hour late afternoon. There is even a children's climbing wall hidden away, found by my little explorer!
The cottage is perfectly located for Braunton. 400yds at the end of the road and much to my husbands delight, a pub, with indian takeaway/restaurant inside. Chinese take out over the road and another 400yd walk into the village which houses a wonderful array of shops and eateries, including the famous squires fish and chip shop, which was so good we visited twice.
Saunton sands is 2 mins in the car. Croyde beach 5 mins in the car and Woolacombe/Ilfracombe 15 mins by car.
Taking everything into consideration, this is the best holiday we have had in years, perfect accomodation, location and owners who cannot do enough to ensure your stay is a comfortable and stress free one.
As if North Devon isn't a gem in itself, this cottage is a truly hidden one, that should be explored and revisited. We certainly will be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxurious house and gardens
Liked least: Nothing, it was perfect
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2013
Your lovely complimentary review of Barns Cottage is much appreciated. We are thrilled that you all had such a super relaxing time and enjoyed the garden and house to the full - I'm impressed your little daughter found the climbing wall as it's quite well hidden. Hopefully we will be able to welcome your family back to our house again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High spec furnishing, garden, hot tub, location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Nov 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderfully complimentary review of Barns Cottage! It really means alot to us when our guests appreciate our home as much as we do. We are delighted that you all enjoyed the hot tub and table tennis table and that the children loved the bunk beds and the wendy house in the garden. It sounds like you made the most of the wonderful local beaches too. We are really excited to welcome you back again next year and will be happy to suggest some other fantastic local places to explore!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
STEVE P
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing week”
Reviewed 24 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We're just back from an amazing week at Barns Cottage. The property was outstanding and well above what we were expecting. I especially loved the clever use of space with the large open plan living space upstairs leading straight out onto the great outdoor space with hot tub. The weather wasn't kind to us so the huge TV with surround sound was a welcome relief from the rain for the kids! Really can't say enough about the place. Amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coffee machine
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2012
Thank you for your complimentary remarks about Barns Cottage and so glad you had a great week's holiday! It's fantastic that the house proved even better than expectations and I'm glad you liked the open plan design of the living area and outdoor deck and garden. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future and hopefully next time the sun will shine!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$859
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing