We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and views, a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely location and views, a little tired”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel is in a wonderful location with an amazing terrace overlooking the beach. I was staying for a nearby wedding and the single bed room was comfortable, if a little chintzy. Overall I'd say it's in need of some modernisation and seems a little expensive for what it is.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    917
    463
    208
    113
    63
See reviews for
571
664
52
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have just returned after a lovely weekend break, from the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly welcoming staff who couldn't do enough for you.

Our bedroom which had a sea view was of a reasonable size and was very clean and well maintained. The bathroom was slightly on the small side though, however this did not detract from our enjoyment in anyway.

We were blessed with wonderful weather which enabled us to enjoy and unexpected opportunity to have afternoon tea sat outside on the terrace overlooking the magnificent beach.

Dinner on both evening was varied and very we'll presented and the desserts really finished the meal off as they were excellent.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short break and I will definitely be recommending this hotel to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Saunton Sands Hotel will not disappoint when it comes to views or the attitude of staff. Sea view rooms provide a stunning view, one could sit staring out for hours and enjoy scenes to die for! Check in is conducted by helpful and pleasant staff, in fact it would be wrong to segregate check in from all the other staff since each and everyone went out of their way to afford the guests every comfort and service required.
The hotel offers an half board rate. It is almost impossible to determine what ones entitlement is when it comes to evening dinning. A multitude of menus are placed before you and to unravel one from another is at best confusing or at worst designed to ensure that in the confusion you pay crazy rates for their food. That said the food is first class, both the evening meal and breakfast but the supplements of £10 for scallops (three in number and not very large) is profiteering, such supplements were in evidence on a good number of items. It should also be noted that this quality of hotel should have a chef in attendance during breakfast cooking eggs to order rather than having fried eggs lined up under a heater where in truth they become hard and unattractive. Yes the hotel has much to offer one but maybe the Brand family should reflect on what they charge and consider that their wonderful well placed building should not be seen as simply a cash cow but as a warm welcoming Devon hotel that treats the unsuspecting guest a little more sympathetically.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms are just wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalmesburyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed at the hotel last weekend. Had a single room 219. My room was very big with a balcony and fabulous view over the sea. Everything looked great until I tried my single bed. I am not a heavy person, 65kg but mattress just collapsed when I sat down. Every time I turned during the night the whole bed was shaking and wobbling. It was like sleeping in the jelly. It had the softest, cheapest mattress I have ever seen. It must have been there for centuries. I didn't get much needed sleep after a day of surfing. Very disappointing. One more thing, there was no soap or bodywash in the bathroom, even at Travellodge you get a small bar of soap for hand washing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zosiauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I was very sorry to read that you had such problems with your bed. Following your review I have personally checked the room to investigate the issues you have raised. As you quite rightly stated the bed was extremely soft. This was not however, due to the bed being old or broken. It was in fact caused by the bed base being sprung along with the mattress.

We have now replaced both the base and mattress, as I do feel that the softness was not conducive to a good nights sleep.

Thank you once again for bringing your observations to my attention and I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Saunton Sands Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed Saunton Sands, due to one of our best friends were getting married here and we thought due to its location, which is spectacular we would stay for the ease with the wedding and enjoy the stunning view, we booked a sea view room and were not disappointed with the view.
The service on arrival and at breakfast the next morning was spot on, also service from the terrace bar was absolutely fine. The breakfast was plenty and seemed nicely cooked. The room was of good size and clean, but we have stayed in better hotels for a lot less than we had to pay for one night here.
What really dissatisfied me was we bought two drinks from the terrace bat, then 1 hour later bought the same drinks from the bar were the wedding evening reception was and found out the drinks cost more! Also who charges £1.05 for a soda water?
Another guest of the wedding reception who was not staying at the hotel tried Toby drinks from the terrace bar was refused and directed to the reception bar! So only stay here if you have loads of money!

Room Tip: We visited friends who stayed in a self catering in brand new stunning holiday apartment two doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulMcG42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

On a positive note, I was very pleased to read that your room, the service and the standard and presentation of breakfast met with your approval.

I was sorry to read that you felt that there was a discrepancy in the prices at the separate bars. All drinks prices are the same throughout the hotel.

With all weddings we do advise the Bride and Groom that after a certain time we will direct their guests to the Saunton Suite as this is the venue for the evening reception and I'm sorry that you found this unacceptable.

Thank you once again for reviewing your recent stay and I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meitar, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is based on a WW II building built by the allied forces. It's clean and the service is very good. Breakfast is very generous and the setting of the hotel is outstanding! The area is gorgeous and has much to offer in outdoor activities. So, if you can get by the rather old and slightly stale furnishings, you will enjoy your stay. I would rate this hotel more as a high end three star rather than a four star.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank NSM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Saunton Sands Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you felt that the hotel furnishing felt slightly stale. The hotel has an ongoing refurbishment programme and I am sorry that you felt that this was not evident.

On a positive note, I was very pleased to read that you found both the cleanliness and the service to be very good and also that breakfast was enjoyable.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Saunton Sands Hotel and I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priors Hardwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Having stayed at the Victoria at Sidmouth on many times previously the Brend group offer first class service, high standard of food ,and first class accommodation What a disappointment, at Staunton Sands.our room with a sea view, was a broom cupboard, and bore no comparison to our suite which we take at the Victoria although roughly the same price.The dress code was not enforced by the management, and the influence of trendy surfers has led to the staff turning a blind eye to inappropriate attire in the dinning room.The food at dinner was unacceptable and the manager admitted that they were experimenting with a new menu,also the rate the dinner was served led me to believe that they were on a bonus to get the customers in and out in record time.The second night was an improvement and our comments had been listened to. Perhaps the management have had it too easy and a gentle kick up the backside is in order. Finally well done the staff, superb ,bright and bubbly.Needless to say we will be going back to the Victoria.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
816 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
843 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,234 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
612 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Property: Saunton Sands Hotel
Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing