We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We used to stay in this hotel when our children were very small. We returned this year and stayed in one of the appartments adjacent to the hotel. This was a great option for our family. The appartment was very spacious with lovely views over the beach. There is a large living room, well equipped kitchen, and good sized master bedroom and kitchen. The childrens room was rather small and pokey, but as they were hardly in there, it didnt really matter. We had 2 very nice evening meals in the main restuarant. For us the portions were just right and the serving staff very attentive. We also had 1 evening meal in the beach bar, owned by SS on the beach which was delicious. We made good use of the indoor pool and sauna. The children also played squash and crazy golf. Our 10 year old son also had a go at Archery on the lawn, all free of charge. There is plenty of parking, and unlike when we used to come years ago, the hotel was not overun with weddings at the weekend. My Daughter and i had a very nice bar meal in the lounge bar one day, and we were recognised by David, although we hadnt been at the hotel for 8 years! All in all, this was a most enjoyable Easter break, and great to do our own thing in the Appartment but still be able to use all the facilites of the Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,640 - 1,646 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Arrived at the hotel mid morning and staff very welcoming. Had lunch in bar and a drink. Very quiet and relaxed. Very Very good food all round. Stayed on a 1 night package deal to celebrate a friends birthday and had a great time. All about the location and it is quite stunning with far far reaching views of the beach and sea. The hotel is not that attractive from the outside and it is currently undergoing some improvements which is notably upgrading it. The pool and sauna were great and the pool very warm. Only thing seemed to be missing was a hot tub overlooking the beach where the ping pong table stands, would realy sell the place well if it were there. plenty of car parking etc and easy access to the beach. Had a long walk along the beach which was fantastic. Dinner was very very good from the service to the quality of the food. Very comfertable room with a nice balcony overlooking the beach. Best view from a hotel toilet in the world maybe??? Breakfast was fantastic and well done.#
All in all a great break. A couple of things noticed, there was a bit of an elderly feel to the hotel with a lot of oap's around. The bedroom did have a bit of an elderly smell on arrival which I noticed. As I have mentioned. they seem to be modernising the hotel and I am syre that will make a difference. Very good hotel, very friendly staff, fantastic location, all in all a great stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcont overlooking the beach, it is what the hotel is about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stopped for a cakes and tea. Amazing view. Location, location, location is what sells this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PJAwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

having not booked we called in and were told we were in luck. They found us room which was sea facing and had glorious views. The staff were informative, attentive and charming. We dined in the restaurant as we had booked a dinner bed and breakfast rate, the food was first class and the chef and his team should have many more awards than the many they undoubtedly have. I really fail to understand why previous comments have been posted - nothing was too much trouble for the staff here and we thoroughly enjoyed a very brief (one night) stay, we will be back! We didn't try the spa so can make no comment on it.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LlanonGillygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed for one night and a day for a conference. Entire place needs a massive investment - rooms look tired and at times dirty, carpets worn down, hot water in shower did not work, despite reporting it night before. The food was nowhere near the standard it should be at this type of hotel - tasteless fish and bland dessert. The service was excellent and everyone was very pleasant but it is not their fault that no money is being spent on decorating the interior of the residences.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shaba31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesauntonsandshotel, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

We appreciate your review.

At the hotel we operate a continued refurbishment programme and we are at present refurbishing the lower ground floor area and relocating and upgrading our beauty therapy suites and treatments.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food and will pass your thoughts to our chefs. Our menus are designed to cater for all tastes and we try to accommodate all requirements, had we known that you were let down with the menu we would have provided an alternative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

did our usual thing and called in at the saunton for light lunch. what a let down. service was terrible and the quality of the food very poor.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Ann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesauntonsandshotel, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for your recent review.
It is as you say disappointing when expectations are not met. We have addressed your points with both the kitchen and front of house lounge staff.

Once again we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed here at the beginning of March for a conference. The whole experience was superb. The staff were extrememly pleasant and helpful in all areas of the hotel - an off duty member of staff even helped me in with my bags when I arrived. My room, unfortunately, did not have a sea view - roof and car park, but to be honest it didn't matter that much due to being there for a corporate experience rather than simply holidaying. The room was clean, comfortable and well serviced, which are just as important as the view! The food was very good, though it was a bit disconcerting not to have a vegetarian starter on the menu (we had a set menu) on the second night, though one was readily offered when the waitress went to the kitchen to enquire. Everything seemed effortless and I was left wondering how it is some places, like the Saunton Sands, can manage this excellent standard of care and others so spectacularly get it wrong? I really look forward to returning.

Room Tip: I think its worth asking for a sea view - it takes some beating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holyrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
873 reviews
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,403 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
721 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,685 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range: £148 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing