We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,141)
Filter reviews
2,141 results
Traveller rating
1,138
560
237
133
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,138
560
237
133
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace lounge sea facing room sand dunes stunning location main restaurant family suite indoor pool lovely hotel short break north devon scones brend hotels cream tea relaxing break great facilities single room car park
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 2,141 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Stayed here for two nights to revisit old haunts having spent my childhood evenings surfing on Saunton Sands but never stayed at the hotel!!
Walked to Croyde and Baggy Point from the Hotel which was wonderful -spent several hours on the rocks at Down End on my return walk - quiet and peaceful but access not easy .
Unfortunately arrived on the afternoon of a wedding so parking chaotic and wedding music went on until late but room very clean and comfortable.
Only used restaurant for breakfast which was pleasant and self service - staff not over friendly!
Unfortunately due to sand erosion the access to the beach is now quite steep.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank paulinecurtis2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesauntonsandshotel, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and I’m glad to hear you enjoyed some of the beautiful walks we have on our door step. We do take all comments on board and have already made the decision to no longer hold day weddings at Saunton Sands Hotel. We will be holding exclusive use weddings only, which will eliminate the parking and music noise for our residents.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon to enjoy more pleasant walks – Anthony Kingdon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Location, location, location. The views from the hotel are stunning, and I can’t imagine would be easily bettered. It’s a short walk down a steep slope to the huge, beautiful beach with its long rolling waves suitable for the learner surfer.
It feels as if the hotel has lost a lot of its original features in harder times when the Deco look was unfashionable. It is however trying hard to recreate the look, and feel, and with some success.
The hotel has great facilities and a highly rated restaurant. There is also a cool beach bar which serves a good selection of simpler food and snacks.
I would say though the hotel is quite isolated, with a long walk required to other locations and facilities.

Room tip: The back wing of the hotel is a little shabby, but the room rate compared to the front section reflects this.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Daryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesauntonsandshotel, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review and glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon – Anthony Kingdon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

This visit was our 5th which says it all!!. I read some of the other reviews and to be honest I don't recognise the hotel they refer to. But everyone has different expectations I guess. We always stay in room 311 which is perfect for us, excellent bathroom and a comfortable bed which everything we need to enjoy our stay. Firstly the breakfast is buffet style and it difficult to imagine anything they you might want that's not available. As regards dinner I was delighted that they have added different choices every evening to the set dinner menu so if your staying for 4/5 nights or longer you don't have to repeat meals unless you want to. Its also very nice to see some the same staff still there visit after visit. The spa is in its infancy and once the leisure area is completed it will be a great addition to the hotel. Once again we are already planning our next visit

Room tip: Sea View a must as on of the best views in Devon
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesauntonsandshotel, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review and I’m glad you have enjoyed your 5th stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back here for your 6th stay soon – Anthony Kingdon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Just returned from 5 night stay and as always had a fabulous time. The staff from the manager to the cleaning staff are always very polite and welcoming. We always have a sea view room and have never had any complaints about cleanliness. Love the fact the restaurant does a standard menu as well as a different one that changes daily and u can pick from either when on a dinner B&B rate.
3 little observations... The Spa which is great needs a spin dryer in the changing rooms as drying swim wear in the rooms is not easy.
The Brend chain should have a loyalty card system ..
The marvellous fish and chips on the standard menu should have proper chips not skinny fries.

Room tip: Sea view is a must
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesauntonsandshotel, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review and glad to hear you have enjoyed your 5th stay with us. We will take your observations on board and thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you here again soon – Anthony Kingdon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

The last time we stayed at this hotel was 20 years ago when we came with family. Since then we have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels around the world. We wanted to make a nostalgic trip back to this hotel, but were quite concerned as there were some negative reviews posted on trip advisor. However, we decided to risk it. We booked a deluxe sea view room, dinner, bed and breakfast, the room was exactly as pictured on the hotel website (225), very nice with outstanding view, bed comfortable, clean, complimentary mini bar with water, soft drinks, red and white wine, which were replenished, a little complimentary box of chocolates on arrival. Breakfast fine, the dinner menu didn't change much, but we found something on there each night that suited us and was of a good standard (we were staying for 4 nights). The public rooms were lovely with comfy sofas. We found all the hotel staff we came in contact with were very pleasant and helpful. My overall opinion is that this is a lovely hotel in a great location. I cannot comment on what other rooms are like, but we had a lovely stay.

Room tip: Recommend the deluxe sea view room
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LichfieldKTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesauntonsandshotel, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments and I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon – Anthony Kingdon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews