We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Booked into a deluxe room after another hotel(Watersmeet) cancelled our reservation for a special celebration . Cannot find fault with Hotel on its standard of hospitality.From the moment we entered the hotel we felt completely pampered. Staff efficient, rooms immaculate.We left after three days feeling relaxed ,refreshed and sad to leave

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

I am so glad that we could accommodate you for your special occasion and that you were well looked after. It sounds as though you had a lovely time and I hope that you visit us again soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,223 - 1,229 of 1,834 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have just had three days at this excellent hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and had a relaxing and restful time. The food was very good, our bedroom had a wonderful view, and the staff were most helpful. Overall, although a little more expensive than our usual hotels, we felt it was good value for a special occasion. We hope to return soon for another mid-week break.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Redfeather2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your excellent review. I am so glad that you felt rested and relaxed after your stay. Please do visit us again soon, with the weather set to be fabulous this spring/summer the views will be even better - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We recently hired a suite for our AGM. With overnight stays for our shareholders. The food. Service. Quality of rooms were excellent & can highly recommend this venue for conferences & meetings.

The food served at lunch and throughout the afternoon was delightful. Our evening meal served by attentive staff along with the amusing stories from our wine waiter was most memorable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dawlishswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

It is great to see that from having stayed with us previously, that you subsequently booked our conference facilities and also had a great time. We work hard to provide superb holidays as well as a unique venue for business. I look forward to seeing you again soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

From arrival to departure every member of staff spoke and smiled as you approached them, from the porter who carried our bags in and checked we were happy with our room , to the cleaner in the bar area this morning. Room clean, smart, very comfortable bed, good lighting, excellent view of the coast. Bathroom with the added bonus of a bath and shower, clean and warm, very spacious. Corridors at comfortable temperature, not too hot. Excellent food in the dining room, some staff more professional than others,.to be fair some we fairly new. Very comfortable lounge /bar area to sit and relax. only disappointment was the small weak complementary Coffee served in that area after your meal. Why not just a normal cup of good Coffee. The weather was warm for the time of year and it was possible to sit for a while on the Terrace, fantastic views.. Nice looking pool didn't have time to use it or have a beauty treatment. Would be very happy to stay again, very relaxed visit

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DevonJules54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your five star review. I am very proud of our staff and I am glad they made you feel at home from the moment you arrived. I shall raise your comment regarding coffee with the team, thank you for your comments. I do hope that you will visit us again very soon, and hopefully try the outside pool when the weather is a bit warmer! - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights half board in a land facing room which was absolutely fine. The lounge was very well appointed, extremely comfortable with a relaxed atmosphere and attentive staff who were friendly and not intrusive. The view from the lounge and patio was simply beautiful which negated the need to have a sea view room so if not available or within your budget it really doesn't matter as you spend so little time in your room anyway.
The restaurant and food was superb served by attentive staff in an impressively appointed dining room.
We booked the hotel on a deal which made the stay excellent value but the usual tariff is a little eye watering and we probably wouldn't have paid the full rate. On the whole an excellent hotel made so by its fantastic location and its attentive staff.

Room Tip: You really don't need to pay the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. You are quite right, should sea facing rooms not be available, the views form the terrace lounge are enviable and a simply stunning place to enjoy coffee or a glass of wine. I do hope that you will visit us again soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in March as part of a family reunion. The position is magnificent. Sea view rooms look out over one of the best and most dramatic beaches in the UK. It is a 30's hotel that has been very well cared for . Rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The main dining room is cleverly laid out with smaller tables in a terrace area and larger ones in a central chandelier lit space. The food was outstanding, and the service very good. It models itself on the "Grand Hotel" style but adapts to special events, vacation visitors and locals treating themselves. Beware if there is a big party going on tho, it might intrude on your quiet treat or romantic tryst and can overwhelm the staff.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in room 308, end of corridor with excellent sea views. Sadly it also look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

I'm happy to read that you had a great time with us at your family reunion. I hope that you enjoyed the newly refurbished restaurant and were delighted with our award-winning food. As you say, we have designed the restaurant to cater for large parties, families and couples and give equal attention to all. I do hope to see you all again very soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Saunton Sands Hotel
A splendid hotel perched on a high cliff with one of the best views in Devon. Below the waves break onto the long golden beach of Saunton.
The hotel is very good and the architecture is art deco with rooms and public areas decorated to match. I would not have been surprised to see one of the dining tables suddenly stunned into silence by an unsolved murder and “Hercule Poirot” trotting into the room to solve it.
The food was very good and the staff efficient and friendly. The pool and the sauna are a great escape if the weather outside is grim.
If you stay at this hotel make sure you have a sea facing room for the incredible view.
The only gripes about this very good establishment are the lack of updates in the hotel room guide which stated that there was complimentary bottled water in the room. (They no longer provide bottle water, but the tap water is just as good). I was also put off about dress code for men which mentioned having to wear a tie for dinner; I am not sure if the tie would enjoy the meal or enhance the food. Luckily, this is not enforced but it does conjure up a very stuffy image which this hotel does not have.

Room Tip: Sea View is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review of your stay, your Poirot comment made me smile and goes to show we have done justice to our art deco building! We will shortly be updating our in room literature. We have recently amended our dress code for dinner and updated our website as follows: From 6.30pm smart dress is required for dinner, in other words we don’t allow sportswear, collarless shirts, shorts, trainers or sandals to be worn please. Smart jeans may now be worn in the restaurant. i do hope that you will visit us again very soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
860 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
902 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,359 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
689 reviews
7.6 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range: £126 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing