We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saunton Sands Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Another sublime few days at Saunton Sands. Amazing new Aroma Sauna. Fantastic views, amazing attention to detail and wonderful service. It's a must visit for everyone looking to experience one of the UK's best locations.

Room Tip: Sea View all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byronSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,357 - 1,363 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

This is a 4 star hotel - and very well deserved. I have stayed in quite a few 4 stars and would say that this one is one of the very best.

I had a balcony with a sea view - and the view is absolutely stunning and the nearby beach is fantastic.

Food is not cheap - but well worth the money with a great restaurant, staff and delicious food.

The entertainment and facilities are very good, with the warmest swimming pool that i have ever been in!

One small criticism - they could do with a hot tub to go with their sauna.

The children's entertainer "mr coconut" was superb.

I'll be back again next year :-D

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed in ashford apartment as family of 5 and was extremely disappointed. Shabby, old-fashioned decor (drawers falling apart, poles in wardrobe hanging off), bathrooms tiny with no windows (depressing!), kitchen no windows either and a freezer which didn't freeze anything. On arrival the balcony was filthy (clumps of dog hairs, sand, grimy chairs) and on mentioning this to reception they sent over a very surly man with a dustpan and brush who disappeared after 5 minutes with not even a ' goodbye/ok now/sorry'!!
As we settled in, we found the carpets were dirty (not been vacuumed?), surfaces in kitchen/dining room were sticky with food remains under the glass surface, and the window frames were full of cigarette ash from stubbed out fags. We had booked as family of 5 and there were only 4 beds, and on last day, no hot water for evening showers (they sent over a man who told us to 'press the booster switch', which we'd already done, and after waiting an hour, all got fed up and just had cold showers).
We spoke to duty manager who was very professional and polite, told us we'd got the room 'as a special offer' because we were paying £260 a night instead of £300 (which I pointed out I had been aware of...wouldn't have booked otherwise!!!) and knocked just £50 off the total???? £260 a night for that place??!!??
Having looked at reviews on here for the hotel, I understand now that self-caterers (in certain apartments) seem to be treated as 2nd class citizens.
The location of the hotel is everything....absolutely stunning! And the staff (particularly reception and the garden terrace bar) were always very pleasant, efficient and professional.

Room Tip: NOT ashford apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Top-load
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Firstly, may I apologise for your disappointment with our self catering apartment. All apartments are graded by the AA and Visit England, with the Ashford apartment being graded 3 star self catering accommodation.

I have spoken to our housekeeping department and the points you have raised have been discussed to ensure that standards are maintained. I am very sorry that your visit on this occasion did not meet with your satisfaction.

On a more positive note, I was very pleased to read that both the reception and lounge staff provided you with friendly polite professional service.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Having stayed at this hotel for the last few years, we were very excited to once again spend a wonderful week at this hotel. The food was lovely. The service was excellent and obviously the views from the hotel were superb. However, what really made our holiday was the evening entertainment, which once again was run by probably the finest DJ in the west country, Roger Lee. Although he appears to be a throw back from the 70's his music, comic timing and general demeanour is second to none and once again made this a special holiday. We would recommend the hotel and, of course, Roger to everyone.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MurphysMob2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We regularly stay in and around Braunton so we can use Saunton Sands beach as its excellent for boggie boarding. We said we wanted to stay at the sands hotel and this year we were lucky enough to be able to.

We thought the bedroom was very average for a 4* hotel but the view the hotel has and the attentive staff more than made up for the tiredness of the bedroom decor.

We ate in the terrace restaurant, we had to pay extra for this more relaxed way of dining but we were more than happy with the food and service. By eating this way you can almost guarantee a window table, which can not be said if you go into the formal dining room.

The outside swimming pool was in need of attention, some tiles missing around the inside edge made it look a little scruffy and some of the loungers were broken, the backs couldn't be raised up into a sitting up position.

Would these issues stop me booking again - NO. We had a lovely time in a relaxed atmosphere with excellent (if not a little steep) access to the beach. We will return in 2014.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We booked this as a final family holiday with my sick father, sadly he did not make it on the trip this summer, however the hotel handled the cancelation of his room smoothly, and we decided to make the most of things.
What a setting, you would be hard pressed to beat the view from the terrace anywhere in England. The room though not large was nice and the staff cleaning the rooms, were very helpful and understanding.
The swimming pools are both nice and the beach, with nearby Sands Restaurant made for an easy change of scene. The entertainment was great for young children and Antonia did a good job in the kids club, although a more airy room would be better for kids.
The food in the hotel was excellent and service generally good, especially Marco and the older chap who looked like a wizard ! The two times we had bad service, were both over cream teas, so this could be falling into a void of responsibility.
The tennis coach was nice and not paying extra is great, I also played a round of golf down the road at the local golf course. All in all the holiday was a great success.
Many Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuidoTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have been staying at Saunton Sands for many years and, having just returned from a one week break, can honestly say that this rates amongst the best. The restaurant, which has sometimes been disappointing in the past, has much improved and all the guests in our party were very impressed with the quality and choice of the food served.The cleanliness of the hotel was first class and the staff warm, friendly and eager to please.In my opinion this is a wonderful place for a family holiday with lots of activities for both good weather and bad.It is also a romantic venue for just two with panoramic views and beautiful sunsets.What more could you want from a holiday...

Room Tip: Sea View a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
855 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
895 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,345 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
684 reviews
7.6 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Barnstaple
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range: £148 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing