We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best fish and chip restaurant/shop in Devon!”

Squires Fish Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 43 Restaurants in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best fish and chip restaurant/shop in Devon!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had heard of the compliments and for once this place lived up to the hype. We visited on a Thursday afternoon and were speedily settled, it was nice to see the number of locals who eat and visit this restaurant. The fish when it came was divine and one of the largest fillets I have had. We made room for a sweet and were given the time to enjoy that as well.
This is not your usual fish chip place as it sells champagne and has some of the best toilets ever seen in a public place. We will return Thanks

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kittiwakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    855
    265
    105
    42
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lives up to it`s reputation”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just lovely, lots of choices, healthy options, good service, & very reasonable. You can even get a glass of wine with your meal.
Excellent

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnj186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Yummy fish n chips”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Scrum my fish and chips to take away. Bit of a wait but it was Saturday night and if that's how busy it is in the dead of winter then it must be a great place!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Devonnewbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great takeaway”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The fish & chip takeaway is well worth the visit, I have not eaten in the restaurant yet, always busy with people queueing out the door on a Friday

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent find, worth a visit”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Visited with adult family on a friday, around 4pm. The ground floor was busy so we were seated in the additonal space upstairs.
The food was absolutely gorgeous - the potions are large but it is not a case of quantity versus quality. The food is a high quality with all the family enjoying their choices of poached haddock, seafood mix and battered haddock, all with chips. There is a vegetarian section too, I enjoyed the little mixed grill immensely.
Desert was very slow to arrive but absolutely worth the wait. Apple pie and cheesecake of the day have never tasted better.
The staff are friendly without being intrusive.
The restaurant also caters to children, providing high chairs on request.
Highly recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Stacey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Squires Fish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Squires Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing