We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Position and beach wonderful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saunton Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Position and beach wonderful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Service when dinning was poor. If we had been given better information we would have certainly gone into fine dinning Resturant , not having received our desert by the time everybody arrived for the race night was not good and we canceled desert. We waited 1hr for our starter not good .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie1ellie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hello, We are so pleased that you enjoyed the position and location but disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations with regard to dining service. We do place huge emphasis on excellent service, so I apologise for getting it wrong this time and will certainly pass on your note to the restaurant team. I do hope you'll come and give us a second chance to show you what we can do. Regards, Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    436
    202
    105
    61
See reviews for
550
616
49
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at the Saunton Sands Hotel. What a luxurious, family friendly hotel. All the staff went out of their way to make myself, my husband and our three young children feel welcomed, pampered and entertained. The indoor and outdoor pools were both really warm and clean, the children's playroom and entertainment was exciting, varied and kept the children entertained beautifully. The room had an amazing sea view and our family suite was luxurious, beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean. Service from all the staff was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The beach is a 2 minute walk away and there is a football pitch, adventure playground, tennis court, snooker room and gym all on site. What a fantastic place with
an amazingly beautiful location.
We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Webberwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Wow, what a review! So glad you had a lovely time with us. We aim to please! Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Recently, for our Wedding Anniversary, my wife and myself booked afternoon tea on the sun terrace and can honestly say we had a wonderful experience. With the sun beaming down on the spectacular beach below we were treated to an experience we will never forget. After being directed to the sun terrace by the charming barman (Marsio), we were then served by our host for the afternoon - Laura who provided a service second to none.

We cannot thank the staff enough for the time we spent in such beautiful surroundings.

We hope to return many more times.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
What a lovely review, we are so pleased you had a great time, and look forward to seeing you again soon, too - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay with a few minor comments:

1) For those who are on 'quasi holiday' and need access to wifi for work -- this is not the place. Terrible internet accessibility;

2) Restaurant menu needs to be more innovative. Was a bland selection;

3) Breakfast offering needs to be improved. Puréed scrambled eggs -- never good. Uncooked tomatoes that are supposed to be broiled are also a no-go.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonFog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hello, so pleased you had a wonderful stay. Thanks for your other comments - we always welcome constructive feedback and will take your points on-board. Best, Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridestow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a hotel that gets everything right and makes a very enjoyable stay. I had a fantastic week here and would recommend it to anyone. There is a very warm pool, excellent food, children's entertainment and, of course, very good access to one of the best beaches in North Devon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we look forward to welcoming you back - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We only went to this hotel for afternoon coffee but were seriously impressed by the attentiveness of the staff. Everyone we came into contact with could not have been more courteous or helpful. We were treated like VIP's even though we were not residents. The hotel itself is very plush and you feel as if you are really spoiling yourself by being there. The views are fabulous and the atmosphere is happy and relaxed. Children were welcomed and the whole experience was great. Would definitely return for a sleepover in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hello, so pleased you loved the afternoon tea - we have recently gone to town and really upgraded the experience and it's something we are very proud of. Now the next step is for you to come and stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you! Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

On the plus side, throughout our stay the staff were unfailingly helpful, friendly and charming. The views are stunning, the food is fine (though a very long wait for our food in the Terrace restaurant in the evening), but the self-catering apartments (two of them) were a real disappointment. I had to buy ear plugs because of the noise from the road in one of the apartments, which also had very uncomfortable beds. Both the apartments had shabby furniture and decor (including mould and discoloured grout in one bathroom), barely adequate kitchen facilities, and I don't know what is going on with the water supply but one bathroom had a mere dribble of cold water available in the washbasin, while one of the bathrooms in another apartment had no hot water to the bath at all. I don't know if the hotel rooms are perhaps better maintained (the main public areas of the hotel are), but I wouldn't recommend either of the apartments we stayed in. It was a real disappointment as we had been looking forward to our holiday. Certainly not worth the money, sadly.

Room Tip: Check whether you're getting a sea view and whether you're next to the noisy road, and stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sho79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
7.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Property: Saunton Sands Hotel
Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing