We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple
1 review
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and to be honest I didn't think they could better the first time, however, they did!

This is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in, the staff are attentive and polite, the facilities are superb and the food faultless.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    459
    207
    108
    61
See reviews for
564
659
51
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had our wedding here in May. Could not fault staff especially Sam who was our wedding coordinator. Our room was lovely and had a beautiful view of Saunton. All in all a very good weekend. The staff all helped to make our day very special and we will definitely return to Saunton.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Hard to fault. Great food with an interesting choice of dishes. Breakfast is a lovely experience - lazy with everything one could wish for. Excellent service from young but willing staff. Wonderful room which had recently been refurbished to a very high standard with a super sized bed and very modern feel to it includind first class shower cubicle. The views are stunning looking over the three mile beach and the dunes. We have visited many times before and we are never disappointed. We will visit again shortly with our grandchildren.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Booked dinner,room and breakfast for our wedding anniversary.
Stayed in room 310, great views of the sea and beach and even had its own balcony.
The staff were very polite and friendly and i would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmoevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed here some 25 times over the previous 6 years.
In my view the hotel has clearly had time and money spent on it to bring it into the 21st century, however the 'service' has headed in the opposite direction. The door staff, creche staff and waiting staff pretty good! the management very very poor

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jonathan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel is in a wonderful location with an amazing terrace overlooking the beach. I was staying for a nearby wedding and the single bed room was comfortable, if a little chintzy. Overall I'd say it's in need of some modernisation and seems a little expensive for what it is.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have just returned after a lovely weekend break, from the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly welcoming staff who couldn't do enough for you.

Our bedroom which had a sea view was of a reasonable size and was very clean and well maintained. The bathroom was slightly on the small side though, however this did not detract from our enjoyment in anyway.

We were blessed with wonderful weather which enabled us to enjoy and unexpected opportunity to have afternoon tea sat outside on the terrace overlooking the magnificent beach.

Dinner on both evening was varied and very we'll presented and the desserts really finished the meal off as they were excellent.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short break and I will definitely be recommending this hotel to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
782 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
804 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,173 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
563 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Property: Saunton Sands Hotel
Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing