We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheltenham Chill Out!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cheltenham Chill Out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Recently returned from my favourite place.Lovely to see that the refurbishment is underway and another indication of how beautiful this hotel is, with total attention to detail.
Food superb as always as was the service.
Can't wait to get back to this place soon, book now you won't regret it!!

Tom N

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
I am thrilled you enjoyed your relaxing break with us. I shall pass on your comments to our staff especially those in the kitchen. I look forward to your next visit - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    446
    204
    105
    61
See reviews for
556
639
49
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is our favourite place to spend a relaxing chilled out weekend. From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed and all the staff were most helpful throughout our stay. We were lucky to be able to book a couple of treatments in the Spa area, which were fabulous and finished the weekend off nicely and would thoroughly recommend. The food was lovely, with a good varied choice of menu.

Room Tip: We had a family suite which comprised of 2 rooms to enable our daughter to have her own room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debs_272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
It sounds as though you had a truly relaxing stay with us. Our spa treatments really are fantastic and I'm glad you enjoyed them, thank you for recommending us. Please do come and visit us again soon - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

First time at saunton sands hotel not disappointed the room with sea view was great . The swimming pool was lovely and warm all the staff were really helpful and friendly and the food really nice we departed very chilled out and sorry to leave we will return. Robert & Georgie w

Room Tip: We had room 127 which overlooked outdoor pool and right across beach and sands fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
I'm very happy that your first stay with us was a great experience. I do hope you will visit us again this year - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Hotel made a poor start - we hired Beach and Sands apartments. These apartments had been used previously as break out rooms for a conference and unfortunately both lounges till had used glasses, bottles of water, flip charts and paper materials from the delegates strewn across the rooms - clearly not looked at prior to arrival of new guests. Matt the deputy manager sorted this out in double quick time and provided a complementary cream tea! Some facilities neglected - the snooker room had several trays of used empty beer glasses present. The gymn had some good looking machines but why was a hot food display counter dumped in the middle of this room? Swimming pool and sauna excellent - clean and enjoyable and well tended. The path down to the beach is untended and fencing neglected.We'll certainly come back - just a bit of attention here and there needed to make this a first class stay. Colin Burgess

Room Tip: Beach and Sands apartments have fantastic views of the beach, bay and dunes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Colin C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased that Matt was able to solve the issue with your apartments, but this is clearly not the norm and I shall of course speak to housekeeping. I am glad that you will come and see us again and I hope that that will be very soon - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

It never dissapoints, friendly staff without being to familiar, excellent position, lovely facilities the recent refurbishment looks great and the food is very good. I can't think of a better hotel for a family break or full holiday. Better value for money would be hard to find

Room Tip: any sea facing is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyT51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
What a great review, thank you. Our staff pride themselves on looking after our guests and I shall report back that this was achieved. Please do visit again soon - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a weekend away planned and were looking forward to our stay. We found the hotel easily enough, and checking in was a nice smooth process and reception staff were very helpful. We were advised the lift was not working, but as we were on the first floor this didn't affect us, we did however sadly see some elderly guests struggling with walking sticks on the stairs.

On booking, the only availability was an inland room, which we didn't mind too much, but did not expect what we got. It was a small dark room, with a very soft uncomfortable small double bed. It looked very tired - which was a stark contrast to the communal areas of the hotel, and generally a bit grubby (in ground marks on the bathroom lino and tide marks on the bath)

We had lunch in the bar/restaurant, and when our food finally arrived it was raw in the middle. We sent this back and waited 40 mins for replacement food, which was only just about cooked. We were comped a round of drinks for our inconvenience.

Our bed was uncomfortable, the room ridiculously hot - and we turned off the heater and opened the window to be confronted with an awful 'fan' noise from outside.

Breakfast was terrible - uncooked bacon, uncooked sausages, barely cooked hash browns (hard potato in the middle) fried eggs which still had a layer of uncooked egg white on the top - and burnt tasting coffee.

On checking out I spoke to reception and the duty manager to let him know our comments, but overall we were so disappointed and would not recommend this hotel - we certainly won't be returning.

Room Tip: I have a feeling the sea view rooms will be much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt you didn't experience our usual high standards. Please do contact me personally to chat about your review, I would be happy to discuss your comments - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My kids will not go anywhere else...they love Saunton....as we do. The best value for money family holiday anywhere in the UK....sand, surf, great food, great service....what else can anyone ask for?

Stunning location for all age groups who are looking for the best value for money....just perfect. This is our fifth time and we have never had a problem or mishap.

Saunton Sands is great.

Room Tip: Beautiful family apartment with 180 degree ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
What a great review of our hotel, thank you. At Saunton we love families and with the beach, pools and our entertainment, it truly is the perfect location for creating family memories. I do hope you will come back time after time, even when your children have all grown up! Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Property: Saunton Sands Hotel
Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing