We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bank holiday beach getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in this excellently located hotel, dropped right on the beach!
Art Deco touch with good food although the service wasn't quite up to the hotels price.
Overall a good stay but a little on the pricey side for what you get - paid a premium for a sea view room but it was pretty special .
Would consider a return stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craidon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,412 - 1,418 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed mid-week. The room was much better than anticipated. The staff were most helpful with luggage and all were most friendly. We had help with wi-fi. The restaurent was excellent. We had a package and were happy that a five course meal was includede with only extras for a la carte choices. The food was heavenly and the staff so friendly. Coffee in the lounge was nice with top ups. A lovely place to stay withexcellent views. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Sea views are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

For a single person – as part of a group - a good hotel to stay in. Rear facing room, ok-ish in size, with the uncommon bonus of a real bath. No fridge though other singles did.

Excellent indoor swimming pool – 27C so very comfortable. Decent sized sauna. Didn’t try the outdoor pool because of weather but understand it is heated; nor did I try the tennis court.

Very welcoming and helpful staff.

Very good breakfasts.

Well prepared evening meals, let down somewhat by slow service. I don’t mind a pause between courses but 45 minutes before the first is far too long. Maybe this is because the food is assembled from (tasty) bits and pieces so takes a long time to plate up. But there seemed to be plenty of waiting staff so recruiting a few more for the kitchen would help.

Reasonable beer and spirit prices in the bar. Wines in the restaurant far too expensive – starting at £18 or £19 for the house wines. Doesn’t encourage you to splash out and have a second. The hotel should look at its pricing policy on wines.

Would return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmt0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My wife and I try to get away once a year away from the kids and rekindle the old days. We choose carefully as we don't get the chance very often. We like good food and wine and a bit of a pamper, hence given the bumpf on the website choose Saunton for this years trip. We were given a very nice room on our arrival accommodated in the spa at late notice. All was well so far.... Enjoyed our treatment, good afternoon tea and a bracing walk on the beach, still all good. Enjoyed a dip in the pool and a game of snooker, things couldn't be better. We got ready for dinner and arrived at 8, however, the next two and a half hours were some of the worst I have spent in a hotel, let alone a 4 star hotel. The evening meal was truly one of the worst meals I have ever had. Service was slow and inattentive, the staters were average at best, the main course cold flavourless and the desert awful (who had ever heard of cold aldente rice pudding). The wine was very poor and very expensive. The evening was only saved by the cheesy disco and the highly entertaining DJ. Breakfast wasn't much better, cold and slow inattetive service again. If we had eaten elsewhere we would have given the break 5stars, but unfortunatly we choose our breaks on the full package and I'm afraid the restaurant just doesn't cut the mustard. If had been a local resturant I would never go back, however, may give Saunton a go again, but defiantly eat else where. Be warned!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sisa0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesauntonsandshotel, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and I am glad you enjoyed the hotel’s location and facilities for your break. I am however disappointed your dining experience did not meet with expectation. Whilst we are aware our fine dining menu does not suit all tastes we have received many positive reviews and comments. Our menus are seasonally changed which do initially on occasion present teething problems however these have now been resolved. I am sorry to hear your dessert was served cold which is inexcusable and I will address this with our Food and Beverage team.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We seem to be on continual search for perfect family friendly hotel and this one rates very highly in our books. Great kids club- we have 4 children; 3 who were able to stay at the kids club and they loved it. Great kids nanny. Small pool but the kids enjoyed it. Kids tea was a little unimaginative but I suppose the hotel catered for what they knew children would eat. Comfortable rooms. Room listening service. GREAT location- just up the hill from really beautiful beach. We would go back to this hotel again. Friendly staff and pretty good restaurant food.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must. Avoid rooms with car park view. We looked at the self-catering apartments and en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy-Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Excellent location overlooking the huge beach. I had a sea view room, which was a little dated, but no issues with it. Food was good in the restaurant, although the wine list is on the expensive side. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view everytime
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chopperboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We booked three nights at the Saunton Sands as a last minute dash away on the Easter Bank Holiday Monday. Booking on the phone was efficient , a very nice reservations lady sorted everything and email a confirmation arrived within a few minutes. Arrived on the Tuesday after Easter and was given the room keys by a helpful lady and help was offered with our bags but we were more interested in grabbing some lunch so headed straight for the terrace bar. The bar staffs were very polite and friendly, lunch soon arrived and was good. We had booked a suite so the kids could have their own room. The room itself was a reasonable size with amazing views over the beach, having staying in hotels all over the world the view from the room has to rate as one of the best I’ve seen !

The room was smaller than we expected, in my mind a double and single room adjoining doesn’t really constitute a suite but it was fine and clean, well decorated and more than adequate for the duration of the stay. The bathroom was clean and modern a bit compact but not a problem, it was great to have an outside window in the bathroom, I absolutely hate internal bathrooms so often found in hotels and with the window open you could hear the sea rolling up the beach.

The hotel itself is a bit dated but in a “charming old seaside” kind of way, the weather was cold but the hotel was warm and the large sofa’s and comfy chairs made the lounge/terrace areas a great place to crash out for a couple of hours with a drink.

The indoor pool was a good size, clean, nice and warm and a real hit with the kids. There were plenty of towels available and the staff frequently topped them up. The changing rooms were adequate, a bit small and I can imagine when the hotel is full it could get a bit chaotic in the pool area, had the weather been better the outdoor pool would have been a good option.

Regarding the food, we were DBB and the breakfasts were excellent, good selection of hot/cold, cereals, fruit etc. Bar lunches were good qualities, if a little pricey. The evening meals were also very good, nicely presented but we felt the choice was a bit limited, ok for three days but after a week it could have got a bit tedious. The restaurant staffs were superb, very welcoming and more than happy to help.
One of the reasons we chose the Saunton Sands Hotel was due to its child friendliness. This did not disappoint. The kids club/playroom was run by a fantastic young lady (management take note, I hope you pay her well, I can imagine she’s the reason why families return!!) The kids were well looked after during the day with various activities and early evening shows kept them entertained.

Overall a cracking three days, we will return, in my opinion its expensive, even compared to some of the decent London hotels we’ve stayed in but the whole experience for us as a family was really good and we look forward to our return at the end of the summer.

Room Tip: Get a sea view, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
844 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,319 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
672 reviews
7.6 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range: £157 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing