We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room For Improvement. ”
Review of The Braunton Inn

The Braunton Inn
Ranked #38 of 45 Restaurants in Braunton
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Braunton Inn in Barnstaple is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Things I liked most about this pub.
Beautiful building & views, dog friendly, good choice of drinks, very friendly barman.
Things I didn’t like about this pub.
Toilet cleanliness (ladies loo was in a bad way at the time), slow service & dirty tables.
Think that the difficulties might have been caused by a staffing issue. The pub has so much potential to be an absolute gem of a venue. I hope that they are able to resolve this & my next visit is more positive.

Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Braunton Inn. It is unfortunate that the cleanliness of our toilets was not up to standard and we can only apologise for this, if our guests point out a problem like this we are swift to rectify it. On this occasion we were short staffed and I am sure that on your next visit, you wil have a much better expereince. Thank you for leaving your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018

Stopped for 3 meals, hunters chicken, burger and a cheese and onion pie. Hunters chicken came with chips. Burger with chips. Cheese and onion pie had choice of chips or pots, veg selection or peas. Chose new pots and veg. The hunters chicken was dry. Burger fine. Cheese and onion pie like rubber, new pots obviously microwaved as shrivelled up and veg same. Had 2 x J2O's and a diet coke. Total cost £68.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EX33Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Hi Ex33sharon, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. I will pass on your comments to our head office team, who set our pricing.
I am sorry that your meals were not up to standard and will be speaking with our kitchen team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Lovely location and views over estuary. Sunny day so we sat outside on the large terrace. Quite busy so food wasn’t particularly quick. There were 5 of us. 4 meals came, one we were told would follow as they were just finishing the bacon (Caesar salad) . Disappointed that one person had to wait. There was a noticeable gap until salad arrived. And 5 minutes after this a waitress then brought the bacon chopped and on a side plate as they had forgot to add it!!!
So all a bit amateur which was disappointing as food was actually quite good, if a bit pricey.
Because of the location we will try again and hope service is better .

Thank mlp2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback. We do hope that you will come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Firstly the Braunton Inn is in a fabulous location, with commanding views over the estuary and sandy beach. We arrived for lunch on a glorious early summer day. Attention to detail is sadly lacking. Alex Polizzi would have had a field day! Dead hanging baskets, misspelt signage and overflowing ash trays from the night before. It could be a fantastic place but lacks love, which I don't really get, because the food was a good standard and the staff attentive.

1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you for leaving your feedback. We were aware of the hanging baskets which were in fact changed on the day of this review, as they are regularly. The extra 'n' in dining was also rectified by our sign writer later that day! I have also reiterated with our front of house staff to check our ashtrays and garden before we open to check that everything is perfect.
The Braunton Inn is indeed a fantastic place that the whole team is proud of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Spent a lovely sunny afternoon here enjoying the amazing views. Although we didn't order food, the menu for Sunday lunch looked really nice and they have a great selection of drinks. The bar itself is in great condition and very clean, and the service was really friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank E-K-Dolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Many thanks for your review. I hope that you will join us for Sunday lunch very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Braunton Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Braunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing