We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate pre-Christmas weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We have just returned from one of our regular trips with friends and teenagers. This is the best way to recharge before Christmas. The apartments are great and provide that extra space missing from most hotel rooms and are great for the boys who cannot be expected to behave appropriately all the time - although with an indoor pool, snooker and table tennis, not to mention several acres of sand dunes and that glorious beach there is plenty for them to do! The food was fabulous - gorgeous roast partridge and lovely fish. Can't wait for our next trip to Saunton.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveweekends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,779)
There are newer reviews for Saunton Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,662 - 1,668 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2010

As an extensive traveller I am used to staying in some of the best hotels worldwide where Customer Service means exactly that.

I travelled with my partner and 4 guests, they mixed up the rooms, the staff were constantly rude, dirty dressing gowns were provided with empty cigarette packets in the pockets.... the list goes on.

I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing break as I came away with blood boiling and raised blood pressure!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank toodlebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 December 2010

Firstly let me apologise that your stay with us was not up to the standard that you expected, and on this occasion it is obvious from your comments that we have failed to achieve the high level of customer service we pride ourselves on.
All the points raised in your letter sent to us have been brought up at our weekly management meeting and where necessary remedial action has been taken to make sure this does not happen again. As a gesture of goodwill we have offered you a complimentary 2 night stay with us which we hope you will take up in able for us to restore your faith in Brend Hotels.
Finally thank you for taking the time and trouble to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you to The Saunton Sands Hotel again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Firstly, the location is just spectacular, directly overlooking the miles of Saunton Sands Beach. There was a nice relaxing atmosphere, peaceful, but this was outside of school holidays.....don't know if that would hold otherwise.

Everything is very comfortable but with hints of being due for renewal....such as the bedroom was not leading edge decor-wise for the fairly full price you are paying. And we sat on the terrace after dinner on a warm night watching the sunset, drink in hand - perfect - or would have been except there was water dripping very close by from somewhere above.

We stayed 2 nights. First night we fancied informal so ate in the Sands Beach Bar - very ordinary fare and something of a let down (being a beach bar, we expected a fairly basic menu so no problem there but the quality was just average). Second night, we ate in the restaurant proper and that was really delicious and with efficient but friendly service.

So, overall, we enjoyed our stay but with mixed feelings although I'm sure we will go again for the relaxation, views and the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWavesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Based on the recommendations from others, my Dad and I booked a surprise birthday weekend for my Mum in one of the “luxury” apartments. We booked online and selected the “Heanton” as it had two bedrooms.

What a let-down, the apartment was adjacent to the main road and pervaded an air of being beyond its sell by date and far from luxurious. We returned to reception to voice our disappointment and request an alternative suite. There, we were told that the “Heanton” was not covered by the hotels 4* rating and was waiting an upgrade. We were offered the “Clovelly” for an additional payment which we agreed so my Mum could have the treat she expected.

The “Clovelly” apartment was much better in appearance to the “Heanton” but suffered from a major drawback which became more apparent as time went on. The apartment is situated opposite the vents for an air handling unit and despite double glazing, every room was subject to a constant whining from the fans. Sleep was very nearly impossible and was further worsened by the appalling behaviour of the departing wedding guests (Friday). The guests returning to the car park between the hours of midnight and 4am were shouting and swearing with no regard to other hotel guests staying overnight. Saturday night’s wedding was much better once the disco had shut but the air handling plant still kept us awake.

Whilst checking out on Sunday morning, other guests told me of the problems they had had with the Friday wedding guests jumping in the swimming pool at 2am and being noisy in the public places of the hotel. So, we were not the only guests to have a disturbed Friday night.

In the end we paid £420 for a luxury weekend which was totally spoilt by preventable noise from air handling plant and uncontrolled guests.

In light of our experience at the Saunton Sands Hotel, we shall not be recommending this hotel to friends and associates.

The only positive thing to say about our stay was the hotel's location - overlooking the beautiful beach. But you can get the same view by parking in the car park right next to the beach and walking the coastal path.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gemma06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We had a lovely two night stay here with two of our teenage children. You cannot fault the location overlooking the beautiful beach and the swimming pools and other facilities are also excellent. The rooms are variable with some being in need of an update. Our superior room was lovely with a balcony overlooking the sea but the bathroom was very small and basic, in contrast our children's twin room had a wonderful bathroom but the room was tired, plain and fairly small. However the main problem is the staff - on arrival we went to reception, the receptionist was sat at the back of the reception area and did not come forward to greet us but just asked what we wanted from her seat. We explained we were checking in and she produced our two keys and went and sat back down. We had no idea where the rooms were or on what floor, where the lift was or anything! A good hotel will always show you to your room. Throughout our stay service was poor and very slow.
Generally I think the hotel is relying on its location which is wonderful. After two visits we have taken the decision that we will go for the beach and the facilities, pay for the best rooms (as these are the only ones worth staying in) and put up with poor service without letting it spoil our stay. We have also found that Sands Cafe on the beach is a better dining option than the hotel restaurant and considerably cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MicheleSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and I would say we know it well. It oozes class from the greatcoated doorman to the silver service dining experience.
The rooms are clean and serviced well and the seaview is worth the extra but whether you are relaxing in your room, taking tea on the terrace or swimming in the outside pool the view dominates and lifts your spirits.
I have never found the beds particularly comfortable but have had a lot of pleasure watching the many dogs and their walkers, surfers, joggers and strollers enjoying the beach from early in the morning to sundown.
We were exceptionally lucky with the weather on our recent stay and we were able to take our pre dinner drinks on the terrace while watching the spectacular sunsets. We enjoyed both pools although the heating had been turned off in the outside pool and it was only for the extremely hardy. We thought the wi-fi charge a little steep so made our own arrangements - what a pity they cannot see their way to providing that service free as part of the package. We also played snooker but the room was being used as a general storage area so we had to move the furniture to take each shot which was a little disappointing.
Breakfast is a leisurely affair with an ample buffet and ready and willing staff. Dinner is a more formal experience with the staff again coping very well during busy times. All staff seemed to help out when busy, even the restaurant manager. The tables are always immaculate with starched white linen and clean silverware. When we first went to this hotel the dress code for dinner was rigourously enforced but we were sad to note that standards had slipped a little and gentlemen were allowed in in casual open necked shirts and casual trousers - a sign of the times perhaps.
As before we had a lovely stay but were shocked at how the 'extras' had shot up in price. Our bar bill etc was on the hefty side and we are certainly not big drinkers. It will always be a special place for us but doubt we will go again as there are equally spectacular places that do not charge so keenly for every 'extra'

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Great location for hotel with wonderful views over bay. On arrival greeted by a stressed and grumpy receptionist, but conversely bar and restaurant staff were exceptionally polite and helpful. Food excellent. Disappointed by hotel room as had booked "deluxe double room with sea view" - got the sea view with a balcony (which looked as though it needed a clean), but two light bulbs not working in bedroom, bathroom really small and only a standard double bed (i.e. 4' 6") - not deluxe in my eyes!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank auntysoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
866 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,276 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
646 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range: £159 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing