We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,153)
Filter reviews
2,153 results
Traveller rating
1,147
563
237
133
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,147
563
237
133
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace lounge sea facing room sand dunes stunning location main restaurant family suite indoor pool lovely hotel short break north devon scones brend hotels cream tea relaxing break great facilities single room car park
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2,153 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Saunton Sands with a small group of friends for a relaxing winter break and we couldn't have chosen better. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, as are the beds. We had a deal including three-course dinner on each night and the food was really good. The wines were not too pricey either.
The hotel has recently opened a new spa suite, with sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa and swimming pool open to residents. The whirlpool spa has a huge picture window looking along the beach west towards Westward Ho! which fantastic as you lie and soak in the warm water.
The staff are very helpful and friendly and it is an ideal place to spend a winter break.

Room tip: Standard rooms face inland, sea view rooms are available for a modest extra cost.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sitting on the terrace sipping cocktails feels like stepping back in time. The view of the beach is the same as it was when the hotel was opened in 1933, thanks to the beautiful untouched Braunton Burrows. While sipping an Espresso Martini you'd expect to see Poirot wander past on a break from solving another crime. The staff are very polite and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome although we weren't guests of the hotel. A perfect afternoon, early evening venue for a little bit of decadence.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you come once you will come again.

We have stayed in top hotels worldwide
None better.
Fab views,friendly very attentive staff,gorgeous 20’s decore
Great food served well...in fact ten out of ten in EVERY department.
Whoever inspires this team is one good General.

It was our second visit and there will be a third for sure.
The view from our bath was stunning.!

Love it love it....love it.

Room tip: Have a sea view if poss
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Two nights away - Winter break
After many stays at Saunton we experienced the new Spa facilities.
Treatments available but the new Sauna Steam Room and infinity pool are amazing.
Icing on the cake along with our usual beach walk.

Room tip: Ask for sea facing room
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SomersetRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We returned to Saunton Sands Hotel on Sunday 13th January for a 4 nights stay, this time we were joined there for the first time by members of our immediate family.

The booking in process was efficiently conducted, with no problems at all.

We had booked Deluxe Sea Facing Rooms and were allocated rooms 218 and 318 respectively. Access to the rooms was immediate upon arrival.

The rooms really were fit for purpose, well maintained and regularly attended to without so much of a fuss. So many thanks to those who ‘sorted’ that side of our stay.

Disappointing for the son in law though, as he never did get a morning paper delivered.

The food which was made available in the restaurant was first class for the wife and I at all times, with far better options available to us when compared to the Christmas Menu on offer in December. Excellent menu’s and fabulous food. Well done to those who created and provided those meals.

Best efforts were made for our daughter who is a celiac / piscatorial too. (Just wondered though given that more and more people seem to fall into such categories if more effort could be made by the Hotel group to identify which foodstuffs were suitable for them?).

As usual the bar and restaurant staff were perfectly amicable at all times, given the Hotel was far quieter than when we visited in December it was lovely that we could hold so many chats. Again thank you to everyone in those areas.

Given the time of the year, the Hotel was quieter than usual. The perceived lack of customers impacted positively on our leisure time within the Hotel, no crowding at the poolside and plenty of scope for visiting the Spa. Similarly there was plenty of room to simply relax in the lounge areas too.

Our family made good use of the Spa facilities and were really impressed with the facilities on offer and in particular at the quality of their massages, which were seemingly the best they'd ever experienced.

Really nice to see the Hotel refurbishing too.

Bar prices as still TOO HIGH though, if they were cheaper perhaps we’d have invested more in that area!

All said and done we simply love visiting Saunton, we really enjoyed our visit. I’m sure we’ll be returning in the future.

Room tip: Sea facing rooms are the better option, go for the Deluxe rooms if able.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews