We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have just returned from a three night stay at Saunton Sands Hotel. Our little group consisted of my mother (73 years), my two girls (9yrs & 6yrs) and me 43yrs. I mention our ages as this friendly and accommodating hotel caters for all ages. We shared an inland facing room which was a good size and both clean and modern. The facilities were excellent - we used both indoor and outdoor pools, table tennis, enjoying the view from the terrace lawn and on previous visits have made use of the spa, the putting green and tennis courts. The hotel is well situated making very easy access to the beach not to mention the amazing views it commands.
the service from the staff was first class who were always very amenable and prompt. The food was delicious with the bbq evening being our favourite - a very extensive buffet. My youngest enjoyed the children's tea at 5pm in the dinning room and was then able to sit with us at dinner time for the other two evenings which were more formal. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Last but by all means not least the entertainment provided each day and evening was spot on for us. We particularly enjoyed the silent disco and bingo evenings. All a bit tongue in cheek! Very inclusive to all ages. We enjoyed seeing large groups of families from babies to grandparents relaxing, laughing and generally enjoying the atmosphere and each other's company.
This is the one place my eldest daughter has been going to since she was six months old and is repeatedly asking us to take her back to. The only downside this year was that my husband had to miss out due to his work commitments. If you are thinking of going, book now you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: A room with a sea facing view is very special but if you like to be out and about then you get excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HSCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your great review. We are a family run business with many generations of our family working together to make your family holiday the best it can be. Your review shows that we are getting it right and I thank you very much for telling every one about your time with us. Please do keep returning, there will always be new entertainment to keep you all amused - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at The Saunton Sands Hotel, Braunton, Devon and were blown away! Everything from the porterage and concierge service on arrival, the reception staff, the bar and restaurant staff all the way to the superb room and facilities - everything was just out of this world! Nothing was too much trouble or impossible and we were greeted with a good morning or afternoon and a friendly smile. This hotel is definitely a sentimental reminisce back to the 1930's without looking dated, when the service was always exceptional and never over top or suffocating. I really enjoyed my stay here- not least because it was my birthday and the view from the room left me speechless!!! I hope I can one day go back to visit, even if it's for a cream tea on The Terrace.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

What an amazing five star review - thank you. iIhope that you had a fantastic birthday and I really do hope that you come back again soon. I shall pass on your comments to the team - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were recommended to try this hotel by friends as we didn't want the hassle of flying abroad and stayed for 5 nights.

We had a sea view - must be one of the best coastal scenes in the UK and well worth the extra.
The room was good and the bathroom had recently been modernised to a high standard.The only disappointment was no bath robes.

The staff , restaurant , and general facilities for people of all ages including families were all very good - in a very traditional English style, which we enjoyed.

The location is great for exploring North Devon by car with options for taking walks right outside the hotel door to the beach and along the coast line itself to Croyde.

We look forward to making a return visit.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank garry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

I am so pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us and decided to holiday in North Devon, it really is a special place. I shall pass on your great comments to the team and really hope to see you again very soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Back again for another dose of magic from my favourite hotel and then some.
Once again found the whole experience flawless, from arriving to be greeted by the staff and management to our sad goodbye.
Food once again was excellent , with nothing too much trouble for the staff.Room beautiful and along with the view- simply the best that money can buy! Fun entertainment from Roger Lee whom plays the greatest sounds to the superb bar staff for whom nothing is too much trouble!

Overall 10 out of 10 without doubt!

Room Tip: All beautiful but sea view so worth it- you will not find better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

What a fantastic review - many thanks for taking the time to write and recommend us. I hope that you will be back again very soon - Anthony Kingdon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed for 1 night in room 218 fantastic views!Wish we could of stayed longer...food at Sands on the beach & room service breakfast all fabulous.10/10 for staff & their attention to customer satisfaction.Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

I'm so pleased that you had a great time during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm pleased that you also ate in our sister restaurant - the views of the beach are simply stunning and it's such a chilled out setting. I hope to welcome you back very soon - Anthony Kingdon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Superb Hotel staff very friendly. Views amazing entertainment fantastic Horse dancing guy incredible. Went with wife and 2 daughters aged 10 and 12 outdoor pool heated superb tennis court good snooker great. Indoor pool lovely.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank ChristopherCallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hello, We are so pleased you had a lovely time and look forward to seeing you again - Pete Brend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Have just returned from 10 nights at Saunton Sands Hotel, staying with friends for a summer break. Once again the whole experience was superb - the staff and management are very professional yet friendly, the service and food quality is excellent throughout the hotel and the rooms and facilities are of a very high standard. Add to this the location and views, which are simply stunning, and there really is no need to fly off anywhere abroad.

Well done to Pete Brend and his team once again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea facing are well worth paying the little extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wycombewanderer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you so much for your glowing review, I'm so glad you had a fantastic time. Looking forward to seeing you again very soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
868 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
906 reviews
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
710 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,667 reviews
7.6 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range: £122 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing