We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon cream tea on the terrace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Recently, for our Wedding Anniversary, my wife and myself booked afternoon tea on the sun terrace and can honestly say we had a wonderful experience. With the sun beaming down on the spectacular beach below we were treated to an experience we will never forget. After being directed to the sun terrace by the charming barman (Marsio), we were then served by our host for the afternoon - Laura who provided a service second to none.

We cannot thank the staff enough for the time we spent in such beautiful surroundings.

We hope to return many more times.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

What a lovely review, we are so pleased you had a great time, and look forward to seeing you again soon, too - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,106 - 1,112 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay with a few minor comments:

1) For those who are on 'quasi holiday' and need access to wifi for work -- this is not the place. Terrible internet accessibility;

2) Restaurant menu needs to be more innovative. Was a bland selection;

3) Breakfast offering needs to be improved. Puréed scrambled eggs -- never good. Uncooked tomatoes that are supposed to be broiled are also a no-go.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonFog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hello, so pleased you had a wonderful stay. Thanks for your other comments - we always welcome constructive feedback and will take your points on-board. Best, Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a hotel that gets everything right and makes a very enjoyable stay. I had a fantastic week here and would recommend it to anyone. There is a very warm pool, excellent food, children's entertainment and, of course, very good access to one of the best beaches in North Devon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, we look forward to welcoming you back - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We only went to this hotel for afternoon coffee but were seriously impressed by the attentiveness of the staff. Everyone we came into contact with could not have been more courteous or helpful. We were treated like VIP's even though we were not residents. The hotel itself is very plush and you feel as if you are really spoiling yourself by being there. The views are fabulous and the atmosphere is happy and relaxed. Children were welcomed and the whole experience was great. Would definitely return for a sleepover in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hello, so pleased you loved the afternoon tea - we have recently gone to town and really upgraded the experience and it's something we are very proud of. Now the next step is for you to come and stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you! Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

On the plus side, throughout our stay the staff were unfailingly helpful, friendly and charming. The views are stunning, the food is fine (though a very long wait for our food in the Terrace restaurant in the evening), but the self-catering apartments (two of them) were a real disappointment. I had to buy ear plugs because of the noise from the road in one of the apartments, which also had very uncomfortable beds. Both the apartments had shabby furniture and decor (including mould and discoloured grout in one bathroom), barely adequate kitchen facilities, and I don't know what is going on with the water supply but one bathroom had a mere dribble of cold water available in the washbasin, while one of the bathrooms in another apartment had no hot water to the bath at all. I don't know if the hotel rooms are perhaps better maintained (the main public areas of the hotel are), but I wouldn't recommend either of the apartments we stayed in. It was a real disappointment as we had been looking forward to our holiday. Certainly not worth the money, sadly.

Room Tip: Check whether you're getting a sea view and whether you're next to the noisy road, and stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sho79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just spent one night here as a treat for my Mum who was recovering from a recent illness. Staff treated her like a queen, were so kind, made it very special. The room was beautifully decorated, abeit a bit small for the money. The breakfast was delicious as well. Had cream tea on the terrace too. Would love to go back and have a sea view room!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gerrynomates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hello, thanks for your kind review and I'm so glad that your mum felt thoroughly well looked after, I hope the break was recuperative and look forward to welcoming you again soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights and enjoyed it immensely. Fantastic location, great food, friendly staff, and such beautiful decor in the main part of the hotel. Our small inland room was comfortable although the shower was hopeless! Plenty to do - swimming (very clean outdoor heated pool), walking (the beach goes on forever, amazing), eating (lunches and dinners delicious), and reading (all the daily papers and good selection of magazines to hand). Thank you for a great stay, could only be improved by installing decent showers and offering cooked-to-order breakfasts rather than buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jayne-M99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hi, thanks for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We'll certainly take your comments onboard. Thanks again - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
868 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
906 reviews
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
710 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,667 reviews
7.6 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range: £122 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing