We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We wanted a Winter break and that is just what we got. This Art Deco Hotel is beautifully designed and maintained, clean and welcoming.
Although the weather was incredibly blustery, it did not spoil things for us too much but, unfortunately for us, our room was cold (309). The radiator was not at all effective and an oil heater was brought into the room to help it to warm up.
Basic plumbing issues are easy to address and this applies to the hot water system as well because the water not only took an age to run hot in the shower, it did not have a great deal of power behind it.
There is too much furniture in the room and because of this or perhaps because the full length mirror is incorrectly positioned, it is difficult to access the mirror!
The restaurant and staff offered a very good service though. Everyone was efficient, friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, especially the evening meals of fine dining.

Room Tip: Check that the radiator is working properly. Also, it takes an age for the hot water to run through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in our magnificent Art Deco hotel and hope you enjoyed the stunning views of the stormy beach from the warmth of the Terrace Lounge. I apologise that your room was not warm enough although I'm glad we could rectify that with an additional heater. The hotel is undergoing continuous refurbishment with our new restaurant nearly complete, so I do hope you will visit us again very soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,210 - 1,216 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

My wife and I had visited this hotel on several previous occasions, and we were tempted again by their excellent offer of a deluxe sea facing room at an unbeatable rate. We were encouraged to find that the staff were altogether more friendly, more courteous, and less stuffy than we had met previously. It was a pity that we were not told prior to arrival that the restaurant would be out of action, as we would have booked a different date, however the restaurant staff worked tirelessly to make sure our meals were enjoyable occasions despite being held in the Terrace lounge. We made sure we made full use of the inviting swimming pool and superior aroma sauna, along with the snooker room and the comfortable lounge. Our room could not be faulted and how we wished the weather had been kinder so that we could have made good use of the wonderful balcony facilities and view.
This was a lovely break in the winter where our batteries were thoroughly recharged.

Room Tip: If you can afford to put the boat out a little then you will not regret booking a sea facing room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for your great review, it sounds as though you had a wonderful time and made use of our many leisure facilities. Our refurbished Art Deco restaurant will reopen in just a few weeks, I am sorry that it wasn't finished at the time of your visit, but am glad to hear that our staff looked after you. I hope that you come and visit us soon and would welcome your feedback on the new restaurant - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Top class hotel with fine meals and great sea facing rooms. Just the ticket for a winter break for our party of four . Fine walking from the hotel with no need to drive out . Dinners were a feature with wide venue and fine wine s

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveKing6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

I am delighted that you all enjoyed your winter break with us. We are very fortunate to be located amongst some of the finest scenery and walking routes in the county. I look forward to welcoming you back soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

we were in need of a relaxing break and thats just what we got. Lovely room with all the little extras that made you feel really special.
Food good and always hot even though the waiting staff had along way to bring it each time as the Restaurant was being refurbed. This was our second visit and won't be the last!

Room Tip: Have a sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

I am so pleased you had a relaxing stay with us. The refurbished restaurant is very nearly finished, so I do hope you will return soon to see what we have done, it's pretty spectacular - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was a last minute booking and even it's farther out I'm glad I booked. The staff were friendly, helpful ... excellent. The rooms were "average" with a need for the maids to be more vigilant I.e replace the note pads which look to have been used as a coaster for some time.
The pool and sauna were excellent and if I'm picky there were 2 v small tiles need replacing in the pool.
The restaurant was the biggest WOW ! Staff were awesome and the meals were creative, aesthetic and generally way above average. Loved the surprises on each plate ... like a grape that had been in a vanilla vinagarette, the rice balls, the curry cauliflower and the Rodda's cream - yum !

Room Tip: Sea view ... excellent "white noise" from the sea to sleep by !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamLBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent break with us. I have brought your comments to the attention of housekeeping. We are currently refurbishing some of our rooms, including the dining room, so we would love you to come back and enjoy our food, that you appreciated so much, again very soon, in even more sumptuous surroundings - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed for 5 nights over the Christmas period, and had another enjoyable relaxing time. Enjoyed the Christmas Lunch, and a present from Santa. The annual Walk For Hero's along the beach, was well attended by all guests, helped by a fine, but cold day, the complimentary hot drinks, laced if required with Brandy, Whiskey together with Cornish Pastries, were welcomed. The Boxing Day 7 course Gala Dinner was exceptional. There was a full program of entertainment for both adults and children, and that together with the Hotel facilities, entertained everyone. Race night, Casino night, and afternoon Bingo are some of our children's favourites events. They're already looking forward to next Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of the Saunton Sands Hotel at Christmas. I am delighted you enjoyed all of the activities we put on and enjoyed the Walk for Heroes, which is a charity close to our hearts. Your comments are most complimentary and we look forward to welcoming you again - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Just come home from a fabulous chilled out post New Year break at Saunton. Food was fabulous - the best of several stays over the past few years, views and beach walks sublime as ever and topped off by a great disco with lots of groups all mingling for a lovely atmosphere. Can't wait for our next stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveweekends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, I am glad to hear that your experiences keep getting better. We look forward to your next stay - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
844 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,319 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
672 reviews
7.6 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range: £157 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing