We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golf Tournament ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saunton Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Golf Tournament ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Played a 2 day event at Saunton GC and picked this hotel for proximity, delighted I did.

Staff were all excellent, from a warm and courteous welcome through reception bar and restaurant all employees were first class. Slight word of caution; the Duty manager (Paul I think) kindly Upgraded me to Room 124 which was very nice. 102 which was my original allocation is too small and has no view.

Excellent public rooms and breathtaking views. Bar staff have a good knowledge of cocktails and serve them with a smile all night.

I will definitely return to this hotel knowing that I will enjoy a friendly atmosphere in wonderful surroundings.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SiBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your great review. We work closely with Saunton Golf Club and are happy to take golfers there and back so they can fully enjoy their day. The course is spectacular and enjoys some of the same enviable views as the hotel. I shall pass on your glowing reports regarding service to our staff. I do hope to welcome you back again very soon - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    436
    202
    105
    61
See reviews for
550
616
49
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Our daughter got married here on the 5th april and it was magic.The staff were wonderful everything went as smooth as clockwork,views are amazing,dinner was lovely had no complaints from anyone at all and the evening buffet was really great as well,and the disco the hotel put on was brill.There were quite a few of us who stayed overnight and everyone said what a great night sleep they had(beds were so comfy didn't want to get out).Well to top it all we had a fantastic breakfast,so much choice it was hard to choose.Thankyou all had an amazing time will never forget that special day :) .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
What a great testament to our events team your review is. It fills me with pride when I read that great memories have been made at our hotel. Weddings are truly special occasions and I'm so pleased to hear that everyone had a fantastic time and the day went without a hitch. I hope that you will come back and see us again soon for a relaxing break - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Last minute booking turned into a wonderful couple of days, arrived for lunch and could not believe the view you get from the hotel bar, so we sat and had lunch on the terrace looking over the beach.

Room also had the same amazing view. The reception were very welcoming, the kids (age 18mths and 3) instantly started tearing around noisily but no one batted an eye lid, made them feel very welcome!

2 hrs supervision for the children in the playroom gave my husband and I time to have a relax ourselves, this in itself would encourage me to book again.

18 month old woke for the day at 4am on the 2nd night, so he didn't wake the whole hotel I wearily took him downstairs, the night porters brought me tea and biscuits and also opened the playroom for us, made getting up at 4am much more bearable!

Swimming pool great, only used indoor as it was too early in the year for outdoor.

Will definitely be booking again for next Easter.

Room Tip: I think the 2nd floor are refurbished and the 3rd floor not,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
I'm so pleased you had a relaxing break with us and that (mostly) the weather was kind over the Easter break. We love having families to stay and I'm pleased, even though you were woken early, you received the best treatment from our staff. Pleased to hear you and your husband made use of the 2 hour child supervision, it can make all the difference just a few hours of you time. I look forward to seeing you next year - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Visited here at Christmas for their Christmas party

The food and service was brilliant.

Location fantastic, just a short walk to the sea. Rooms overlook beach and are clean and lovely.

Staff accomodating and very friendly.

Room Tip: Front of the Hotel with sea View Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of your stay with us - hope to see you again this Christmas - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent two nights over Easter and thoroughly enjoyed it. View from the hotel is fantastic and the view from the restaurant in the evenings is amazing. Food was excellent in the restaurant and service throughout was very good indeed. A very enjoyable stay and we will definitely go back to the Saunton Sands. Rooms were very comfortable and very clean.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a sea view as it really is an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NualaMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
I'm so pleased you had a great Easter break with us, we really are blessed by our location and I'm glad you enjoyed the views - please do visit us again soon - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Saunton Sands Hotel has perfectly captured the essence of what a great English seaside hotel should be and many others should study and perhaps emulate what they have achieved.
Rooms are comfortable and clean; food was excellent; the bar well-stocked and lively; the facilities (pool, spa, etc) very good; the location outstanding and, most of all, the staff were incredible.

Although the exterior of Saunton Sands Hotel looks a little tired, don't be misled by those first impressions. Inside, the hotel really is lovely and the staff cannot do enough to accommodate your needs. As in all hotels, the staff are key and in this regard, the hotel is outstanding. Although quite traditional (old-fashioned?) the whole atmosphere of the place comes across as completely charming as you get the feel this was how things were 'in the old days' - and I mean that as a great compliment!

If you are thinking of a visit to Devon Saunton Sands is very worthy of consideration, and if the weather is on your side too you will have a wonderfully memorable stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank multiply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
I am thrilled with the compliments you have given our staff, I shall pass your comments on to them. They really are incredible and go the extra mile to make sure that every guest's stay is as memorable as possible. We are constantly renovating the hotel both inside and out, so I hope you can come back and see what we do next - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We've just spent easter at this hotel which was fabulous. There is a homely friendly feeling from the staff and the food is very good. They provide plenty of entertainment for both adults and children and the crèche is a wonderful added bonus to give parents a couple of hours to themselves! The treatments are very good too...
The only complaint is that the showers to the indoor swimming pool were not as clean as we would have liked and a wedding was booked on Easter Sunday which subjected the guests to a lesser space in the lounge area and staff were run off their feet!
However, we will return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hamoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
I'm so pleased to hear that your family had a wonderful stay with us. I shall pass your comment regarding the shower by the pool on to housekeeping, thank you for mentioning that. I do hope that you will return, perhaps in the summer so that your family can make full use of the fabulous beach and outdoor family activities - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
7.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Property: Saunton Sands Hotel
Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing