We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceived by a Hotel Group I have used for 30 years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I was emailed by this hotel with a special deal 5 days before we arrived.

On the morning of the second day we became aware that we couldn't dine in the restaurant that evening and would be in a function room. We were assured many times that the bars, lounges and terraces were still available. Then at 3pm we were informed that we would be banned from the hotel bar and lounge and 'hemmed into' a function room with a makeshift bar, lounge and eating area because all the hotel had been rented out to the local Fire brigade.

A dispute over the bill resulted in the Deputy Manager threatening to call the Police and have me arrested.

As a user of Brend Hotels inc. this one for 30 years I just cant believe the way we were deceived and treated.

What has gone wrong.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank robertkK4739UX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,314 - 1,320 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

We have stayed at the Saunton Sands Hotel on numerous occasions, and always receive a very warm welcome. The quality of service is always to a high standard. Would recommend the seaview rooms, as the view along the beach and Braunton Burrows is superb. The standard and choice of menus has improved since our last visit.

Room Tip: If available book a deluxe seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AHB742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Have been coming to Saunton Sands off and on for many years now and have always enjoyed being treated well and waited upon at meal times which I guess is what many people enjoy. However on this occasion the quality of breakfast and service has really gone down. It is now all self service and the food is right at the far end of the restaurant. We arrived down at about 8.50 and is was clear that much of the food had been sitting under the lamp since breakfast started at 7.30am. All the fried eggs were broken and mushed up together, the scrambled egg was floating in some sort of watery liquid which my daughter found inedible; in fact one guest return her breakfast as the tomatoes were too hard for her to cut!! Toast is now self service and you have to transport it back on a plate and no sign of a toast rack anywhere to keep the toast from getting damp!. The conveyer belt toaster only does one side which means if you put it through again one side will be done and the other side completely burnt. Not sure what all the waiter and waitress do? We had two dirty cups on arrival so they certainly do not check the tables. The restaurant looked lovely and nicely decorated and with the sun shining we had a beautiful view of the beach. However one of the waiters took it upon himself to close the blinds depriving us of the view that the hotel is able to charge for in the rooms!! When I asked why that had been done - nobody knew and that was that. It certainly wasn't to prevent the sun blinding anyone at that time in the morning. The blinds were left closed!!!
While the hotel looked beautiful and ready for Christmas a big disappointed that attention to customer service had really deteriorated over the 30 years we have been coming.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haddocklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We started visiting Saunton Sands Hotel 32years ago with our 2year old and then twice a year for a number of years with the 3 children. We have allso stayed over the years at other Brend Hotels and the standard has been what you want and expect and a mirror of the Saunton Sands Hotel.
The service, cleanliness, food, staff, rooms, facilities have always been first class and the location is fantastic.
We are now some years on and well used to 5* holidays/breaks and Saunton Sands is one of the best and will continue to return for that something special.
You will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms have fantastic views and vary in size from luxury large rooms with balconys to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Hi, our group recently had a four night stay at the hotel and everyone enjoyed it immensely. The rooms were clean and well laid out with tv, wifi and minibar!. The staff in the dining room and lounges were excellant where nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone whether a group, couples or singles wanting a first class holiday break.
Thank you all de Mike Hammond (Hon Sec) NDKSG

Room Tip: Look for a sea view which is excellant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was part a group of eight golfers with the Mr. McConachie party and I have to stay how much I enjoyed our stay. On arrival at reception and departure the service was excellent and very professional. The bedrooms and bathrooms were a great size and of very high standard. Staff were always warm and welcoming and extremely helpful. The food was very good, both dinner and breakfast. The hotel organised the transport for us which without would have been logistically impossible, the drivers being courteous and helpful at all times.

I would like to say a special thanks to Liz for her personal attention to detail, not only with accommodation, but arranging the golf tee times.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My weekend break with friends was greatly enhanced by the warm welcome and wonderful service we received from all the staff at this hotel. Not intrusive but always on hand to deal with any requests or offer advice on things to do or places to see in the area. The rooms were great with spectacular views and the food was excellent. We felt very relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra cost for the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
868 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
906 reviews
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
710 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,667 reviews
7.6 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range: £122 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing