We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chilled, relaxed and delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baggy Surf Lodge &Cafe

Baggy Surf Lodge &Cafe
Ranked #3 of 3 Dessert in Braunton
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: B&B Accommodation with en-suite double rooms and shared bunk accommodation. Also day time cafe and evening bistro. Lyndon Wake Surf School operates from here providing lessons to all levels, coasteering and surf equipment hire
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chilled, relaxed and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Visited for the second time. This café is set in the best location, with fab views of the sea. Our first visit was back in stormy January and we sat in the sitting room at the enormous table and super comfy sofa with the place and service to ourselves - great food for all the family and fab service all for a very reasonable price. Returned again just this weekend in the sunshine and had coffees and breakfast. Having had many a breakfast in Croyde over the years our new favourite for quantity, taste and price is this one. That said, the service was very slow this visit and the choices for children were a bit limited - they just wanted a cookie with the yummy hot chocolate but had crisps instead. One coffee was not that great but was quickly replaced with no wait for a fresh and delicious one. It's not a McDonald's, its a café by the sea and its a good idea to remember that its ok to sit, relax, look out to the sea - and breathe!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Surf Lodge &Cafe, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for your review Liz N.

We are a little slower this year as we have had to cut on staff and its just me and my kids a couple of other helpers. Sorry about that, but as you pointed out it is about enjoying it not rushing it.

We do Tunnocks tea cakes and cantochini biscuits, but I will look into other cookie options. But it has to be said that we are Surfer focused and they tend to be a bit older.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mike x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    7
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food reasonable but service inflexible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Called in about lunch time for a drink and a snack. The tea and coffee were OK, the soup of the day (minestrone) reasonable, but my wife asked for egg on toast and was told this was only available for breakfast which they were no longer serving. Yes, they did have eggs and bread on the premises, but no, apparently the breakfast cooking equipment had been cleared away, so they couldn't serve egg on toast. It's not as though the place was full. With such an inflexible policy it's hard to see the cafe becoming very successful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Surf Lodge &Cafe, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for your review Bill C. Sorry about the breakfast thing but during the day we have limited kitchen staff and can generally only rum one menu at a time (ie, breakfast, lunch or dinner). We have to make a decision to switch at some point as the kitchen is set up differently for each menu.

Perhaps we could have done the jam sandwich, but it is not on our menu or set up on the till. If I had been in the kitchen I would have done it for you.

Success - well this is my passion more than a business and we and all that work here love it as do most customers. We are never going to get rich on it, but we feel it is already a success.

Mike x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Evening meal.....excellent all counts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

A quaint village, the 'Kings' was very welcoming and the menu was varied and the prices were great. Excellent food and not over facing... Would visit again

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Surf Lodge &Cafe, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for the review Chris F, but I thing you may have been talking about the Kings Arms.

Mike x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Visited for the second time to find it had been taken over by new owners. What a shame! They wouldn't do a child's sandwich with out the ham, made a huge fuss about doing a jam sandwich, even though they serve jam with cream tea, and made a two year old wait 40 minutes for it. The 'cook' was standing around in the kitchen after putting pasties in the microwave, not even contemplating making a jam sandwich. They have one high chair, and no standards. Awful, Expensive, and RUDE.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emsyloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Surf Lodge &Cafe, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for your Review Emsyloves. Baggy's has not been taken over by new owners, I have owned and operated it for the last 10 years.

Sorry about the Jam sandwich. It isn't on the menu or in the till, but I guess I would have done it if I had been there. Not sure what the wait was about, but that is very unusual as we offer a counter service.

Yes we only have one high chair and we find this adequate as most surfers don't use them.

We have actually got quite high standards and have 5 stars for food hygiene and everything is tightly controlled along the ISO 9000 style of quality control - including ordering to the menu.

Didn't think we were expensive (we are generally the cheapest food outlet in Croyde). If you let me know who was rude I will give them a verbal slap (it must have been one of my daughters!)

Sorry you were not happy.

Mike x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cream teas acceptble”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our first cream tea of the week and though good not brilliant. Cream limited and scones on small side. Staff friendly but not able to deal with more than one order at once. We were a party of 7 and wanted to order in 2 parts this appeared to cause confusion. Black coffee had milk in, and tea wasn't served with one of the teas. Owner became chatty when we asked for an update on the proposed planning development for the house over the road, where they used to be. Will give them another go next year.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Surf Lodge &Cafe, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for your review Janet T. The scones are from East & West Bakery in Barnstaple and are normally lovely and a good size. They are used by a number of cafes in this area.. We would have been happy to give you extra cream and/or jam if you had asked - we have plenty.

We offer a counter service and yes we only take one order at a time. Not sure what the confusion was. I don't remember talking to you specifically, but shame you didn't mention these issues at the time and perhaps we could have done something about it.

Mike x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baggy Surf Lodge &Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Baggy Surf Lodge &Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing