We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Bizarre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Well where do I start,

Dinner with two very trusted and amazing colleagues.
We decided to have some good wine, good food and good conversion. The waitressing and bar staff are clearly following a process that has been given to them, to such an extent that each time we ordered dome thing I was expected to sign the bill......then we were cleaned up at 9.30pm, clear up those dishes!!!!! We put out the staff by asking for cheese, and it all got even more difficult by asking for a different wine with the cheese. Oh dear what I considered to be a very special dinner with colleagues become a process, staff were were not interested until they wanted to get table ready for breakfast the next day. messsssrs Brendt, you reap what you sow. Good luck, you may week struggle, to understand what in talking about.!!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Canny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

This sounds like a very strange situation and not one I've ever heard about before. Our staff of course have standards to meet but do not follow a process. You have visited us on more than one occasion over the last couple of years, so I know you know what to expect from our staff. I would be happy to speak to you about this in more detail - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,779)
There are newer reviews for Saunton Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,152 - 1,158 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Lovely spot for lunch and a walk on the beach, flying time from the Cotswolds is about 45min, the helipad is a little challenging an interesting approach over the tennis court and carpark which is mostly down wind when the wind if from the west.

Food was great, we ate on the terrace on one of the first warm days of spring and the staff were lovely. Views fantastic and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank p b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

What a great way to visit us, flying in and landing on our helipad for lunch. I'm glad you arrived safely and had a great time with us - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Short break away from the kids ( 4 nights) Lovely hotel and the staff were fantastic, nothing too much trouble. Not used to dressing up for dinner which was stated on the welcome pack so overdressed on the first night but after that just smart jeans, shirt and shoes. Food was great and service level couldn't have been better. First 3 nights were the best as come the weekend ( mothers day) the place filled up and I felt the staff were overworked as they had a wedding reception as well. On our last day the only lift broke down and the poor porter had a good workout with guests checking in and out and even carrying people in wheelchairs. ( well done that man) The pool / spa area suffered a little on the last day but like I said earlier I think this was only down to overworked staff. Breath-taking view, great for chilling out / walking / surfing. Already thinking about going back.
I didn't tip any staff individually as it would have cost too much so just waited until checkout and they have a collection for all staff which is divided up at xmas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N252ZPDavid_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review, it sounds as though you had a great time and I shall pass on your comments to the staff, especially our porter, he always goes above and beyond for our guests. I hope to welcome again very soon - Pete brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just returned after a two night stay at saunton sands hotel. Stayed in room 218 with sea view for our 35th wedding anniversary,perfect. Room facilities excellent ,soft fluffy towels in bathroom ,room service for breakfast was lovely looking out over the beach.
Staff at hotel all really helpfull,food excellent and facilities very good. Will be booking again for sure.

Room Tip: Sea view room well worth the extra.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 381CaroleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

I am so pleased to hear that you had a memorable wedding anniversary, thank you for your review. I look forward to your next visit - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I was impressed,
mine was a late booking, and on phoning reservations I was offered a choice of two rooms both at the same price, i choose one, but on arrival the hotel had upgraded my room, they obviously had a "better" room available, so they gave it to a customer,
by the way, the room was superb.
To quickly sum up,
the staff are friendly and knowledgeable,
Dinner was lovely,
the reception staff are fun,
its a good hotel

R J Harris

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you so much for your five star review. I'm so glad you had a good time and that you were pleased with your accommodation and our staff - I really hope to welcome you back again soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed at the Saunton Sands Hotel following a succesfukl days golf at the nearby Saunton GC. The staff were very helpful and we were upgraded to sea facing room with a view to die for. The hotel decor is beautiful and rooms were very well appointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

I'm glad you had a great golfing break, the course at Saunton really is fantastic and shares the same views as the hotel so is very special. I hope you will come back and stay with us again very soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Went with friends for a three day break. Just what the doctor ordered. Great friendly service, fabulous food, beautiful refurbished Dining Room and Lounge AND the sea facing room with fantastic views made for a GREAT CHILL OUT. Will go again SOON

Room Tip: Sea facing Room worth every penny.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you liked or newly refurbished art deco restaurant and terrace lounge. We are thrilled with the results and had so many great comments already. Please do come and visit us again very soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
836 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
864 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,276 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
646 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range: £159 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing