We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcome change”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Williams Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Williams Inn
Ranked #35 of 43 Restaurants in Braunton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
199 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“A welcome change”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Having been disappointed with my three previous meals out at three different restaurants in Somerset it was a pleasant change to sample the carvery here.
Whilst there could perhaps have been a larger choice of meats I was very impressed with the vegetables - I can't remember having seen such a choice anywhere before. Obviously popular and for a winter mid-week lunchtime I was quite surprised how busy it was - not full so choice of places to sit. Friendly staff, plenty of car parking and all in all worth stopping off for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WaltR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bland Carvery !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I booked a table for my family at the Williams Arms and was looking forward to the carvery due to its reviews and location. However, we were met by a disinterested barmen and it was noticeable that the staff were generally unhappy. The carvery is over-priced for its cold/dry meat and bland vegetables and the atmosphere was dull. We did tell the waitress that we were not satisfied, but there was a general lack of interest. Shame!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffpenfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Tried the Carvery this time. Thought they were a bit mean with the meat until I asked for more, however really can't knock the value. At £9.95 I suppose we must bear in mind that this is a seaside resort, at home the same meal would cost around £5.95 - £6.95, although the 'Williams' is frequented by locals all year round.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Best Carvery - Anywhere !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife and I live locally and have used this establishment a number of times over the years though not recently. So when we turned up on 30 June, my wife's birthday, we were hoping that the high quality of food there would still be the same. We need not have worried ! The Carvery here is superb both in it's quality and quantity. The choice of three meats was more than amply complimented by an excellent and wide variety of vegetables, all cooked to perfection. Well done to the Chef and all concerned - we won't leave it so long for our next treat !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StuartMoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Williams Inn also viewed

 
Croyde, Braunton
 

Been to Williams Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing