We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and even greater location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“great hotel and even greater location”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

we stayed here for a couple of nights as a last minute thing having had to cut our previous holiday in Devon short. The location is 'to die for' with the view over 5km of golden sands, the dunes and the sea. I cant think of a better view from a hotel and Ive stayed in many parts of the world. The hotel is art deco style and is very classic without appearing dated. We had a double room and a single room for our daughter. the single room had been re-furbished and if all the rooms are to be done to the same standard then this will be excellent. Our Double room was starting to look and feel a bit dated but still very nice. There is an indoor & outdoor pool and small (and dated) gym. The garden area is well maintained and has those great views and the lounge bar is very comfy with good service and not too overpriced. Breakfast is buffet style and superb with good ingredients well cooked and a good choice. We had dinner one evening which was excellent and one of the best steak & chips Ive ever eaten, service was attentive without being intrusive.
The one (at the time HUGE) downside was that on the 1st night there was a Karaoke party directly under our room which went on until 3am and then only stopped when I (not the hotel) asked them to stop. This meant we only got 4 hours sleep and to say we were less than pleased is an understatement. The night Manager was useless in trying to find a workable solution. In the end the day Manager refunded us for that night without issue so a good corrective service action but Id rather it hadnt happened in the 1st place.
Overall I would recomment this hotel,its not cheap (£100/person/night) but you do get what you pay for. Just a shame the Karaoke spolit the 1st night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    918
    463
    208
    113
    63
See reviews for
571
665
52
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tadley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Saunton Sands is a hotel that makes you feel special, whether it is your first visit or one of many. The fact that so many of the guests come year after year says it all. For families it is especially good, we had grandmothers in their 80's, teenagers & early 20 year olds plus 7 year olds- a tough combination - but we all had a great time. The location is superb- high on a cliff overlooking a fantastic beach- the challenge is to go down to it as there is so much to do in the hotel. We played Tennis, swam in the pools (I opted for the Beauty spa instead!), played putting, had a go at the laser clayshooting, the men had an impromtu football match ( the hotel found goalposts!!) - plus lots of downtime reading the papers & indulging in devon scones & cream. A huge well done to the chef as well - rare to get such a good standard of food unless you are paying huge monies- the dinners were memorable. A special word for Paul our wine waiter, who gave us excellent advice at very reasonable prices. I have already booked in for my next visit -I can't wait.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms are worth paying for- the views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAH274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Beautiful views - and that's it! The family suite - room 308 was well laid out but tiny bathroom, I was fine with this but when 5 of us are trying to have a shower and the water keeps going off and on and sometimes only trickles out, it is impossible and a waste of our time, it took me more than an hour every morning and evening to get us showered, I called to reception several times and was told someone would take a look, no one came, then I took a message to reception and handed it in on a maintenance card that the hotel supply, if they did look nothing was fixed, I am guessing that this problem cannot be resolved unless complete refurb of plumbing! We paid full price for ensuite! The entertainment was a joke, very cheap rubbish with the staff doing most of it on the barbecue/disco night which was cringy, hi de hi! Merlin the magician, for kids was a skin head with tattoos! And captain cocanut was so boring, the kids were crying, not mine, we just left! The food was ok, but service very poor, the manager swans around and communicates poorly as he is foreign. It states that if you book a deluxe as my parents did then you get preferential table, this didn't happen as we were a large party for breakfast (7 of us although the staff kept on insisting that we were a party of 8!) therefore as only four of us ate at dinner we had to argue with the manager before he would give us a better table with a view of the sea. It's such a shame as the area is lovely, but we would not go back. Some people have been returning for years but I think if they can afford these prices then get a life and get out there as the UK has some very special 4 star hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ffshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesauntonsandshotel, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
We use the Country’s top children’s entertainers which include Merlin from Britains got talent and Captain Coconut the UK’s leading bubble master and this is the first time we have received a complaint regarding our children’s entertainment.

I am very sorry for the difficulty you encountered with service and if you wish to address any of these points with me I am available to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Have stayed here recently a few times mainly for its excellent position above saunton sands beach - and therefore surfing. I have stayed in double rooms each time, and all have been clean, warm, and with a good bed.
It is a well appointed English hotel, (with English speaking staff) which seemed to give a very warm welcome to all - couples, families and retired folk alike.
I would fully recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My family and I have visited many times before over several years, however, the sense of occasion has now all but gone but the location means we will probably return.

There have been many cut backs. For example, the menu is set for the whole week and the entertainment has definitely been cut back. On one evening the hotel's cafe at the foot of the cliffs, The Sands, ran out of Calor gas to cook on. This is not good for what is traded as a quality hotel operation.

These cut backs seem to have affected the staff as the attention to customer service has really fallen back. I have stayed at many of the World's finest hotels but the receptionists at the Saunton Sands rank right up there in terms of unhelpfulness and arrogance. I am still waiting for one pretty important question to be answered that I asked reception when we stayed.

There are also massive cliques at the hotel with certain guests dominating the staff and the service provided. Management need to decide whether it wants to provide a universal, four star service for all of the guests or trade on past glories and on the location. If quality is the key factor then the pricing strategy might work; if this is going to become a surfing hotel then I am not sure they will be many takers at the current prices.

We have, hitherto, really looked forward to our stays at the Saunton Sands but the magic has faded to the point where we are looking for quality alternatives for the future. The location is the one thing we are going to struggle with.

Room Tip: Go for sea view. Inland views look straight onto a road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AdrianX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesauntonsandshotel, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thank you for your support here at Saunton and I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not match previous years and I will be interested in any feedback from yourselves. We strive to make everybody’s holiday enjoyable and to treat every customer the same. Regarding the changes with our Restaurant menu this has been done to offer both consistency and quality at all times and has been generally well received however we can understand that it may not be to some people’s tastes.

With regard to the running out of gas and Sands on the Beach this was completely out of our hands and was a mistake by Calor which they have acknowledged and on our part we can only apologise.

We offer a full and varied entertainments programme which changes yearly to keep a fresh feel, with this comes a challenge of providing entertainment to suit both young and old.

Once again thank you for your feedback feel free to contact me if you wish to discuss any aspect of your holiday further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Saunton Sands is a one off, in some ways a throwback to the old traditions of English country hotels, the location is unique, overlooking one of the best beaches in the world. In some ways slightly too old fashioned but service is great and the views and ambience cannot be beaten. Run by a well known local family close to the lovely little village of Braunton. Ideal for exploring such local sights as Clovelly and other Devon North Coast excursion spots. The rooms and apartments (we have stayed in both) were great, clean and, the apartments, great for self catering and larger groups. Cannot beat going to sleep with the surf crashing onto the beach.

Room Tip: bigger the better...some parts of hotel quite old and small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Went to Saunton for a few days golf on the famous links courses, staying in the hotel in a family suite acroos the courtyard from the main hotel.
Very well run family owned hotel in magnificent position on the cliffs overlooking the the fantastic sandy beach with lots of facilties for kids, very good food and reasonable prices.
Highly recomended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
818 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
844 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,240 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
617 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Property: Saunton Sands Hotel
Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing