We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I dream of the days when I can shut down my laptop and take my family away to Saunton Sands Hotel. I have been enjoying the delights of this hotel and indeed the Brend Gropup of Hotels for for over 25 years. We frequent Summertime & Christmas and the experience just gets better and better. The foods is fantastic the service is delightful,views are spectacular and the extertainment exceptional for moms dads and kids.Its the best in all of Devon. The hotel cateres for all age groups in everyway and the management and staff have a way of making each and everyone of us feel a million dollars. My nine, ten and eleven year old all can't be wrong can they?? Its there first choice holiday experience everytime we ask them. Thoroughly recommends this unique hotel experience for young and old.

Room Tip: Sea view spectacular but fab deals on inland facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,583 - 1,589 of 1,879 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

Had four days in the lovely Saunton Sands Hotel at the beginning of August with my husand and family. Our sea facing room looked newely decorated and the views of the beach were amazing. The entertainment program was very varied with activities suiting all tastes for those who want to participate. I particularly enjoyed the complementary surf lesson. My husband enjoyed the facilities particularly the squash and tennis courts. Overall another fabulous holiday and cant wait to return for New Years eve celebrations

Room Tip: Request a Sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WalesTaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have been returning to Saunton Sands Hotel every year without fail for 15 years and couldn't recommend it highly enough. Our children in that time have grown from babies to teenagers over these years and both they and us love it as much now as when they were younger. The staff and management couldn't be more helpful, they can't do enough for you. Our spacious hotel rooms overlook the awesome views across the Braunton Burrows, beach and out to Hartland Point and Lundy Island, a view that can compete with any holiday destination around the world. Thanks to its micro climate quiet often we are spoilt to glorious sun whilst all around you can see others experiencing more traditional English weather! The dining experience is wonderful- the chef provides a delightful menu to choose from, sourced from local produce, which is beautifully presented. We also stay at the hotel to celebrate New Years Eve- a fantastic way to bring in the new year. Just writing this review puts a smile on my face- we have so many wonderful memories here. Rain or shine, you will have a lovely stay here.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The hotel is in a stunning location overlooking the beach. The room and en suite were a little tired but the views more than make up for it. The biggest surprise however was the quality of the food in the restaurant, which was excellent. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The prices are quite high - but recommended for a short break away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstieJ148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We were treated to a weekend away and we were not disapointed. This hotel is great in every way. We had a family room with views over the back of the hotel. The food is amazing! Great great great. The kids had fun and it was warm and friendly. No fault I could find

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesauntonsandshotel, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for your recent review of The Saunton Sands Hotel. It was most kind of you to review us in such a positive manner and I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Saunton in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We've stayed at this hotel as a couple for romantic breaks and now as a family and it continues to make us smile. From the perfect views from our sea-facing room, restaurant and lounge to the 'nothing is too much trouble' attitude of all the staff. It's a great combination of luxury and a perfect family destination. Can't wait too book our next trip.

Room Tip: Worth the extra to wake up to a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adtimbrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stunning location right by saunton sands, you definitely need to get a sea view room to fully appreciate this hotel.very friendly staff, very comfortable lounge and bar area we even got a free all you can eat cream tea!! Restaurant very formal expect most people to dress up but you can always just have room service or a less formal bar menu. Rooms were ok, a little characterless

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank TheWinters1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
873 reviews
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,412 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
724 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,688 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range: £164 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing