We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Summer Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Summer Holiday”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Have just returned from 10 nights at Saunton Sands Hotel, staying with friends for a summer break. Once again the whole experience was superb - the staff and management are very professional yet friendly, the service and food quality is excellent throughout the hotel and the rooms and facilities are of a very high standard. Add to this the location and views, which are simply stunning, and there really is no need to fly off anywhere abroad.

Well done to Pete Brend and his team once again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea facing are well worth paying the little extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wycombewanderer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review, I'm so glad you had a fantastic time. Looking forward to seeing you again very soon - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    461
    207
    112
    61
See reviews for
567
662
51
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland.
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed 2 nights here and the setting is truly stunning. It would appear this hotel has very high levels of repeat customers which is a great sign. I had a single room, that was a little disappointing.
It could have been bigger and cleaner and although I knew in advance there wasn't a sea view, the small window looked out on a dull view of a flat roof at the back. Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice and the view from the dining room and terrace is fabulous. The staff were very friendly and polite but on a number occasions when ordering food or a drink it seemed to take forever to get served even when there only a few customers and the place was swarming with staff.
At Saunton on the sands I got a table and menu and waited half an hour in the hope of being served. I asked a passing waiter 3 times to take my order to no avail. I gave up, life is too short for that.
This could be a magnificent hotel if they don't work off location and reputation alone and avoid complacency.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PlanetWaves20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Four of us had a wonderful Sunday Lunch sitting on the terrace with probably the best view for miles. We had great service and just a super time. We were then able to relax by the bar while some walked down to the beach.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lissiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks for your great review, you were blessed with some fantastic weather too to make the views even more spectacular. I do hope you will come back and enjoy another Sunday lunch with us very soon - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights and could not fail to be impressed by the location and the hotel itself. We enjoyed all facilities and our son was particularly impressed with the free tennis lessons BUT...the service at both the terrace and restaurant was poor, and I feel even that is a generous description. The staff were very friendly and helpful when prompted but on two occassions our food arrived significantly before our cutlery. One evening we ordered wine after our meal and despite reminding staff we gave up after 45 minutes of still not receiving them and went to bed. We were charged on checkout for meals we had paid for at the table. We had to repeatedly ask for several things (children's menu, tea, wine, cutlery, butter for the rolls we had been given) and then had to make space on our table when they arrived in multiples 15 minutes later.

The rooms were generously sized with amazing views, our room even came complete with a previous occupants socks. A number of items were knocked under furniture and around the room during cleaning and althought the bedding was clean the pillows smelled. Bathrooms in rooms were dated and cramped

I really struggle with this reveiw as I loved the venue in principle but feel it was lacking in execution.

Overall I would recommend it for families, facilities are great, location is fantastic, reception staff were always willing to help. The spa was wonderful, nice cocktails and food, but service could be a lot sharper given the prices.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I'm so pleased at your son enjoyed the tennis lesson as part of our family summer entertainment package and that you would recommend us for families, and overall you had a great holiday. I'm sorry that your dining experience was not up to standard, I shall raise these points with the restaurant team and also speak to housekeeping. I hope that you will make a return visit in the future - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

It was our first time at SSH, we booked a family suite overlooking the sea. The staff were incredibly friendly - nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for first class service. The food was very impressive in the main dining room and not as expensive as we thought it might be. The package we chose was a on a bed and breakfast basis - sometimes we ate at the hotel, other times we went to one of the many local restaurants. The entertainment in the evening was also most enjoyable - overall we had a fantastic holiday and would love to go back!

Room Tip: Try and book a sea view room - views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Donna241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased you had a fantastic time and I hope to welcome you back very soon - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had sandwiches, cream teas and desserts here and enjoyed the lovely views. The prices were rather high for the quality of the food, which we found disappointing. For a cream tea, the national trust nearby served much nicer ones, with large, fruit scones and fresh strawberries, so we were disappointed with the small, plain and rather tasteless ones we had here. We thought the quality was mediocre. The sandwiches and desserts were acceptable, as were our drinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank V&RLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review of our cream tea. I'm sorry that you felt the scones were not up to scratch and I shall pass your comments on to the team. I'm glad though that you enjoyed the sandwiches and the amazing views we have at the hotel - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I follow this hotel to see if it has improved at all...as it is in a stunning location but the Management have no eye for detail....& also sadly - single rooms are abysmal....a hugely expensive cost for mundane, poorly equiped, dated, uninspired dysfunctional rooms- that need renovation & ,major overhall so badly.
There are still mixed reviews on this hotel... but it is obvious,- single travelers fare the v worst of all.

Room Tip: avoid single rooms especially ask to view room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
799 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
822 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,197 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
580 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Property: Saunton Sands Hotel
Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing