We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My family and I have just returned from a week long stay at Saunton Sands and we all had a fantastic time!

The hotel is beautiful!! Its in a stunning location overlooking the gorgeous Saunton beach, the décor is clean and modern yet comfortable and traditional all at the same time and the staff are very friendly and always happy to help. We would like to say a particular thanks to 'Hareum'- think that was his name (a restaurant manager...), he was absolutely lovely, very professional and attentive to our needs throughout the evenings and really made us feel special. So thank you!

The only improvement/suggestion I can think of that would add to the amazing overall experience at this hotel would be, in the mornings, it would have been nice if the toast was served to the tables along with the teas and coffees as the self service set up didn't feel very 'holiday like' having to queue and wait for ages for your toast to be toasted! And if my only grumble about the hotel is to do with toast... I think that speaks volumes!

This was our second visit to Saunton Sands hotel and we shall definitely be returning again next year!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I'm so pleased you all had a fantastic time and thrilled with your five star review. I shall make sure that all of the team are thanked on your behalf, it makes me very proud to read reviews about individual members of staff. I take on board your comments about toast in our buffet style breakfast. Looking forward to welcoming you back next year - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    445
    204
    105
    61
See reviews for
556
637
49
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our stay in this hotel was generally good but there were a number of issues in the restaurant. We had booked dinner, bed & breakfast and stayed a number of nights. Although there were a few issues, breakfast was generally acceptable. The main problems were during dinner. Our first choice of wine was not available and on a number of occasions the dishes we chose from the menu for the day were also unavailable, although we were not late in arriving. When we were handed the menus, we were not told that these dishes were off and so, having chosen, we had to look again. There were long delays between ordering and the arrival of the food, especially the desserts. We have stayed with this hotel group before and never had any problems. Although this is not relevant to our stay, we mentioned our experience to someone after our return home and they said they had had the same experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExeterGadabouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. i am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Service is something we are very proud of at the hotel, so I have ensured that your comments have been passed to the team. I assure you that should you decide to make a return visit in the near future you will have a second to none dining experience - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have just returned from a short week at this hotel and would have happily extended our stay. My son, aged 6, loved the Play Room, where he was very well entertained by first-class, caring staff. He is a fussy eater but the buffet style Children's tea suited him well. My daughter, aged 12, enjoyed the tennis lessons and all of the evening activities. We all enjoyed the pools which were never over-crowded. My wife and I enjoyed the evening dinners and the easy access to the wonderful Saunton Sands beach. It was great to be able to come from surf boarding or walking in the dunes straight up to our rooms. This is more family focused hotel than others in the Brend group which we have visited but on this occasion that suited us. The Brend hotels make a virtue of an old-fashioned approach, part of which is excellent service.

Room Tip: The sea view is worth paying for if you can negotiate a reasonable rate. The standard, rack rates ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
What a great review, many thanks. I'm so pleased that you and your family had a great holiday with us. We really do love welcoming families, there is so much to do all year round but especially in the summer at the hotel with an activities and entertainment on every single day. I expect you have enjoyed going home for a rest! Please do visit us again very soon - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

To be fair, we only stayed one night on our way through. Our room was 'inland facing' but in fact looked over the roof of part of the hotel. It was clean and ok but definitely not worth what they charged and did not feel like a four star room, I imagine the sea view rooms are better. Staff were friendly, plentiful and helpful. The hotel has a 1920s feel, the public areas seem well looked after and the beach location is beautiful. We had dinner in the restaurant which lacked any atmosphere and the food was not great at dinner or breakfast. Personally, I would not stay here again as it felt slightly like a high class holiday camp or low budget cruise line.

Room Tip: Choose the sea view rooms as stunning location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I hope that you make a return visit for a slightly longer stay and try one of our sea-facing rooms, with unrivaled views of the bay and sample our several dining experiences. We have recently undergone extensive renovation and I'm glad you enjoyed our art deco styling. Our hotel is four star graded with a two AA rosette award winning restaurant so I do hope you will come back another time to try the whole Saunton Sands experience and make use of all our facilities inclusing the spa and pools - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely hotel, great location. Staff polite and attentive during the day. However, the service and quality of the food in the Terrace Lounge did not live up to expectations. We ate there for 3 evenings during our stay and each time the service was VERY slow. One of the meals was sub standard and send back. On that occasion we also had to keep reminding staff to complete our order - of coffee and cheese board! We made our feelings known to staff but not once did a manager come to speak with us. Our comments were detailed on the hotel's feedback form and noted when settling the bill. We do hope that management are made aware. We will think twice about staying here again despite the fantastic beach on he doorstep. So disappointing!

Room Tip: Don't have an inland view room as you will be over the car park and main entrance - noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the trouble to review your stay with us. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and I shall pass on your comments to the team. I do of course read all of the comments left by our visitors and have raised the points you made. Service is something we are very proud of, and I am sorry that you didn't receive the service expected in the Terrace Lounge, this is most unusual. I do hope that you will decide to make a return trip to see us - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The staff are excellent here. It's timings for conference visitors/picky points which detract from the perfect stay. Came here for a conference with colleagues in May. Needed to edit and print something out - no business centre available. Bit peeved as no netcafe locally. Manager v.kindly lent his laptop to me to enable this to happen - am eternally grateful to him.

Was very keen for spa treatments but slightly annoyed the spa kept 9-5 hours as conference guests had to cut short their learning/workshops to get their treatments in. Would be thankful if the spa could do 11-7/8 on these days as only a few of us (20 plus guests) managed to try their fab facilities. Beautician was kind and skilful.

Room wonderful with beautiful sea view, food excellent quality for mass catering. Enjoyed running in the gym (male attendant walked in without knocking on door and could scare you if you aren't prepared for him - if you wear a headscarf, I suggest you keep it on if working out) and walking on the beach.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea view - 318/418.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EndodocLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your five star review of your conference stay with us. Currently our spa times are 9-5, however, you raise an interesting point regarding those visiting for conferences which I shall discuss with the management team. So pleased you enjoyed the spectacular views and our dining experience, I hope that you will visit us again perhaps for a short break next time - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We've been coming here for our main summer holiday for four years in a row and have just returned from a 5 night stay today. Let's start with what the hotel get's right, excellent service(particularly the Maitre D', London standard), lots of staff well trained, extremely courteous. Hotel freshly painted, lawns manicured, tennis court relaid, BEAUTIFUL location, caters for children really well, great entertainment..Loved the Silent Disco..however we noticed that whereas once it was a good hotel with an excellent restaurant the food has slipped this year, perhaps cost saving, perhaps a new head chef. Especially noticeable in the puddings, we remember the names of last year's classics, Death by Chocolate, A Taste of Strawberries five ways etc. this year was very markedly poorer in quality and presentation also they have unfortunately relaxed the 'dress for dinner, wear a tie' rule which invites T Shirts and flip flops. Our room was very poorly located despite being told we would have one of a quality as the previous year. It was sea facing out of one window but the other two were above the car park and the bins/service area which was very noisy. When asked to move the receptionist on both occasions said yes but was overruled by reservations/management both times. The Duty manager said he would take care of a rate reduction and move the staff who socialised and ate their dinner al fresco below our one sea facing window. Neither the rate reduction nor the staff were moved. We asked reception on our first day for an extra remote control because there was only one for two TVs, they said they would take care of it but nothing happened. We asked when we reserved whether there would be a wedding on during our stay as we have unfortunately had the experience of a wedding taking over the whole hotel, we were reassured that No, nothing was booked and they have a policy of not taking wedding receptions during the high season months of July and August. On the thursday of our stay there was a wedding. My advice, do not accept a booking for Room 108 and rooms above, if you were to pay for inland facing and got this room you might be happy because you have a sea view but if you have paid for sea facing then you will be very disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 108, 208, 308
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamaracuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review and your comments regarding our excellent service and facilities. The management are extremely sorry that you feel that your issues were not dealt with at the time to your satisfaction but we do hope that you will make a return visit - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Property: Saunton Sands Hotel
Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing