We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saunton Sands Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Woolacombe)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Watersmeet Hotel(Woolacombe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fortescue Arms(Woolacombe)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Durrant House(Bideford)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,943)
Filter reviews
1,943 results
Traveller rating
1,027
504
222
121
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,027
504
222
121
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace loungesea facing roomstunning locationmain restaurantfamily suiteindoor poollovely hotelshort breakart decobrend hotelsnorth devonsconescream teatable tennisrelaxing breakbrend groupgreat facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,338 - 1,343 of 1,943 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We and 10 other friends stayed at Saunton for a recent weekend break. Some played golf at the fantastic Saunton golf club, some walked for miles and some indulged in the pool and treatments.This is the second time our group has stayed here - and we again had a great time. The hotel and its service has a genteel relaxed atmosphere you just don't find very often nowadays.The setting itself gets you off to a good start - miles of sandy beach with rhythmic waves - is quite beautiful. Couple this with good food, nice rooms and friendly helpful staff, you know that you will not be disappointed and come away feeling warm and relaxed. Its not without its faults - the spa could be extended/ be more comprehensive but overall it is a great package.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jacksonandrula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

I'm glad to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. The golf club at Saunton really is fantastic and has some of the greatest views in the country. It sounds as though you all let your hair down and took advantage of our facilities, both in the hotel and outdoors. I hope you all went home feeling relaxed and will visit us again soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed here for an overnight business stay, checked in at 8pm and sat sown for dinner at 9pm. Food, (both dinner and breakfast) was an excellent standard and staff service to match. Room with a sea-view and balcony was amazing. Pool was warm, very quiet and relaxing. Thanks Saunton Sands. I will book again.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea-view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

I am pleased that your business stay was a relaxing one and that you were impressed with our staff and our food. I hope that your trip was a success and that we helped you unwind. Glad to hear that you will visit us again. Many thanks for your review - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Superb..I went here on the 22nd March 2014 for my brothers wedding and I have to say it was absolutely fantastic. Obviously being a bit nervous I was hoping the day would go without a glitch and it certainly did. The staff were just brilliant and as soon as we left the car were warmly greeted with smiles and went out of their way to make everybody (Who including me came from all over the country) feel really welcome, and couldn't do enough to look after us all.The food was simply awesome and the views match or better any in the world iv'e seen (Including Tuscany). The apartments attached to the hotel were beautiful and clean too. The comments from the guests regarding how good the staff were kept coming as did the impressiveness of the views and food.Reasonable prices at the bar too. I can't recommend this place enough so a massive thank you many will be coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you so much for recommending our hotel so brilliantly. I especially like your comments about our staff, facilities and of course location. The view from the hotel really is something special and I'm glad everything combined to ensure you had a fantastic stay for your brother's wedding. I hope to welcome you and other guests back again very soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

WOW... what can I say except FANTASTIC HOTEL.. First time I have ever visited saunton sands hotel and hopefully it won't be the last. Staff couldn't be more helpful if they tried. Right from when we got out our car from the the time we got back in the car. I will be recommending this hotel to my friends and family. But i did think the bathroom sinks needed a bit of attention when bieng cleaned THANKYOU for a wonderful relaxing three days

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

I am so thrilled to see your glowing review of Saunton Sands Hotel. We pride ourselves on looking after our visitors from the moment they arrive to the moment they return home. I shall pass on your comment to housekeeping. I look forward to you returning very soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have stayed here several times over the last ten years and our most recent stay was as good as any in the past with just one slight disapointment. On a quiet Sunday evening with only a few diners in the restaurant our main courses arrived lukewarm, the waitress was very good about it and the chef insisted on cooking a fresh lamb rump and vegetables rather than trying to warm it up.
The waitresses, bar staff and receptionists were all excellent and the room was very clean.
The February rain curtailed our walks somewhat but we did manage a good walk on the beach one day.

Room Tip: As everyone says, the sea view rooms are worth it if you can afford it. Also de luxe rooms give you a seat by the windows in the restaurant.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPedant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

It is always good to hear from our visitors that return year after year and it is pleasing to hear that you had another relaxing break. The issue regarding your meal was unfortunate but I'm glad to hear that a new steak was cooked for you and that you enjoyed our AA rosette dining experience. I very much look forward to your next visit - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews